We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for a better hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Weston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for a better hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Me and my husband have just returned from a two night stay which included breakfast and an evening meal. We cannot fault anything. The staff were brilliant (nothing was too much trouble), the food was wonderful and the view from the room was beautiful. We stayed in a room that is yet to be refurbished, it was clean and big enough for what we needed. It is quite a walk down to the seafront but for us we like to walk and ended up walking over 20 miles during out stay (there is a tram across the road to take you up and down the cliff). The free parking is definately a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zalete03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear AJFox90 many thanks for your review and for giving us the full 5 marks! Your comments are really gratifying and we thank you very much.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    95
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
96
236
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Rooms are large, the bedroom decor, fixtures and fittings are very dated and poor maintained, dust was evident,
Where housekeepers should have spotted. The bathroom shower was small and shower head broken for a long time, our concerns were mentioned at reception who said I think I have a replacement so watch this space, the staff were not pleasant at breakfast, but the food was nice but the dining service needs to be brought up to date. Hotel good position, plenty of car space, but we won't use this hotel again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBM5638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear CBM5638 many thanks for your review. We were really sorry to read on TripAdvisor that you did not enjoy your stay with us and doubly so to note that you choose not to return. I must apologise for the poor standards expresses and assure you these are not normally associated with this hotel. I am particularly concerned regarding your comment about our staff as in general they are highly praised for their professionalism. I do wish you had taken the time to talk to us before departure.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed here with 3 friends at the end of May/begining of June for 2 nights.
We had 2 rooms,and plumped for the seaview larger rooms at the front of the hotel and were not dissapointed. the views across the bay were stunning.
We ate in the hotel on the first eveing, the meal was very good value and we all had empty plates. The wine was reccomended by the waiter and went down very well.
The staff and owners were all exremely friendly but not in your face, the balance was just right.
We came by train but there were plently of parking spaces outside, the hotel provide you with a free pass for the duration of your stay.

Well done "Weston" see you again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy8880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear sandy8880 many thanks for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased to note you all enjoyed your time in Scarborough.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have just returned from a week stay at the Weston, we stayed for 3 days May 2011; it is now under new managers. They have refurbish some of the rooms which has made a great improvement. The location is good for those who have no trouble walking but there is a lift opposite the hotel down to the sea front. We only had breakfast which was good and they do evening meals which smelt great. The hotel advertise entertainment when busy, but we had none which was a shame as the hotel was busy all week. There are other hotels with in walking distance who have entertainment which we enjoyed most nights. All in all we loved our stay and would stay again; all staff were friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: we had room 17 not a sea view but had been refurbish, lift to all 3 floors; no noise at night from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear marie b thanks for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to look after your party and we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Just arrived back from a mini break in Scarborough with my sister, mom and aunt. Found this hotel to be in a lovely location. With plenty of places to park (aided by the parking pass issued by the hotel FREE). The rooms were clean and bright with plenty of hot water and very comfy beds. The staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The food was amazing and our stay was well worth the price. Well done Weston Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear Helen J many thanks for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and for giving us the full 5 marks. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton-Cleveleys
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

My wife & I stayed at the Weston with 14 of our friends. We found the staff very welcoming, helpful and efficient.
The hotel is in an elevated position offering fabulous views across the South Bay.
The rooms are large, beds comfortable, en suite well fitted out, good wardrobes and other furniture.
The Dining Room, Bar and Lounge areas ideal.
In general you would have to go a long way to find a better hotel than the Weston, should you be visiting Scarborough.
One thing that I would advise, is that shower mats are required for inside the baths, in those rooms with baths and showers combined, in these cases it is only a matter of time before someone gets hurt.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnWhiteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear JohnWhiteman thanks for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to look after your group and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We will take on board your comment regarding the shower mats. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed for 4 nights on aDBB break.can only describe the experience as superb.When making the booking the staff were friendly and helpful On arrival the staff and manager gave us a a welcoming check in.
The room was clean and comfortable with a great view of Scarborough.The dinner and breakfast on everyday was of a standard you usually get at an hotel with four stars Fantastic meals!
The restaurant staff and all the other staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for you.
This hotel is a gem and like many of the people we met whilst staying we shall return

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johngBarnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear johngBarnsley many thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hotel

Property: Weston Hotel
Address: 33-34 Esplanade, Scarborough YO11 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#1 Best Value Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weston is located on the prestigious Esplanade, overlooking Scarborough's South Bay. This handsome Victorian building provides 32 en-suite bedrooms, of which 18 enjoy panoramic views of the bay from Scarborough Castle to Cayton. Situated close to the cliff lift we are ideally placed for those who are looking to use the Scarborough Spa complex. We are also a short walk away from the Oliver's Mount Road race circuit. Further afield the Yorkshire coast is ideal for walkers and cyclist alike, with the Cleveland Way and the old coastal railway. Golfers can also enjoy a number of challenging courses, from the links of Filey or South Cliff to the parkland of Ganton. Our small family based team are committed to providing excellent customer service and aim to provide a relaxing base for you to enjoy all that Scarborough and the rest of North Yorkshire have to offer. We take pride in providing high quality, freshly prepared meals using local produce. Furthermore, our new lounge areas give you space to relax and unwind in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Weston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing