We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”
Review of The Ainsley

The Ainsley
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ainsley
Ranked #126 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Me, my husband and little boy turned up at The Ainsley wanting a room for just one night. That was no problem at all. They made us feel very welcome straightaway. We were given a lovely room which was spotless but very cosy. I was taken aback by the amount of tea, coffee and milk
there was in the room as usually when I have stayed in other B & B's this has been very limited and have always had to buy a carton of milk to see us through. There was even a big bottle of water. The breakfast was lovely and of high quality. Felt at home here and it's in the perfect place overlooking the sea but not too far from the town. When leaving they asked if we would like to take with us some bottles of water, cartons of juice from a wide selection. We will definitely stay again as we felt very comfortable staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happycustomer012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed for three nights in early June with my husband and had a lovely stay. The service we received really made our stay, including little touches like a box of chocolates on arrival and fizzy water in the room. Breakfast was tasty and the portion size was just right. My husband wasn't very keen on the tea or coffee though. The room was a bit tired but overall we felt was good value for money. Parking is a bit tricky in the part of Scarborough where the hotel is located. The landlady was very helpful offering us a parking permit at no extra charge and tips about where is best to park. I was suprised about how much there was to do in Scarborough and in the areas near by. We picked up some good tips about where to go from the large selection of leaflets available at the B&B. Next time we visit Scarborough we will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventurer-susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Ainsley for 11 nights in late May. On first arriving outside we were impressed by the views over the North Bay and up to the castle. We were met by Lynne (wonderfully friendly and always ready to help) who showed us to room 8 on the 2nd floor, having fantastic views across the North Bay. We found chocolates on the bed and a vast box of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and all sorts of biscuits.
After unpacking, we went for a wander and found that The Ainsley is very well located, being about 10 minutes walk from the town centre and from the Sands complex.
We both slept excellently and were ready in the morning for the immense breakfast.
The window-area seating in our room (a stool and a wobbly chair) were a bit unsuitable for prolonged use, but as soon as I mentioned this to Lynne she replaced them with 2 sturdy padded chairs.
Our snack box was constantly topped up, and the room was kept absolutely spotless.
We had originally booked for 7 nights but decided to stay for 4 more as we had such a great time.
That was our first visit to The Ainsley and I'm sure we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Room 8 (2nd floor) has a fantastic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

For the past several years a group of us golfers from Sheffield have stopped at the Ainsley in June and we have commented that every year we go there has always been some refurbishment carried out inbetween our previous stay.The landlady keeps the place immaculately clean in all aspects and will go that extra mile to be accomodating.
Stay there you won't be dissapointed .Even if you don't have a ensuite the shared toilets & showers are always excellently maintained & clean.

M Howe
Sheffield

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

we stayed here in august for our anniversary was made to feel very welcome room was perfect for us had alovely time staying here. lynne certainly goes the extra mile like chris t said in his review. great selection of breakfast items and this is before you get to your fry up which was excellent definately great value for money. recieved a xmas card of them which me and my husband thought was very nice of them after only satying with them once so far will definately be going back there again this year. excellent family run B&B

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carla-anne1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

From someone who stays in the town quite regularly having done the rounds of the Hotels and B&B's I have to say the Ainsley is the best B&B I've found in the town.
Firstly an excellent location quite literally at the top of the town, just down the road from the castle providing stunning clear views of the North or South bay depending on which side of the hotel your room is located and within 5 minutes walk of the town centre and train station one way and about the same from the seafront beaches and amusements the other.

The rooms are all well presented, comfortable and a big plus for those needing an early start quiet with no noticeable noise travelling from the other rooms. Lynne has taken great care to ensure you are well catered for from the well stocked tea and coffee (and Biscuits) provided in your room to the top notch breakfast, extra blankets and pillows are allready in the room if needed no need to request here, the only thing I did need to request was the use of an iron to sharpen up a formal shirt which was happily met.

In summary a highly recomeded traditional family run B&B with that little extra personal and welcoming touch rarely seen these days.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Excellent place to stay. Lynne certainly goes the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable, from the box of celebrations waiting on the bed to the mountain of tea, coffee and biscuits available but most importantly of all, my wife is on a strict gluten-free diet and so there were three or four different types of gluten free biscuits in our room. There was always fruit in the dining room and lounge for you to help yourself and also there was cartons of orange juice, apple juice and water available in the lounge. There was some very nice little touches which means when we go to Scarborough again, this would be the first place we would enquire for vacancies.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#18 of 28 in Scarborough
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Derwent House Hotel
Derwent House Hotel
#44 of 183 in Scarborough
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 183 in Scarborough
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marine View Guest House
Marine View Guest House
#116 of 183 in Scarborough
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ainsley Court Guest House
Ainsley Court Guest House
#77 of 183 in Scarborough
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phoenix Court
Phoenix Court
#81 of 183 in Scarborough
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ainsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ainsley

Property: The Ainsley
Address: Queens Parade | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ainsley 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ainsley is a small, family run guest house with superb views over Scarborough's North Bay and only a short walk from all local amenities. Recently awarded a three star rating by Quality in Tourism for Visit Britain. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing