We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment!”
Review of The Crescent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Crescent Hotel
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Big disappointment!”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

I stayed at The Crescent Hotel on the bank holiday weekend (27 & 28th August 2010). Our big disappointment was the room - immediately outside of the window was the hotel kitchen's extract ductwork!

The hotel is part of a Georgian terrace - one side overlooking the crescent gardens the other side over looking the main street. The booking confirmation from the hotel stated "street facing" but we did not have any objections to overlooking a street. I have stayed in hotels in London, Paris, Rome and New York in rooms overlooking streets - as long as there is double glazing to shut out excessive street noise a street view room is not a problem - in fact I find it interesting to watch passing foot and vehicle traffic. However, what a disappointment it was to look out of the room window to find our view blocked by the kitchen's extract system. It was impossible to see the street below or much of the sky above because of the large metal structures located on the roof immediately outside of our first floor window. As well as being ugly there was a steady hum from the extract system - the sound reminded us of being on the car deck of a ferry. Thankfully the extract system was switched off once the dinner service was over (about 10 pm) and did not get switched on again until breakfast service (7.30 am) next morning.

My husband went down to the reception desk and told the manager that we were not happy with the room but his only response was that the hotel was full - no apologies were made. The price of the room was £105 per night - we had booked for two nights. I was tempted to leave but the booking conditions implied that if we left at that time we would still have to pay the full cost of £210.

In my opinion, the hotel management should have a policy of informing potential guests about the room's "restricted view". It was a last minute booking made for a busy bank holiday weekend but if I had been told that the only room available overlooked the kitchen extract system I would not have booked it (even if the price had been £50 per night).

Unfortunately this negative experience makes me think that the hotel owners do not really care about the "comfort" of their guests - as long as they can make money on a room - we did feel short changed. The positive result for me is that I have learned a lesson and in future I will make sure I ask about the room location before confirming a hotel reservation. For anyone else booking a room at this hotel, if you do not want to overlook metal ductwork make sure you are not booked into the Fairfax room!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    130
    31
    3
    6
See reviews for
78
310
33
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Spent 4 nights at this hotel. Would recommend rooms - very light and airy- hotel ideally situated. Breakfast was superb we did not eat at the restaurant only at their carvery which was excellent value for money,

Would recommend the Copper Horse at a nearby village for an evening meal. Some of the best food I have tasted for years.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 6sunshinegirl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2010

the hotel is great value, a stones throw from the seafront and close to town centre, so best of both worlds. but wait til you try the yorkshire breakfast...heaven...nearly beaten by the most entertaining waitress.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Crescent hotel, and must say we enjoyed it so much we will definitely return. Our party consisted of 4 adults (two couples) staying in two seperate rooms, one on the first floor (Londsborough room) the other on the (top) third floor. Both rooms were superbly appointed, clean and elegant. Location is excellent - 10 mins. to the steps down to the beach and shopping centre 2 mins. Food in the restaurant is delicious especially the fillet steaks being probably the most tender we have ever experienced. The 'Yorkshire' breakfast is huge, impressive and extremely tasty. Full marks to the chef on both occasions. Paul and Lindsay (the owners) offer their guests personal attention and are well versed at making you feel very welcome. All four of us came away feeling well satisfied with our choice of hotel, and all remarked The Crescent deserved its No.1 rating.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the room was modern and exceptionally clean (as was the bathroom which looked recently fitted and had an excellent shower) and breakfast was spot on. There were no problems getting back late at night (I'm originally from Scarborough and tend to cram in pretty long days catching up with everyone) and I had the feeling nothing would have been too much trouble. Easily knocks the spots off a certain four star hotel nearby regards customer service, breakfast and price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yabbyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FALKIRK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

We had the Londsborough room. It was really large, bathroom very large and although there were three of us in the room it did not feel cramped. the beds were very good and the whole experience was first class. The breakfasts were excellent and we had a meal in the restaurant which was also very good. The owners were friendly and we really cannot fault our 3 night stay in any way. We would stay here again if back in Scarborough and felt it was a very relaxing and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonclarkg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

....only if Basil Fawlty takes it over. That's the only way.
Excellent location, really good standard of rooms, very friendly and helpful service.
And the meals ....wow ! A brilliant chef. In fact we met diners who were staying at other hotels who told us they always dine at the Crescent even if they can't get rooms there.
And some residents who dine here rather than go to restaurants in the town.
Good prices and parking not too bad at all.
I'm trying to think of negatives - but honestly cannot.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billdobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
335 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
1,854 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crescent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crescent Hotel

Property: The Crescent Hotel
Address: Belvoir Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#1 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Crescent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crescent Hotel is a small, family run hotel located on a beautiful Regency Crescent in the centre of Scarborough. We pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmosphere, wonderful location and fantastic food! Always contact us directly for the best room rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Crescent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing