We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”
Review of Coachman Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coachman Inn
Ranked #96 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We arrived at midnight because we had been working late and they were still very accomidating offering us a beer before going to bed! The rooms were exceptional and the breakfast in the morning even better. We were only sorry we didn't get there earlier to enjoy the full night experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jimmy051187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaC1911, Owner at Coachman Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thanks for your lovely comments. Glad you enjoyed the stay. Let us know next time you are working in the area and we will be sure to give you a great stay again. Many thanks Kev and Anna Cooper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our Walking Diners Group of 13 members enjoyed an evening at The Coachman in Snainton in January 2014.

After a short pre-prandial drink in the bar we retired to a very spacious dining room which we had almost to ourselves.

Meals were ordered and some chose from the 2 main for £15 menu while others opted for the standard menu. The service was prompt and we were surprised by the generosity of the starters. The seafood gateau and risotto could easily have passed for main courses. Everyone was pleased with their choices of main course with steak, fish and chips and Chicken Kiev among the offerings.

Perhaps New Year resolutions were still fresh in the minds of the diners because only a few succumbed to the desserts but the puddings, Eton Mess and crème brulee finished the meals off nicely for some of us while the rest settled for tea and coffee.

It was a very enjoyable evening with a nice relaxed atmosphere and plenty of opportunity to catch up on all the news. One for a return visit perhaps?

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshirewalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Having called in here around Easter we immediately booked a night pre-xmas night as we liked the place so much.

We arrived around 4 and checked into the room. The large room was a mixture of a fairly old-fashioned but perfectly adequate room and a brand new state of the art bathroom.

We went down to the bar and had a few beers before getting ready to go down to the restaurant. The Yorkshire Sparkle golden bitter was excellent and the service was good. However, there were only 4 other customers in the bar during the period and none in the evening.

The meal we had in the beautifully decorated dining room was very good in all departments and again the service was good. We were accompanied by another couple of diners and a party of about 12 having a xmas do.

It seemed a worrying situation that there was so little customer at xmas time with us being the only overnighters. The girl who checked us out said they had been very quiet since summer. It's been there since 1776 so it would be a crying shame if lack of custom forced it to close.

So if you read this review go and do your bit to keep this gem of a place functioning!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waj_the_badge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

since stumbling upon the coachman last year we have been regulars, we often bring our freinds here when we visit from lincolnshire. it never fails to impress. we came last saturday evening and had the best so far. service was prompt and with a smile, food was exellent as always, big thanks to Kate and the chef who took special care of our freinds special dietry requirement.
look forward to our next visit in the new year
p.s dont understand the previous reviewer, maybe they complain all the time, its what some people like to do

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graham h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

No friendly Yorkshire welcome here !!!
We were looked up & down & made to feel uncomfortable.
We ate in the restaurant which was very cold & neither of us finished our main meal, my Spiced Haddock Risotto left an awful after taste, the spices were used very bitter !!
The chicken pieces in my husbands Caesar Chicken Salad were not freshly cooked and were overcooked making it hard to cut them.
Couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank ShirlMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Have not been to the Coachman at Snainton for some time. Family went there for a birthday lunch, menu great, food and service first class, spacious dining room and all the comforts, good parking facilities.
Recommended, we shall return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Len J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just returned from a one night stay at the Coachman,we were well looked after from the moment we got there till we left this morning. The staff were very attentive and the food was excellent.Would go back again it's so peaceful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
6.8 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,595 reviews
5.1 mi away
East Ayton Lodge
East Ayton Lodge
#1 of 1 in East Ayton
291 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Downe Arms Hotel
Downe Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wykeham
309 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chestnut Cottage B&B
Chestnut Cottage B&B
#83 of 184 in Scarborough
39 reviews
5.0 mi away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coachman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman Inn

Address: Coachman Inn Pickering Road West | Snainton, Scarborough YO13 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £85 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coachman Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Coachman Inn Snainton, is a destination restaurant and bar with rooms beautifully located on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors between Pickering & Scarborough. You will feel relaxed and at home in this historic Grade II listed Georgian Inn, steeped in coaching heritage. Built in 1776 and now sympathetically incorporating modern comforts, The Coachman Inn is the perfect retreat; the ideal base for exploring the North York Moors National Park the historic City of York and the stunning Yorkshire Coast and towns of Whitby and Scarborough. We take great pride in sourcing the best of the marvelous local produce from the surrounding areas and creating food that we are sure you will enjoy, our Executive chef David Spencer has a lifetime of experience and has previously held two rosettes from the AA for 25 years works very closely with Head Chef Peter Gibson and the owner of the Coachman Inn Ian Rae who is also a Chef with many years of cooking under his belt to constantly create and innovate for your pleasure, whilst Carol Rae takes charge of the front of house team to ensure you are given the best possible service the moment you step through our front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Coachman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing