We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lea Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Rivelyn Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Marine Residence(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Cumberland Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The Esplanade Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (422)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveller rating
199
144
49
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
144
49
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewswimming poolthe cliffwaitress servicehot tubdining roomstar hotelseaside hotelspa complexfriendly hotelthird floorcoach holidayquiet areabit datedreception staffeach eveninggreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 422 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a group of 43 people on a 4 night break and found from the moment we arrived to the moment we left everyone's needs were met efficiently and without fuss. The porterage was extremely efficient, cases being outside our rooms within 10 minutes of our arrival. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable as were the public rooms and the food was plentiful and of a high standard with good variety. The staff at this hotel were efficient and friendly without being pushy. No one in our group had any complaints, all leaving very satisfied. This is a lovely hotel and should meet the need of almost everyone. I would highly recommend it for either a short or long stay.

Room Tip: would recommend room 108
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great welcome, excellent service, good food, very clean, superb evening entertainment. A very well run hotel, a good local team keen to please, many thanks from us all. Located in a quiet road with sea views. A little away from town centre, but bus from outside, and funicular rail close by. Lovely gardens and walks close by.Rooms recently refurbished

Room Tip: Front bay room, costs more but worth it
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerphall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We've always been lucky with our choice of hotels in Yorkshire, and the Red Lea proved no exception. Last year we were trying to get tickets for a show, but all the local venues were booked - the Stephen Joseph in Scarborough was the end of the tour but was too far away. Our research though piqued our interest in a visit: we eventually got to see the show locally on a cancellation, and a year later we finally got to Scarborough! My wife's unerring intuition picked out the Red Lea as the place to stay, and what a good choice it proved. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a pleasant, cosy feel to the place. It's an easy walk into the town, though there are local shops for essentials: very close to the sea - the vertiginous walk down the cliff works up a good appetite for the excellent breakfast provided. The dining room is itself a thing of beauty. We ate out in the evening a couple of times, so the free internet was useful for investigating the local diners. Nice swimming pool too. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing visit.

Room Tip: A sea view is of course what most people want: we had a sea glimpse and a pleasant view over the park opposite which we liked very much
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlgernonKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Overall the hotel is a typically sea side hotel the hotel it is spotlessly clean good staff are friendly, They can not seem to serve the food hot we complained several times but it made no difference. The entertainment was good and the lounge stayed busy until late in the evening which is a good sign.. Our waitress Abey was fantastic time to have a laugh but still looked after her guests.
A big downfall was the price of the drinks at the bar, way over the top it spoiled what could have been a good break.
Our room was kept in top order and the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Our friends room looked over a tumbledown building but as you don't spend time in the room was not a problem. There are sea view rooms available.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank duncandowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just returned from the Red Lea Hotel a blissful five day break.Home from home comfort, food plentiful, fresh and a wide selection. All the staff were were polite, cheerful and always helpful which led to a happy atmosphere for all the guests.The Hotel had recently been redecorated,rooms were spotless, fresh linen and towels were provided daily by the housekeeping staff. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, a special mention to Jo the Restaurant Supervisor who was one of the most happy and helpful person I have had the pleasure of meeting. Last but not least the entertainment was first class, especially the singer / comedian on Wednesday night. If and when we return to Scarborough it will be certain to be at The Red Lea Hotel.

Room Tip: We were positioned at the rear of the building with no outlook whatsoever. If you require a room with a view ensure you are on the front looking out to sea.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews