We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Relaxing Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raincliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raincliffe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Relaxing Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel, but it had been highly recommended by a relative.
We had a lovely relaxing weekend and will certainly stay again.
The location is great, the hotel is beautifully clean and nicely furnished. Catherine was a warm and friendly host and the breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    27
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
180
33
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left Catherine and Mal was a fantastic host:) Breakfast was fantastic and BIG a good variety to choose from. We stayed in a superior room which was well worth it! Very warm and comfortable thank you for a wonderful stay! Recommend

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cody83amber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

this is our second visit to this hotel, it was again very relaxing, a very good breakfast and a very good nights sleep, we will be returning next year, the location is very good and parking is easy
we use this as a base to visit Whitby and other surrounding areas, we were 3 couples, 1 couple it was a first time visit and they were so impressed that they are going back for a weekend break on there own! we may join them

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyj287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend break (minus the kids!) From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The unexpected upgrade to the four poster room made our stay even more enjoyable! The bed was soooo comfortable, and the room had everything we needed. The breakfast was good too. The location of the hotel is also good - within walking distance of the sea front, shops and Spa with on street parking right outside for a minimal fee. I would definitely return to this hotel. Thank you :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank missdynamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Returning for the third time in three years, I found all the proposed building work and renovations completed (to a really high standard), and the friendly welcome from Katherine and Mal made me feel well and truly at home. I stayed for four weeks and enjoyed every single moment of it. My room was tastefully furnished, the bed really comfortable, and the food was truly excellent.
I dined in every single evening because Mal's cooking is unsurpassable, and he always uses local produce cooked fresh each day. My idea of heaven! I will return at the earliest opportunity.

Room Tip: I was delighted with single occupancy of a standard double room, but there are also some really love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

A most warm welcome. Room was spacious and spotless. Teas in the room included green and fruit teas. The evening meal was plentiful. Award winning Quiche... thanks Mal. Over 300 B&B's in Scarborough and I was lucky enough to book here I will certainly book in the Raincliffe when next in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We would stay nowhere else in Scarborough, yet again everything was perfect, with excellent company adding to a very happy, comfortable & relaxing break. Love Scarborough for the views, the interesting history, the nostalgia, the cliffs , ease of visiting lovely surrounding countryside & villages, but most of all we love returning to The Raincliffe and all the pleasures Mal & Katherine offer their guests / friends.

Room Tip: We love the superior double with king-sized bed, but all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,642 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.4 mi away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raincliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raincliffe Hotel

Property: Raincliffe Hotel
Address: 21 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Raincliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you fed up with searching for the right combination of quality and value when staying in beautiful Scarborough? Look no further than the Raincliffe. We are a top graded licensed small hotel/guesthouse, ten minutes level walk to Spa, south beach, theatres with the town and museums also close by. We offer excellent refurbished accommodation (not just a lick of paint), consistently high standards with comfortable beds, spotless en-suites, high quality food and most importantly a warm, genuine welcome. Consistently positively reviewed on many accommodation websites for the last 5 years, contributor to the 'Scarborough' TA forum and winners of Channel 4's '3 in a bed'. We welcome well behaved children over 8 years and regret that we do not accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raincliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing