We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lea Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed over for one night. The Hotel is close to the lift that takes you down to the Spa. I was at a venue at the Spa and this hotel was very convenient to the Spa cliff lift. The breakfast was served by waiting staff in a smart dining room and the food was excellent. I did not have time to take a look at the pool but hope to next time I stay there.

Room Tip: I booked over the internet and got a very good deal for the room I stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    124
    44
    15
    11
See reviews for
60
157
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

A group of 9 cousins'n'spouses on our annual weekend meet-up, in Scarborough this spring,
we were well looked after at the Red Lea.I had known it thirty years ago staying with wife and 2 young children. This is not particularly a hotel for lively young families, given its popularity with seniors, in groups or otherwise. But a committed and friendly young staff led by the dedicated owners make all comers feel most welcome.

We were upgraded; the sun-filled front rooms (overlooking a pleasant garden square, and with extensive sea views to Filey Brigg) have been refurbished with taste and charm in the minimalist style now popular. The internal corridor, once rather gloomy, feels good thanks to LED. The beds were supremely comfortable, the bathroom immaculate.(NB our shower was not walk-in - over bath). The bedroom key/lock were a bit quirky, the sash windows also; think period character!.

Breakfast is served, not buffet, and is excellent. Supper too was well cooked and served, rather traditional in choices and style, but suited the hotel and clientele. Bar service attentive . The little front terrace is attractively maintained. The pool/spa in the basement looked good but we had no chance to use it. We stayed on, as the weather was so good - saw the first swallows this year, and porpoises playing off Castle Headland.

This is to my mind the best part of Scarborough, a wonderful old resort we all loved - primroses and daffodils brighten steep wooded cliffs down to the beach and Spa, cliff walks link various gardens; there's a working harbour. North of the castle a further bay beckons, with rather more rugged 'grander' scenery.

Room Tip: rear rooms would have limited outlook and sun compared to front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank donkeyhoatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We didn't have any real complaints the staff are helpful & friendly. Breakfast was good and served at the table, the sausage spoilt it as it was obviously a cheap one. The rooms are dated but none the less clean & comfortable.
We stayed here as it was recommended by a local relative who is over 90, we overheard the other guests raving about the hotel so if you are retired you will probably love it, if not check trip advisor for a more suitable hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRMouse59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give the hotel such a positive review. We pride ourselves in offering friendly and professional service to all our guests. The Red Lea is a traditional hotel and we have refurbished most of the hotel with this in mind.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thanks again.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I was in the Theatre group who went with Michael (see his review) to this wonderful three star hotel which is run by a husband and wife team (Nick & Sue). I totally agree with Michael's comments; the staff, rooms and food were excellent and everyone's needs were catered for - even gluten free bread and gravy for me! There is a little park opposite the hotel with plenty of seats and the vehicular railway, down to the beach is just 5 minutes away (if that); there is an hourly bus service into town from outside the hotel or a short walk up the road to a more frequent service. Yes, the hotel is old and as such one should not expect to find the most modern décor as it would not be in keeping with the age of the building. I am appalled at the comments made in some reviews as they are not at all as we found the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to add a review on the Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your recent visit to the Hotel and to Scarborough, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here in March for a couple of nights to visit some friends who had come to England to visit.
Our room door was terrible to open, i couldn't get the lock to work my other half had to do it every time.
The room itself was ok, if a little small and dark. Bed fairly comfy.
The bathroom was awful, terribly dated and cracked tiles all over. The 60s decor in the bathroom was terrible and you can tell it probably hasn't been worked on in 50 years. No shower either, just a bath. Brown grubby stains on the ceiling.
We used the pool one day and this was also very dirty. There was grit and stones all over the floor and the water seemed a little cloudy.
Would i go here again? NO nor would i recommend this hotel to anyone. The general condition of the hotel was very shabby and certainly dosent live up to the pictures added on their website/advertisements.
This hotel definetly caters for the older clientel and being in our 20s we did feel a little uncomfortable and out of place when at the hotel bar having an evening drink.
Wish we had saved our £120 and not stayed here!

Room Tip: As for a room that looks onto the road/seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ni-cool-a-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Guest,
Firstly can I thank for for bringing this bathroom to our attention, albeit a little surprised that you did not come to reception and mention this during your stay! Most of the Hotel has been refurbished, but we still have some of the bathrooms to complete. I am also a little confused about your comments on the Swimming Pool, as the Pool is maintained to a very high standard. The Hotel and Scarborough cater for all age groups, but you will find that during the week many older guests enjoy their holidays on the coast. I think that any visitor reading our reviews will see that we cater for all age groups, and most people enjoy their time at the Red Lea Hotel.

Please accept my apologies for the Red Lea not meeting your expectations, but we are a traditional Hotel, not a modern building.

Thank you
David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

On arrival it was very nice to be greeted on our coach and given all necessary details and the to find porterage where our cases were taken to our room is a servive rarely to be found in many 5 star hotels. Our room with sea view was clean and had everything we needed and comfy beds. Food in the restaurant was great with plenty of choice and the staff were a breath of fresh air, polite, quick and no mistakes. Evening entertainment pleasent and when we left it is very rare for me to say that I could not find fault with anything. Well done and thank you all for a very pleasant 4 days.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lea Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your recent visit and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Dated and not value for money
Helpful staff but hotel in need of updating in décor and attitude - read the late check out 'rules'
Pay the bill when you check in what's that about? Room small and no shower or hair dryer
Good location
Cracked tiles in the bathroom and no fan
Lift inadequate
Focus on elderly client group only

Room Tip: Check with them before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaztop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to add a review on the Red Lea, although I cannot understand why you did not ask to speak to a member of staff to discuss your concerns. We have gradually refurbished the Hotel, in a traditional style, with a few areas still to complete, including the third floor corridor, which will be completed by the end of this year.
Our check out time of 10.30am is quite normal in any hotel, and a later check out is available at a small extra charge. Payment on arrival is clearly stated when making your reservation, and again is quite normal. Scarborough and the Hotel look after all age groups of guests and we offer the same high standards of service to all our guests.
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,499 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Property: Red Lea Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing