We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT STAY HERE!!!”
Review of Northcote Hotel

Northcote Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Northcote Hotel
Ranked #157 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DONT STAY HERE!!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2012

When we arrived at the Hotel the woman answered the door, with flip flops on and blood dripping everywhere from her toe. The woman was dripping in sweat and had huge sweat patches down her t shirt. They had double booked 1 of our rooms as we booked 2 rooms to put 4 people in each. The woman kindly put mattresses on the floor for us and cramped us all in 1 room, Which is illegal and then tried charging us for both rooms and breakfast we did not order of have. The woman was very rude nasty and even started shouting and screaming at us when we questioned the price. This was not the cleanest of places and I STRONGLY recommend that you do not stay there. HOLIDAY FROM HELL!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLARE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    14
    9
    7
    10
See reviews for
18
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Don't stay here ! It's terrible and they tried charging us for 2 rooms even tho we only had one with everyone crammed in.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hqjdzsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Greeted and taken to the room, room was not ready as it had 3 single beds instead of the double we booked,this was rectified whilst we went out, toilet and shower room very small, ok for one night, we didn't book breakfast, hospitality was nice, pleeese upgrade and refurb, this has the potential to be a good hotel

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Focsarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We booked for 1 night. On arrival we received our keys. We were left too find the room oureselves even tho it was on the first floor. No effort whatsoever was made to make us feel welcome. We walked up the stairs too the room (the carpet was disgusting and tatty) when we entered the room we had too turn sideways so we cud walk around. The room was very basic. The curtains were stained. The bedside draw looked like someone had done there buisness inside it!! The tele looked like it was about too fall off the stand at any given moment. The bed was the creakiest bed I have ever slept in. The kettle was on a makeshift shelf underneath the tele. We had very few complimentary tea/coffee\sugar sachets. The bathroom was rediculously small. Cudnt even attempt the shower anyway as it had no hot water coming out of it. The sink and the toilet were that close together u had to be careful not to bang your head wen u sat down. The lady owner on arrival was dressed in grease stained clothes and wasn't very clean. Her manner was terrible. At a charge of 54.95 we were well and truly ripped off. But the best is yet to come. Wen we left the building the owners decided too take a following £40 out of my bank account. In which they had no permission to do so. Apparently they said it was an additional cleaning charge. But to be honest the room was disgusting anyway. Didn't look like it had been cleaned for years. Also the lady decides too come and neb wen u leave the front door to see what your getting up to!! I strongly advise people not to stay at this hotel as they will steal money from your account whithout you knowing and it will ruin your stay wen u enter one of there disgusting rooms!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andi0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

Arrived on a very busy weekend in Scarborough. Got the last park outside, behind another car. The B&B was very tired looking with wallpaper peeling and carpet very worn on the stairs. The room was clean although bed squeaked. The full breakfast was well cooked and enjoyable

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stace48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

We arrived early and rang bell to see if we could leave cases, no one answered although there was someone there. When we checked in we found the room was cleanish, found crumbs under the drawers. I was pleased we were only staying one night as beds not very comfortable, one of the beds my daughter stayed in had a dip in the middle of the mattress so not good. Blinds in the bedroom were broke could not pull them up to open the window as it was so hot. Ensuite was so small that we never even attempted to shower. Breakfast was good but didn't like the fact that the owner was hovering around all the time and whipping the plates away as soon as you put your knife and fork down. Although there is parking it is on a sloping site and if you park at the top you will be blocked in which was the case with me.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisycat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2010

my three sons and i booked a weekend for my 50th birthday,arrived 1.15pm on friday and were greeted by the lady owner and was shown our room (the family room/no2 ) which was clean,comfortable on suite,very light and airy and overlooked the main road the owner was freindly and helpful. i had ordered full english breakfasts for the morning and i must say they was very good and cooked beautifully..plenty of tea/coffee, toast etc.the northcote is situated in a lovely quiet road a couple of hundred yards from peashom park and north bay ,its very quiet and if you want a lovely drink with your family then go 500 yards to the bowlig club, open to everyone and really freindly.. if you want south beach and busy nightlife then it a steady 15 minute walk from b&b...all in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clubreveiwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
896 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#37 of 183 in Scarborough
224 reviews
1.2 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#27 of 183 in Scarborough
310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Willow Dene
Willow Dene
#51 of 183 in Scarborough
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northcote Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northcote Hotel

Property: Northcote Hotel
Address: 114 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Northcote Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Northcote Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing