We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try to eat all ya breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raincliffe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Raincliffe Hotel
Ranked #14 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try to eat all ya breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a great bed and breakfast, very very clean, Ideal to walk to the beach and gift shops, Hosts were fantastic, very helpful, Really good breakfast, sets you up for the day, will be back was like home from home

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    26
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
177
33
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

top hotel close to beach and transport really enjoyed our stay with such friendly staff
A few years ago we stayed on the north bay didn't enjoy
we were very happy with our choice this time at Raincliffe hotel
breakfast top notch

Room Tip: all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Blooming lovley - spotless, friendly and when I slept in for breakfast I got buttys to take away with me - fabulous couple who I just cant say enough lovely things about! will be back next time I need a room in scarborough xxxx

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babebiker69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just a last minute booking. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Very easy access to town centre (even by foot) Right side of town. North Bay has really gone down the nick. Enjoyed the breakfast. Would stay again.

Room Tip: If ours was the smallest room as it it was last minute and at the top and the back, the rest should...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalix, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Little I knew when I first ended up at the Raincliffe Hotel, one year ago, when going to an Anglolang course for teachers. As the course was a deal with the Anglolang school, I didn't know where I was going to stay other than that I had asked for a stay at a hotel. Luckily enough I ended up at this lovely Victorian hotel where I instantly felt at home. Mal and Katherine made everything very easy, whatever you needed help with was easily fixed. The hotel is well taken care of, beautifully decorated and most important, spotless! All that you need in comfort is there so if you want a lovely place to spend a vacation, you've found it! That's why I went back last autumn and this summer again. I choose the hotel over the city but the city is lovely too and if you would need a language course, Anglolang is only a 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just returned from a four night stay at this gem of a hotel. It is in a prime position in Scarborough, in easy walking distance from all the attractions. The hotel is very clean and a lovely building, with lots of character. Mal and Katherine, the owners, are very friendly people, very helpful from arrival to departure, with nothing too much trouble. Mal's home cooked breakfasts are worthy of a return visit in their own rights! If you are visiting this beautiful area, you won't find a better b&b than this one

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned home after a Sat night away at the Raincliffe hotel, when we arrived Mal greeted us and we immediately felt at home, nothing was too much trouble, he sorted a permit for our car to park immediately at the front of the hotel , booked us a taxi to take us to our friends wedding and we were also able to get in to our room a little early to get ready. It was the perfect start to a very relaxing weekend. The room was spotless, beautifully decorated and the the bed was very comfortable. For breakfast we were spoilt for choice and Katherine, Mal's wife was very welcoming. We enjoyed our stay so much we did not want to come home, we have already re booked for a three night stay in August and cannot wait.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.8 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mansion House Scarborough
Mansion House Scarborough
#16 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.8 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raincliffe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raincliffe Hotel

Property: Raincliffe Hotel
Address: 21 Valley Road, Scarborough YO11 2LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Raincliffe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you fed up with searching for the right combination of quality and value when staying in beautiful Scarborough? Look no further than the Raincliffe. We are a top graded licensed small hotel/guesthouse, ten minutes level walk to Spa, south beach, theatres with the town and museums also close by. We offer excellent refurbished accommodation (not just a lick of paint), consistently high standards with comfortable beds, spotless en-suites, high quality food and most importantly a warm, genuine welcome. Consistently positively reviewed on many accommodation websites for the last 5 years, contributor to the 'Scarborough' TA forum and winners of Channel 4's '3 in a bed'. We welcome well behaved children over 8 years and regret that we do not accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Raincliffe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing