We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit to the Crescent Hotel”
Review of The Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Crescent Hotel
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a two night stay at the Crescent Hotel and throughly enjoyed it - our second visit and just as enjoyable as our first. Very comfortable bed, warm room, lovely breakfast, very welcoming hosts and great location - just round the corner from the shops and pubs/restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stay in an awful lot of hotels and this one is really very mid table. It's in a good location, it's clean and there really is nothing particularly wrong with it, other than a rather old-fashioned general feel to the place, particularly the décor. The room I had was a decent size, the bed comfortable enough and the TV modern, yet the tea and coffee selection was bog standard (and no extras like a few biscuits or a couple of chocolates). The bathroom was showing its age, the toiletries etc were standard quality and the toilet tissue came from a public toilet style single sheet dispenser. Breakfast was again OK but at best standard fare. Parking close by can be a problem and is likely to lead to extra expense. There's just a lack of anything to distinguish it from thousands of other hotels in the country so I'm truly bemused by the massive number of incredibly positive reviews.....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weeesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed at this hotel whilst in the area on business.
The booking was easy, it was done over the phone without any problems.
I stayed in the Belvoir room, a King Size executive room, very nice & comfortable with a balcony. The bed was very comfortable with really good cotton bedding. The bathroom was large & well appointed with big quality cotton towels.
The staff were very friendly & helpfull and nothing was too much.
The breakfast was excellent and what a choice too.
I will use The Crescent Hotel again when I am there on my business trips & if in Scarborough for pleasure too.
Great Stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I recently spent three days at The Crescent Hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough – bed, extremely comfortable, good quality linen, the bathroom immaculate, and the staff delightful. The selection at breakfast delicious and the dinner menu reasonably priced and varied.

For culture lovers, The Crescent is situated between two art galleries and a few minutes walk to the Stephen Joseph Theatre, and the SPA complex, where one can glean a sense of late 19th century Scarborough. My stay was a sheer delight.

Room Tip: A room facing the crescent is an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warhol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

we have just stayed at the Cresent Hotel for 3 days, it was a last minute break ,,and I am so pleased we went ,,we had Lonsborough Suite ,which was lovely ,spotlessly clean and lovely and warm fluffy white towels ,crisp quality white bedding ,we pre booked the evening meal which was was perfectly cooked ,large choice on menu and large portions served, we had Barnsley chop perfect !!!!great value ,all the staff were very pleasant, allways willing to help nothing was too much trouble the Bar was a lovely place for drink before our meal, even given a bowl of home made crisps till our meal was ready Reflections restaurant was the perfect end to or day ,next morning,
huge cooked full English breakfast or great choice form kippers to smoked haddock,,looking forward to going back soon thanks to all the staff for a perfect stay Norma& Moz Barnsley

Room Tip: we faced the gardens total silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Just spent three nights at this hotel. We found the hotel very warm and welcoming, bedroom very comfortable, the breakfast excellent and all in all a first class place to stay. We've stayed here before but this was the first time we have had an evening meal in the restaurant and we were highly delighted with the food and service. This hotel will always be our first choice of hotels in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katherine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We have stayed many times in Scarborough but never before discovered this excellent spot to stay. The hotel is in an excellent location close to the main shopping streets and the station. Our room was one of the executive rooms and overlooked the crescent gardens. The room was beautiful with a king size bed, a sitting area, large flat screen Tv and a lovely bathroom with freestanding bath and separate shower.
We ate in the restaurant for dinner and had excellent starters and fillet steaks to follow. We were too full to eat a dessert, The breakfast is also excellent and always served with a friendly word and a smile.
We really enjoyed our stay and will certainly be back later in the year!

Room Tip: Our room looking over the crescent gardens was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sticko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
974 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
665 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
370 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Hotel

Address: Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#1 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £88 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crescent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crescent Hotel is a small, family run hotel located on a beautiful Regency Crescent in the centre of Scarborough. We pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmosphere, wonderful location and fantastic food! Always contact us directly for the best room rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing