We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews are true!”
Review of The Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crescent Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The reviews are true!”
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We spent a very enjoyable two days at The Cresecent Hotel and can only echo all the positive comments made on Tripadvisor.
The only reason for not giving an 'Excellent' is due to the lack of a private car park.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IcantthinkofoneKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    129
    31
    3
    5
See reviews for
74
305
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walsall West Mids
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

Well where do I start.
The friendliest welcome ever from the lady behind the counter.
I ordered a beer and whilst hooked up to their free internet- was then given a bowl of the most gorgeous home-made crisps. They were amazing and knew from that moment on I was in for a great stay.
Room was just a cheap single- very clean and tastefully decorated with a very nice flat screen tv.
Went down to bar for another beer and said no to further crisps!!
The restaurant menu was to die for- everything from simple to top drawer food but all looked great and my mouth was watering!
Ordered the Lobster to start- absolutely fantastic then the biggest T-Bone steak I ever saw arrived.
I left most of the chips and vegetable as wanted to try the Creme Brulle with Sorbet.
The whole meal was the best ever and I sent the chef a pint!
Great nice wonderful owners who really really care about their business and do it all 100% correctly.
Without a doubt, the best place to stay in Scarborough!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanyoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton , England
Level Contributor
253 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My parents (early 8o's - young at heart) have just returned from a weeks holiday at The Crescent.They had a large ensuite bedroom with 4 large windows - so very bright and airey and had everything you could wish for.The hosts were excellent and could not do enough for them treating them as though they were members of their family.The food was excellent and portions reported as too big ! Don't miss the home made crisp !
The hotel is very close to the shops and sea front and is situated in a quiet crecent with lovely gardens in front of the hotel.I am sure they will be returning and indeed i will be taking my partner to enjoy the hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSamsWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

The setting of the Crescent Hotel is quite grand, but indoors the property is showing its age. The walls of my room were paper thin - I could hear clearly conversations going on in the next room. The single bed was on the small side, but the room was clean. It is a friendly place, but it was disappointing to be left sitting unacknowledged at my breakfast table for 20 minutes while regulars who sat down after I had arrived were greeted warmly and had their orders taken promptly. I cannot fault breakfast, mind you - it was very good. The hotel does offer character and value for money, it is handy for the train station and sufficiently removed from the trashy seafront for an undisturbed night's sleep.

Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Errigalclimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

We chose a superior room and were delighted with it. The Crescent is a relatively small hotel which provided the quiet stay we wanted. The food in the restaurant was of a very high standard and reasonably priced. Parking is on street but the hotel provides permits and we had no trouble parking very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFMNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2009

We had a great stay at The Crescent. This was our second stay in this hotel and we loved every minute. The room was comfortable and elegant, the bed was a dream to sleep in and we had a sea view! We ate in the restaurant on the 2nd night and had a fabulous meal, the breakfasts were plentiful and tasty too - check out the friendly waitress with a great sense of humour. In fact all the staff were professional, friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbuckHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Exellent hotel ideally situated for all amenaties,warm & freindly staff in all departments.Fantastic clean and comfortable hotel,Exellent food.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshireminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,749 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Hotel

Property: The Crescent Hotel
Address: Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#1 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crescent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crescent Hotel is a small, family run hotel located on a beautiful Regency Crescent in the centre of Scarborough. We pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmosphere, wonderful location and fantastic food! Always contact us directly for the best room rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing