We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand stay”
Review of The Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crescent Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We arrived late and were sooooo happy to be there. Lindsay on reception was very helpful.
The room was really fab and our ensuite was both practical and pretty.
The food both breakfasts and evening meals were excellent really good food and 'Plenty of it'
We were there for 5 nights and all the staff were really helpful and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble and they all appeared to like where they worked and to be very hot on customer service
All in all an excellent holiday at reasonable rates with good people and very good accommodation

Room Tip: I dont think they have any 'bad' rooms but we were in the Beaver room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed at the Crescent for 2 nights on20/21 July.It was our first stay there although we have stayedin Scarborough on many other times.We were most impressed with the standards of cleanliness throughout the hotel.Our twin room(number 11) was spacious and comfortable It is on the 1st floor.Its only downside is that it is next to the ladies lavatory and on the Friday there was a small function and it was quite noisy in the corridor on a couple of occassions - not enough to complain or to spoil our stay. Staff were all helpful.I reported a dripping tap and broken light to the owner on Saturday morning and despite it being weekend,both were fixed by lunchtime.It was indicative of the owners'high standards that he was obviously annoyed that it took a guest to draw these minor faults to his attention.
We only had breakfast in the hotel but on both mornings we were served by a very pleasant waitress.Food was fresh,well cooked and good helpings.I particularly enjoyed the Natural yoghurt with fresh fruit topping.

The hotel has no parking and in the high season it can be a problem to get on road parking near the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

we stayed 3 nights at the crescent in july,fabulous hotel,reception staff were very good and helpful.Ideally situated in town centre opposite a small park.Had a lovely meal in Reflections restaurant,if you stay at the Crescent you must try it,excellent value.Hotel was very clean and comfortable. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anthony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break in the Crescent Hotel. Great food and the staff are all friendly and helpful. Our room on the 3rd floor had been refurbished and was bright with superb views over the town and sea. We have stayed a number of times now and will return. Anyone looking for a good hotel in a central location should try this place.

Room Tip: Corner rooms facing East and South are large and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy_Holidaymaker51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at the Crescent Hotel at the end of June. There was a family wedding and a number of us stayed there for the weekend. The room we had was very comfortable and clean and the breakfast was good. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The hotel is situated in a lovely spot overlooking a small park and very close to all the shops. We would definitely recommend the Crescent Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chipboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed in the Crescent Hotel on 19th July 2012, this made the number of times we have stayed here into double figures now.
The staff are real gems, ever so helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble.
Our room was fantastic with pretty views over the park land opposite.
Thank you all once again, and and we'll be back soon...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Upon arrival, the receptionist was very pleasant and I couldn't fault the room. It was spacious, comfortable and had a nice view. It also had a well appointed bathroom with a separate bath and shower. The bed was comfortable and I slept very well and went down for breakfast. The breakfast was OK with a good selection of cereals and some fruit. I also had a full cooked breakfast and on this, the bacon, egg, beans and toast were all good but the lovely fresh mushrooms were 'deep fried' in oil which detracted somewhat from their taste and I didn't finish them. The sausage also tasted deep fried and didn't taste very good quality either. Had all the breakfast been good, I would have rated 5 stars. All in all, the hotel was generally, very good but I will probably give the sausage and mushrooms a miss for breakfast which is a shame as they are two of my favourite breakfast ingredients.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikeo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,911 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Hotel

Address: Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#1 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £101 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crescent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crescent Hotel is a small, family run hotel located on a beautiful Regency Crescent in the centre of Scarborough. We pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmosphere, wonderful location and fantastic food! Always contact us directly for the best room rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing