We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3RD VISIT”
Review of Raincliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Raincliffe Hotel
Ranked #18 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Just had our 3rd visit to Raincliffe Hotel. Made to feel very welcome by Kathryn and Mal. We stayed for 5 nights as we were at a Christian Conference. My husband went of walking while my friend and I went to the Spa Centre. This is about a 10 minute walk down Valley Road. Our Rooms were very clean and spacious,large bathroom and a good size shower. Plenty tea,coffee and milk on our drinks tray, with complimentary biscuits. Breakfast was excellent big Yorkshire breakfast and any combination you want. , also fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts to help yourself too. We had an evening meal and was not disappointed Mal asked what we would like and was served excellent food large portions and 4 fresh veg each evening. Mals homemade Steak pie was best I've ever had. Already booked to go back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nannasuej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 394 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Friendly exceptionally clean b&b perfect for a short break near to beach and shops/restaurants will definitely visit again . Parking right outside with reduced priced parking ticket£3.00 which lasted all next day as well. Very friendly couple .breakfast very good choice with help yourself to cereal,fresh fruit and juice followed by full English or a lighter choice if your not a big eater.washed down with tea or coffee .

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just back from another family bank holiday weekend at the Raincliffe(3rd time) and still up to high standards, great clean comfy rooms,great breakfast,great hosts, nice guests and within easy walking distance for town centre,beach arcades,fun fare ect. If you are planning a visit to Scarborough then deffo give them a try....you wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: book early to avoid dissapointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindy71Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Spotless room with very comfortable bed and double-glazed windows that really worked and kept the room quiet. Also (other hotels please copy this) heating whose temperature you could adjust. The friendly chatty proprietress provided a breakfast so vast I could eat only half which was a shame as it was delicious! Easy parking outside with a permit you can buy from reception. All in all a good place to stay and return to. Beer lovers need stagger only a few metres up Valley Road to the Good Beer Guide-recommended Cellars and Valley bars.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Raincliffe Hotel is very nice, a warm welcome, and close enough to walk to the beach and shops. The owner is very friendly and helpful, which was handy as I hadn't been to Scarborough before.
Highly recommended and worth visiting again.

Room Tip: The four-poster bedroom is a good choice ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Raincliff, nicely placed for the town, Stephen
Joseph theatre, and the sea front, a stroll to both.

Katherine and Mal are very friendly, they know what makes a difference, be warned the breakfast is something to behold, clean up first day you get more the next, no need for lunch

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank heppyo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed overnight at the Raincliffe whilst visiting friends in Scarborough. We were very impressed that the hotel maintained very high standards throughout. The décor was bright and fresh and the rooms were exceptionally clean. The ground floor double room was spacious and a hospitality tray was well-stocked. The bathroom with shower was bright and sparkling with good quality towels. The cooked breakfast was top notch (although I thought the bread used for the toast seemed a bit sweet??) and Katherine was welcoming and very sociable. Full marks all round!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,926 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
1.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raincliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raincliffe Hotel

Address: 21 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £56 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Raincliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you fed up with searching for the right combination of quality and value when staying in beautiful Scarborough? Look no further than the Raincliffe. We are a top graded licensed small hotel/guesthouse, ten minutes level walk to Spa, south beach, theatres with the town and museums also close by. We offer excellent refurbished accommodation (not just a lick of paint), consistently high standards with comfortable beds, spotless en-suites, high quality food and most importantly a warm, genuine welcome. Consistently positively reviewed on many accommodation websites for the last 5 years, contributor to the 'Scarborough' TA forum and winners of Channel 4's '3 in a bed'. We welcome well behaved children over 8 years and regret that we do not accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Raincliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing