We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel stay here if you are going to Scarborough.”
Review of The Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crescent Hotel
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We had the Londsborough room. It was really large, bathroom very large and although there were three of us in the room it did not feel cramped. the beds were very good and the whole experience was first class. The breakfasts were excellent and we had a meal in the restaurant which was also very good. The owners were friendly and we really cannot fault our 3 night stay in any way. We would stay here again if back in Scarborough and felt it was a very relaxing and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordonclarkg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2010

....only if Basil Fawlty takes it over. That's the only way.
Excellent location, really good standard of rooms, very friendly and helpful service.
And the meals ....wow ! A brilliant chef. In fact we met diners who were staying at other hotels who told us they always dine at the Crescent even if they can't get rooms there.
And some residents who dine here rather than go to restaurants in the town.
Good prices and parking not too bad at all.
I'm trying to think of negatives - but honestly cannot.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billdobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We have been staying at the Crescent Hotel now for a number of years. The food is good - especially breakfast, elegent rooms and comfortable beds. Helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble. Centrally situated at the end of a Georgian crescent in Scarborough; the hotel overlooks a pleasant park; is convenient for the railway, town centre shopping and is near the sea front. The hotel is a good base to stay and access all the amenities of the town as well as explore the East Coast and North Yorkshire countryside.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Just arrived home, after my 3rd visit to this hotel in 11 months, making me one of so many return visitors. Paul & Lindsay offer guests their personal attention - and a little dry Australian humour from Paul thrown in.
This is affordable Yorkshire hospitality at its best, offering mostly locally-sourced produce from their kitchen.
You will always be greeted with sincere Yorkshire directness; the ladies at breakfast are an entertainment in themselves and each meal is individually prepared.
All rooms, public and private, show a very high standard of preparation and maintenance.
Location should be perfect, being on the edge of the City centre, yet just a few yards' stroll from the cliff-top steps, through ornamental gardens, to the beach and bay.
The adjacent tramway service will transport for those not able to negotiate the steps.
The Crescent's in-house restaurant offers 21-day hung prime Yorkshire beef and is obviously well-patronised by local residents, and guests alike.
Good local beer and fine malts from Scotland are served in the bar.
What did I like best, and least, about the Crescent?

THE BEST: the whole package. THE WORST: never bettering Paul with the verbal chat.

Good Travelling.
cg15144
Menorca
Spain

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cg15144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Stayed for 4 nights, had a lovely supeior twin room, very clean, spacious, light and airy.
unfortunately we looked out onto a busy roundabout, not the park, and because the weather was very hot, we needed the windows open, so the noise from the traffic was not very condusive to sleep. If we closed the window, we were ok. the staff were very friendly and efficient, the breakfast was excellent, and the reflections restaurant has superb gourmet food, we ate there every night. would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeancockles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Three years ago my wife and I stayed at The Crescent Hotel, Scarborough. We enjoyed our stay so much that when we returned to Scarborough last week we booked again at The Crescent Hotel without considering staying elsewhere.
The hotel is centrally situated, close to all modes of transport, amenities and attractions: parking is relatively good by Scarborough standards and Blue Badge Holders can park free of charge - a real bonus in these times.
The accommodation at the hotel is spacious and comfortable; and the staff are friendly and helpful.
The food in the aptly-named Reflections Restaurant is superb; they advertise, "Prime Steaks and Seafood," as their specialities and both are excellent.
The adjoining, "Cooneys Carvery," provides alternative eating choices on specified lunchtimes and early evenings at very competive prices.
Well done to Paul and Lindsay Cooney, and their loyal staff, for continuing to provide first-class accommodation, food and service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claretnamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Just returned this morning after a stay at the Crescent Hotel - Scarborough. Everything about the hotel was marvelous, I would say, it is perhaps one of the best hotels we have stayed at in the UK.

The staff were first class and the rooms and hotel were spotless. The food in both resturants was top of the bill. A most enjoyable stay at a very good UK Hotel.

Well done to all.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakealfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,953 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,929 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
935 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Hotel

Address: Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#1 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £94 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crescent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crescent Hotel is a small, family run hotel located on a beautiful Regency Crescent in the centre of Scarborough. We pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmosphere, wonderful location and fantastic food! Always contact us directly for the best room rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing