We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by the cover.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Weston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by the cover.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Or a hotel by a few mean reviews. I've just stayed at the Weston for a few days. I'm extremely fussy about hotels (see my other reviews) but I would definitely stay there again whenever I'm in Scarborough.

This hotel is in a quiet area above the Spa complex, with stunning sea views. The cliff lift is almost opposite to avoid climbing the steep hill from sea level. Car parking outside the hotel is safe and free for guests with the new system.

All the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The new owners Mr and Mrs Hendry are doing major refurbishments, but these take time if guests aren't to be inconvenienced. I loved the Jack Vettriano beach pictures around the hotel, and hope these are still there after the hotel is redecorated.

Our bedroom was large and spotlessly clean, with a new TV, new bathroom, lots of storage space and two comfortable easy chairs facing the sea. I recommend you pay extra for a front bedroom as the view is absolutely fabulous even in dull weather.

The food is mostly English, good quality, hot, tasty and plentiful and there's no pressure to buy over priced wine at dinner. The dining room service is quick and attentive. The bar is well stocked and the hotel has entertainment of some kind almost every night.

Older guests do stay at the Weston out of season, but there will be families in July and August.

I consider the cost is normal and certainly value for money. So don't believe a few unpleasant reviews and take your custom elsewhere, or you will miss an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mwoodville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    97
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
97
247
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2011

Well appointed bedroom with a "wow" view.
Food can only be described as excellent.
Staff cheery and welcoming.
Enjoyed our break and we will be back later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HughGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

just had turkey/tinsel week end at Weston and they could not have made our stay any more enjoyable. Service,staff and everything 1ST class.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2010

Stayed from Friday 5th to Monday 8th November. Both my wife and I are disabled, we were given a Sea view room with Walk in Shower and a seat for my wife. Pat, her Hubby, Brother and staff were more than helpful. We had entertainment on all 3 nights, most enjoyable. The rest of the Mohawk Association thoroughly enjoyed the weekend and in my view we will be back. We had to use the back entrance and kitchen to gain access for my Wife's wheelchair but no problem, to any of the staff, they couldn't have been more helpful. Food was excellent, served by staff who cared. Thank you to Pat and everyone else at the Weston.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeArtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Worn, dated, dirty and overpriced at £100 per night. If there had been anywhere else available we would have checked out.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

What a difference the new owners are making to this place. Can't praise them enough for the customer care. Stayed last year but this is like a different hotel. Well done. Can't wait to return with the family.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickofBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

I say this because - it's Scarborough and where is there in England so great for a seaside holiday with everything there or nearby ? Also, because it is an old Edwardian or Victorian build with all kinds of restrictions no doubt, pertaining to planning permission; also, folk wanting ensuite so these are now squeezed into existing rooms. I have stayed three times in all because we used to go as a big family group, next door at the Miramar ( now privately owned apartments - lucky htings). We used to take four apartments so there's an element of nostalgia in going to the Weston - not to mention the fantastic views from the front of the hotel.
We again had a lovely sea view room with a huge sash bay window. The room is irritating because of it's layout and the bathroom was worse. The lack of size is compounded by the lack of places to put things down. A few shelves and hooks ( and more plugs ) would help enormously. Putting cases on top of the wardrobe provoked a flurry of dust but otherwise clean with towels and bedding changed regularly. The hotel has recently changed hands and the new owners seem to have plans to improve but this will be when the season is over. They seemed slightly overwhelmed by it all. The place was heaving with returning fans of the place, mostly elderly people having a whale of a time. The dining room at breakfast was the noisiest and liveliest I have been in since school dinners. There was a rather severe young woman who seemed to be the dining room manager - she wore a suit and was a trifle scary. We were there on a b and b basis so I cannot speak for dinner. Breakfast was at 8.30 full stop and when on our first morning, we turned up at 9.10, it was what was left over and cool. Hence a queue waiting to enter the closed dining room every morning, which was a bit Hi De Hi ! Porridge was excellent. Toast is industrial white unless you ask for brown. Tea good old Yorkshire strength. At £35.00 per person and looking at reviews for swisher-looking Ambassador just a few yards up the Esplanade, it is probably good value. The public rooms need a good seeing to as the bar and lounge are dreary beyond belief. I say good luck to the owners - I can't see they have an easy task but they have a prime position in a great town.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenMabW_Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hotel

Property: Weston Hotel
Address: 33-34 Esplanade, Scarborough YO11 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#1 Best Value Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weston is located on the prestigious Esplanade, overlooking Scarborough's South Bay. This handsome Victorian building provides 32 en-suite bedrooms, of which 18 enjoy panoramic views of the bay from Scarborough Castle to Cayton. Situated close to the cliff lift we are ideally placed for those who are looking to use the Scarborough Spa complex. We are also a short walk away from the Oliver's Mount Road race circuit. Further afield the Yorkshire coast is ideal for walkers and cyclist alike, with the Cleveland Way and the old coastal railway. Golfers can also enjoy a number of challenging courses, from the links of Filey or South Cliff to the parkland of Ganton. Our small family based team are committed to providing excellent customer service and aim to provide a relaxing base for you to enjoy all that Scarborough and the rest of North Yorkshire have to offer. We take pride in providing high quality, freshly prepared meals using local produce. Furthermore, our new lounge areas give you space to relax and unwind in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Weston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing