We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Good Value Hotel”
Review of Red Lea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lea Hotel
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights for the Katherine Jenkins Concert. Liked the quiet position and quite a few, like our room, have side sea views. Room very clean, comfortable and suitable shower. Public areas, corridors and rooms were light and airy. Lovely dining room and comfortable lounge areas. Pool is a great asset these days. Food lovely and enjoyed full waiter service. Room size was in keeping with the price and staff always willing to solve any problems. Despite having their own restaurant, there was a list of recommended restaurants for residents to try out. Lift small but functional. Just a few steps to the cable lift to the pavilion and beach. Altogether a very nice hotel. Will stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for better views (this applies to all hotels). Always ask for help as the staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

286 - 292 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Parking not brilliant, if you can find a space out front then keep it, you get 3 hrs free and then have to pay but parking is free from 5pm - 12am. Staff friendly and hotel seems clean enough on first impressions, we were given room 103 and it was tiny and outdated but clean. Pool is okay but hot tub was out of use and pool areas were filthy!. Dissapointed in breakfast, we had asked in advance for a vegetarian option but just given eggs, hash brown, tomato and mushroom, i dont think some vege sausages would of been too much to ask for! also we asked for brown bread toast for both of us and were given white and brown. Overall it was okay but not worth the £109 we paid, its the little things that make a good impression and this hotel doesnt seem to care about that but honestly cant fault the staff as they were very friendly.

Room Tip: dont keep your window open over night or else you will be kept awake by the sound of seagulls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on the Red lea Hotel.

I am sorry that you felt that we did not offer your value for money, but we do pride ourselves in offering all our guests value for money together with friendly and professional service. With regards to your breakfast I cannot understand why you were unable to get a vegetarian option, as we always carry vegetarian produce for both Breakfast and Evening Meal, and I will look into why this happened to ensure this does not happen again. It is a shame that you did not bring your issues to my attention during your stay, so we could have had the chance to rectify your problems.

I hope that we can welcome you back to the Red Lea in the future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

we arrived on a sat for one night and had to park a few streets away and pay for the permit!! when we got to our room in the one and only lift( which only holds 2 people) we found the room clean but very small.The shower wasnt what youd call a power shower somewhat more of a trickle.We had a sea view but only if you hung out of the window.Breakfast was nice but only small.Nice clean hotel but not worth the 130 pound we paid...ive stayed in better premier inns.It was for a special occasion and thought it would be better than it was.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Room allocated,clean but small with poor view.We then upgraded to premium,very good!

Comfort 8

Clealiness 9

Staff 9.5

Food 9

Overall hotel very good value for money,with a beautiful overview of scarborough.
F

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Red Lea Hotel.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

this was a lovely hotel we stayed in a family room and it was comfy and clean, we had a seaview . we didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on that side of things. the only negative thing was it was quite expensive and the bathroom was quite small. we would stay here again however.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalietai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to review the Red Lea Hotel.

We pride ourselves in looking after guests of all ages, including Children and look forward to welcoming your family back to the hotel in the future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was our first visit to Red Lea lasting 5 days to 19th July and it will not be the last.
The room was valeted to a very high standard; reception staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
The quality of the food was never short of excellent . Unlike so many hotels with higher star ratings, we were served by friendly and very well organized staff who did not expect us to serve ourselves, let alone make our own toast - such a foolish modern money-saving trait. The evening meals were reasonably priced yet really epicurean and the chef and catering staff were clearly expert. Lovely to have properly cooked non-ping food.
The management were pleasant and the hotel had an air of friendly efficiency and good organization. Unlike some hotels, there were not umpteen notices giving rules, either - only the essential.
The hotel is handily placed for the cliff lift and commands good views of the sea. Parking was never a problem and the hotel gave us parking permits.
Really outstanding.

Room Tip: No need to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review on the Red Lea Hotel.

I am so pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay, including our service at Breakfast which we fell adds to your holiday experience by being served at the table, and Not having to queue for your food. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our first impression was poor as the only available on street parking was two street away, not a good start. Our room on the third floor was small, no wifi at all, shower terrible only a trickle of luke warm water. No biscuits on the hospitality tray, might have been an oversight. We thought that breakfast would make up for the lack of room comfort in the room but no it got worse. We were seated and left with a menu, waited for five minutes, then helped ourselves to fruit juice and tinned grapefruit, no fresh fruit. Was told that we would be served. Cooked breakfast tiny,i gave my husband half of mine and the worst thing, instant coffee was the final straw. Overall very over priced, we felt very disappointed, if it had been half the price we paid we would shrugged and put it down to experience. Overall not impressed.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank breakshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

Dear Guest,

With regards to your review I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on your recent visit.

Scarborough has experienced one of its busiest summers for years and with this in mind parking has, on some Saturdays been quite difficult. The permits we provide at £1.00 offer parking for up to two days on most of the streets around the hotel.
Our front bedrooms offer views over the gardens towards the sea, some with better views of the Sea than others, as people can see from pictures on our website. We also offer premier rooms which are our largest bedrooms with Bay Windows and fantastic views.
Your comment on our breakfast do surprise me as many of our guests comment on the quality and content, and the fact that it is NOT buffet service, if your husband would have liked any more he only had to ask.

Again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

David Hull
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,953 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
651 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#9 of 26 in Scarborough
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £79 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing