We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Room & Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Weston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Room & Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

My wife & I stayed for one night.We were in room 7 which is lovely & recently refurbished.The staff were very friendly & helpful.The breakfast was nice apart from the mash potato with the cooked full english.I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MagicManBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear MagicManBaby many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay at the Weston Hotel Scarborough, we are very appreciative of your complimentary report and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    97
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
97
247
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

Lovely Victorian hotel with amazing sea views over the south bay of Scarborough.
Situated on a cliff but right opposite a cliff lift which is very cheap and convenient, BUT does not operate all year round, however when closed a bus service is provided to the lower spa area.
The bedroom was very comfortable with newly refurbished shower room, tea tray and great sea view rooms which are worth the extra charge in our opinion.
We only stayed for Breakfast which was of a better standard on week days than it was on a Saturday for some reason, maybe different cook at weekends!
The website states entertainment, but we stayed during August Wed-Sat and there was no entertainment at all, even the bar was closed one evening, so check with the hotel before booking if this is of importance to you.
Highly recommend and will stay again!

Room Tip: High floor sea view room, lift is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CeeJayStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear CeeJayStaffordshire many thanks for your fabulous assessment , we really do appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

As friendly and personal a welcome as one could wish for, a newly refubished room with stylish en-suite (Room 11 at the rear- very comfortable but without sea views), a superb dinner with attentive but discrete service made this a delightful visit to a lovely town.

The hotel for us was ideally placed for the town, seafront, Spa and gardens, not far from the cliff lift which was helpful for a couple of older visitors!

Room Tip: Sea views would have been wonderful, but these were already taken.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyk566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Joyk566 many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay at the Weston Hotel Scarborough, we are very appreciative of your complimentary report and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

just got home had a great trip to scarborough and the hotel was greaqt... good location, nice refurbished room, really nice staff, and the food was really really nice ... no - one can complain plenty of choice well presented and very tasty ... thanks every one ... enjoyed x

Room Tip: although we didnt get sea room our room was nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Sandra Dreviewer many thanks for your fabulous assessment and for giving us the full 5 marks, we really do appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

A massive thank you to Hugh and Tom and all the staff at the Weston hotel, hotel beautiful, food beautiful, room beautiful, made our 3 days in scaurbourgh extra special could not ask for a better service would defiantly stay again and would recommend the hotel to anyone planning a trip to scarbourgh once again a big thank you. Bev and Stephen Washington

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevfurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Bevfurn many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay at the Weston Hotel Scarborough, we are very appreciative of your complimentary report and hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Weston hotel in Scarborough.
I chose the hotel based on their trip advisor reviews and both myself and my staff found it to be a wonderful hotel.
The welcome at the hotel on check in by Hugh was first rate and he proved to have excellent local knowledge and a true passion for Scarborough and the surrounding areas, I have to say it is unusual to have the owners being so attentive in a hotel this size.
The bar are is comfortable with great views over the sea and castle, most importantly the prices at the bar are not over the top.
We dined in the hotel restaurant for our evening meal on the first night and found the food to be fresh, well presented with a strong influence on local produce. Unfortunately our plans for the second evening involved a meal out but i would have much preferred the hotel.
I must say we were shocked at breakfast (in a good way) to discover it was full service, and that they didn't use the cheaper catering products on their cooked breakfast (you can always tell the cheap sausages)
Our party was in a total of 3 rooms, 2 of them being sea views and one of them a newly renovated rear room, for the price we paid the rooms where excellent and we could see the amount of work the hotel is doing in renovating the building.
I would like to thank Hugh, Pat, Tom and the team for a superb stay and we look forward to staying again soon

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbyuk22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Bobbyuk22 on behalf of all the team many thanks for your fantastic review following your recent break at the Weston Hotel :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

My Mother always said you only get one chance to make an impression so make it count , well the Weston made an impression.. So we checked out!
So this review is based on a very short stay of about 20 minutes, so you may wish to dismiss it and concentrate on all the good reviews and base your decision to stay on that , and who could blame you. But, if you are sat at home and wondering whether to book let me say that we left not because of just an impression and when I also say that we were prepared to forfeit our £50 deposit , we didn't do it lightly.
Whether it is a good or bad hotel may be a matter of opinion but let me give you some background and facts.
My wife and I had just had 3 great nights in Northumberland and County Durham in both the Bowburn Hall and Coquetevale Hotels and wanted to round it off at one of our favourite resorts of Scarborough, and booked the Weston on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews, we rang and were told we could have their best room with bay window at the front overlooking the sea at a price of £126 BB&E and required a £50 deposit, we paid.
We arrived to see a very tired, distressed place but with very pleasant manager who was courteous and helpful, we accepted the place on face value and checked in and went to our room.
The room was more 1950's ( an era I liked!) but the two armchairs were stained and soiled and a coffee table with a large white stain on it, the bedding was clean but the white towels were yellowing, and the floor was not particularly clean.The bathroom for such a premier room was small and badly designed and lacked the sort of toiletries you now expect in normal hotels( see the 2 listed above as examples)
We decided as a matter of personal choice to leave and informed Reception of our decision and went home feeling quite disappointed with the last part of our trip. We were not offered any alternatives or our money back, so , and this is why I write this review, if you are the more discerning traveller and prefer more mod cons watch the Hotel Inpector and agree with her views think twice before booking here.
Also be warned hotels who don't use standard Internet booking agencies do so for a reason and you may like me regret your decision to ring up and waste £50 on a hotel like this.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GilbertSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear GilbertSheffield many thanks for taking the time to post an appraisal of your brief visit to our Hotel. I’m only sorry that having checked you in you did not give me the opportunity to talk with you prior to your somewhat hasty departure. Like anyone in business, I’m really concerned to read that someone has not enjoyed what we provide, and especially so when a guest decides not to stay.

If I can address a couple of points – on being made aware of your departure and the limited reasons given to our duty receptionist, I immediately refunded your deposit back to your card. The deposit is to give us protection from ‘no shows’ not to penalise genuine guests. I then tried to call you but without success, you may have still been travelling. My business partner eventually managed to contact you a couple of days later.

Since acquisition of the Weston in June 2010 we’ve completely refurbished the kitchens which has enabled us to achieve our 5 star food hygiene rating, re-roofed the building to enable us to move on to bedroom refurbishment which are ongoing (check our Facebook page for before & after shots), painted the exterior and refurbished the entrance lobby, together with a number of smaller projects all intended to help us achieve our ambitions for the hotel.

I do agree with you regarding the design of the particular bathroom and given the opportunity I would have been delighted to show you some of the bathrooms which we have recently re-furbished. I have noted your comment regarding toiletries; my partners and I will review our offering, though on inspecting the linen I found it clean, fresh and pristine white. Our linen and towels are renewed regularly, are professionally laundered and have never caused issue.

All in all, we do believe that the rate charged for the room with large bay windowed view overlooking the south bay and castle, for a one night stay in peak season complete with 3 course table d’hôte dinner and full breakfast is a fair one.

Finally, your loaded warning to readers of your review to avoid using hotels that choose not to use Internet booking agencies we find absolutely disgraceful. Like many businesses we choose not to use such agencies, simply because to achieve our occupancy levels we do not have to.

Once again thanks for the feedback I only wish that we had the chance to talk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,637 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hotel

Property: Weston Hotel
Address: 33-34 Esplanade, Scarborough YO11 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Scarborough
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weston is located on the prestigious Esplanade, overlooking Scarborough's South Bay. This handsome Victorian building provides 32 en-suite bedrooms, of which 18 enjoy panoramic views of the bay from Scarborough Castle to Cayton. Situated close to the cliff lift we are ideally placed for those who are looking to use the Scarborough Spa complex. We are also a short walk away from the Oliver's Mount Road race circuit. Further afield the Yorkshire coast is ideal for walkers and cyclist alike, with the Cleveland Way and the old coastal railway. Golfers can also enjoy a number of challenging courses, from the links of Filey or South Cliff to the parkland of Ganton. Our small family based team are committed to providing excellent customer service and aim to provide a relaxing base for you to enjoy all that Scarborough and the rest of North Yorkshire have to offer. We take pride in providing high quality, freshly prepared meals using local produce. Furthermore, our new lounge areas give you space to relax and unwind in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Weston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing