We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“july stay,mature couple.”
Review of Red Lea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lea Hotel
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Room allocated,clean but small with poor view.We then upgraded to premium,very good!

Comfort 8

Clealiness 9

Staff 9.5

Food 9

Overall hotel very good value for money,with a beautiful overview of scarborough.
F

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lea Hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Red Lea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

this was a lovely hotel we stayed in a family room and it was comfy and clean, we had a seaview . we didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on that side of things. the only negative thing was it was quite expensive and the bathroom was quite small. we would stay here again however.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalietai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review the Red Lea Hotel.

We pride ourselves in looking after guests of all ages, including Children and look forward to welcoming your family back to the hotel in the future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was our first visit to Red Lea lasting 5 days to 19th July and it will not be the last.
The room was valeted to a very high standard; reception staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
The quality of the food was never short of excellent . Unlike so many hotels with higher star ratings, we were served by friendly and very well organized staff who did not expect us to serve ourselves, let alone make our own toast - such a foolish modern money-saving trait. The evening meals were reasonably priced yet really epicurean and the chef and catering staff were clearly expert. Lovely to have properly cooked non-ping food.
The management were pleasant and the hotel had an air of friendly efficiency and good organization. Unlike some hotels, there were not umpteen notices giving rules, either - only the essential.
The hotel is handily placed for the cliff lift and commands good views of the sea. Parking was never a problem and the hotel gave us parking permits.
Really outstanding.

Room Tip: No need to
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on the Red Lea Hotel.

I am so pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay, including our service at Breakfast which we fell adds to your holiday experience by being served at the table, and Not having to queue for your food. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our first impression was poor as the only available on street parking was two street away, not a good start. Our room on the third floor was small, no wifi at all, shower terrible only a trickle of luke warm water. No biscuits on the hospitality tray, might have been an oversight. We thought that breakfast would make up for the lack of room comfort in the room but no it got worse. We were seated and left with a menu, waited for five minutes, then helped ourselves to fruit juice and tinned grapefruit, no fresh fruit. Was told that we would be served. Cooked breakfast tiny,i gave my husband half of mine and the worst thing, instant coffee was the final straw. Overall very over priced, we felt very disappointed, if it had been half the price we paid we would shrugged and put it down to experience. Overall not impressed.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank breakshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest,

With regards to your review I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit.

Scarborough has experienced one of its busiest summers for years and with this in mind parking has, on some Saturdays been quite difficult. The permits we provide at £1.00 offer parking for up to two days on most of the streets around the hotel.
Our front bedrooms offer views over the gardens towards the sea, some with better views of the Sea than others, as people can see from pictures on our website. We also offer premier rooms which are our largest bedrooms with Bay Windows and fantastic views.
Your comment on our breakfast do surprise me as many of our guests comment on the quality and content, and the fact that it is NOT buffet service, if your husband would have liked any more he only had to ask.

Again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and all the staff are very friendly. The hotel has great views over the south bay. Access to the tramway down to the Spa opposite the hotel was very useful due to my wife's lack of mobility. Our room was large with high ceilings and a great sea view. The food was home cooked in the main with a choice at both dinner and breakfast. The hotel is very peaceful and quiet as most of the guests are older. There was evening entertainment on three occasions which catered for all ages and tastes and there is even a library! Our one criticism would be that there was no air-conditioning and as we were there on the hottest week of the year both the staff and guests were suffering. We will certainly use this hotel again, thanks.

Room Tip: Bay-window, sea facing rooms are best.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

. Several major modifications had been completed since my last visit, new carpeting throughout the hallways, passages, including some bedrooms. Very tasteful decorating using attractive pastel shades.
Almost fully booked, the hotel catered for several incoming tour trips, at meal times the dining hall reached its capacity of 100 seating during this time the staff admirably catered for menu orders, serving and still maintaining a friendly chatter with customers in a cool and calm manner.
The dining room is spacious well laid out with immaculate table linen, table displays were eye-catching everything sparkled with cleanliness. Fresh flowers adorned each table. The menus were attractive giving several choices of meals and were changed daily.
The bedrooms had been subject to updating, new carpeting, bed linen being spotless, towels changed during the week, beds being really comfortable. General office staff I remembered from my last visit so I knew that I could always rely on any advice or assistance required, always given with a smile and cheerful approach.
I am in my late 80s drive up from Shropshire, and would not do so if the holiday was to be worthwhile, I am guaranteed this at the Red Lea.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 42blackwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This has been our second visit to this hotel.As before,the service is great.Nothing is too much trouble and all the staff are very friendly.The hotel has great views over the south bay and is opposite the tramway down to the Spa.Our room was lovley and spotlessly clean,as was the rest of the hotel.The food was great with a good choice at both dinner and breakfast.Breakfast is waitress service,so much better than a buffet.The hotel is frequented by mainly older guests,me and my wife are mere spring chickens ( mid 40`s ) so the hotel is very peaceful and quiet.A great hotel to rest,unwind and explore lovley Scarborough.Will definatley return on our next visit.Thanks to all the staff at the Red Lea for another great stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room.Well worth the extra !
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
915 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £76 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing