We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel but breakfast treat like school children” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Lea Hotel
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel but breakfast treat like school children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Hotel and refurb high class but told to move table waiting for cereal and juice as told to sit down no good morning it spoilt it, felt totally like a school child. That our how people were served yesteryear but not now

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank haveabreak1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedLeaGM, General Manager at Red Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel with a positive score, but I am slightly amazed as to your headline comment! We pride ourselves in offering a full service breakfast and dinner at the hotel, as we fell that it is far nicer than buffet service, as most of our guests agree, to have full service, and not buffet. With regards to your comment, all tables are allocated to our guests on arrival into the Restaurant. Some of our guests had already arrived at the hotel, prior to your arrival and I do believe that the table you had gone too was already occupied by another guest in the hotel. You may think this old fashioned, but we find that our guests like this system and enjoy being at the same table all holiday and getting to know their waitress/waiter. I have taken all your comments up with our Restaurant team, and we can only apologise that you did not receive a good morning and shown to your correct table. Regarding having been asked to go to your table, as we state above all our food is served to you, and if your waiter/waitress appeared abrupt, I can only apologise.

As it appears that you may have been part of a large party staying in the hotel, your seating arrangements(in large tables) had been arranged prior to arrival by the group organiser.

Again it is a shame that you did not speak to me before putting this comment onto the site, as I would of been happy to rectify any problems at the time.

Yours sincerely

David Hull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    124
    44
    15
    11
See reviews for
60
158
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed hear for 3 night with my husband. The hotel is very clean and we had a rely nice big bay window room with a fabulous view over the sea (218) and the staff were rely friendly and helpful. The swimming pool is rely nice after a long day walking around Scarborough Bay :) We had BB and evening dinner but will go back on a BB bases as the evening food was not to our taste but don't let that put you of having evening dinner as everyone's taste in food is different. Were hoping to go back in January weather permitting.

Room Tip: Room 218 Great views and bright and sunny when our sun shines :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed at the Red Lea for one night and can't really fault the hotel. We had booked a double and a single but on arrival my dad had been upgraded to a double at no extra cost. The reception and check in were friendly and efficient. We had a quick drink in the bar after unpacking. My husband had a pint of lager which had a funny smell and taste but it was quickly replaced. We didn't have dinner in the hotel but the menu sounded lovely and we heard many comments of how nice it was. We all slept soundly in extremely comfortable beds. We had what must have been a superking, it was huge, we could have got 4 people in it. We had a sea view in a large room with an overbath shower (there are rooms with walk in showers) and there was no noise in the night either outside the hotel or inside.There wasn't any entertainment on during our stay, which might have tempted us to stay in the bar in the evening, so we found a good pub just up the road which was fine for a couple of hours.Only noise we heard was from about 7:15 am when it seemed like everyone got up at the same time as we heard lots of creaking floorboards and toilet flushes going but you expect creaky floorboards in an old hotel. Breakfast was a selection of juices/grapefruit segments, various cereals, then the usual full English/kippers/eggs done how you want etc plus toast tea/coffee, all brought to your table by friendly waitresses/waiters - none of this help yourself malarkey. We intended to have a swim in the pool but didn't get chance but it looked lovely and there were people in the pool, having a good time when we nipped downstairs to check it out.We had a lovely stay and if we hadn't had to get back for work, we would have considered a 2nd night. We will definitely stay at this hotel again and are already talking about a spring break. Recommended. A lovely well maintained, clean and comfortable hotel in the beautiful resort of Scarborough.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view (they are all side sea views). We were in 113 with a nice view and huge bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dru2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Our group of senior citizens received a warm and well organised arrival which continued during our week stay. The staff were friendly and efficient from the management, reception, dining room and the staff cleaning the rooms. Food very good, especially breakfast. Excellent entertainment in the evening. Good location with some sea views and on the local bus route for the short trip into the town centre, and the funicular rail very close by.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaishaCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a group of 43 people on a 4 night break and found from the moment we arrived to the moment we left everyone's needs were met efficiently and without fuss. The porterage was extremely efficient, cases being outside our rooms within 10 minutes of our arrival. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable as were the public rooms and the food was plentiful and of a high standard with good variety. The staff at this hotel were efficient and friendly without being pushy. No one in our group had any complaints, all leaving very satisfied. This is a lovely hotel and should meet the need of almost everyone. I would highly recommend it for either a short or long stay.

Room Tip: would recommend room 108
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank derek d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Great welcome, excellent service, good food, very clean, superb evening entertainment. A very well run hotel, a good local team keen to please, many thanks from us all. Located in a quiet road with sea views. A little away from town centre, but bus from outside, and funicular rail close by. Lovely gardens and walks close by.Rooms recently refurbished

Room Tip: Front bay room, costs more but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerphall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home Counties
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We've always been lucky with our choice of hotels in Yorkshire, and the Red Lea proved no exception. Last year we were trying to get tickets for a show, but all the local venues were booked - the Stephen Joseph in Scarborough was the end of the tour but was too far away. Our research though piqued our interest in a visit: we eventually got to see the show locally on a cancellation, and a year later we finally got to Scarborough! My wife's unerring intuition picked out the Red Lea as the place to stay, and what a good choice it proved. Clean, comfortable rooms, friendly staff and a pleasant, cosy feel to the place. It's an easy walk into the town, though there are local shops for essentials: very close to the sea - the vertiginous walk down the cliff works up a good appetite for the excellent breakfast provided. The dining room is itself a thing of beauty. We ate out in the evening a couple of times, so the free internet was useful for investigating the local diners. Nice swimming pool too. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing visit.

Room Tip: A sea view is of course what most people want: we had a sea glimpse and a pleasant view over the par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlgernonKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,517 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lea Hotel

Property: Red Lea Hotel
Address: Prince of Wales Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lea Hotel is situated on Scarborough's favoured South Cliff, close to the Cliff Lift, the Spa Centre and the beach. The attractions of the town centre, historic castle and bustling harbour are only a short stroll away. With our superb location, beautiful sea views, indoor swimming pool, comfortable bedrooms, great food and friendly service we think we've got everything you need for a great break by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing