We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time!”
Review of Weston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The Weston Hotel was excellent, the staff were very helpful and friendly and the food was fantastic. The rooms were spotlessly clean and nicely furnished. The location was perfect and directly opposite the cliff lift to the esplanade. All in all a great time with nice people.

Room Tip: The premier rooms are facing the sea with a big bay window and are a little bit extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClasgowMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear ClasgowMaryland many thanks for taking the time to post an assessment of your recent stay at the Weston Hotel Scarborough. Huge thanks from all of us for giving the full 5 marks.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from a weekend break at the weston. Arrived quite late Friday, was greeted by very helpful staff, no trouble at all checking in and was given a choice of rooms. We opted for a recently refurbished, which was very nice. Breakfast was delicious, with a lot of choice.
Only down side, bathroom was a little small, but on the whole, a very pleasant experience and I will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Dear Jon H thanks for posting a review of your stay at the Weston Hotel Scarborough. We are all pleased to note your satisfaction and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Weston. We were given a warm welcome and parking posed no problem as we were issued with a disc for the duration of our stay. We had a light and airy room with sea view, the room was spotless and the hospitality tray was well stocked. The room has yet to be refurbished but this was not an issue. The dining room was a pleasure to use the staff were well trained and worked as a team and nothing was to much trouble for them. The restaurant manager always made sure that we had everything we needed and that we had enjoyed our meal. The food was excellent the menus were varied and exciting. Great hotel, well done. We will certainly be returning to the Weston. Many Thanks. C& E

Room Tip: Ask for what you really want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Elaine W many thanks for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and for giving us the full 5 marks. We all look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We have just spent a week at the Weston and were very pleased with our stay. The hotel is well postioned, quiet, with convenient parking, and a predominately mature and discerning clientele. We had a modest size seaview room, which has yet to be refurbished, but was suitably furnished, had a comfortable bed, and all perfectly adequate for our needs. The shower room was brand new and excellent. All was found to be scrupulously clean. The meals were excellent, with a varied menu, well cooked and presented, and thoroughly enjoyed. The table service was friendly and efficient. The managent attentive and concerned; and the whole atmosphere relaxed and comfortable. Thank you. P & E.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Peter W many thanks for your thoughtful assessment of your stay at the Weston.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We've just returned from a two night break at The Weston Hotel. We stayed in a family room as we had our 5 year old with us. The room was tastefully decorated with modern furniture, a queen size bed and a comfortable pull out bed for our son. The bathroom was very spacious, had a large bath with a lovely powerful shower and again tastefully decorated.
I can highly recommend the food at the Weston and there is a varied menu which changes daily. The staff were very accommodating and couldn't do enough for us and our young son.
The Weston is an impressive looking building with service to match.
If you're looking to stay in Scarborough then look no further. This is the place to enjoy your stay.

Great hotel Hugh. Thank you:-)

We'll definitely be returning to the Weston!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilyGuy-196722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear FamilyGuy-196722 a big thanks to you and your family from all of us at the Weston for giving us 5 out of 5. It was an absolute pleasure to look after you all and we look forward to welcoming Ewan and his family in the near future!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Me and my husband have just returned from a two night stay which included breakfast and an evening meal. We cannot fault anything. The staff were brilliant (nothing was too much trouble), the food was wonderful and the view from the room was beautiful. We stayed in a room that is yet to be refurbished, it was clean and big enough for what we needed. It is quite a walk down to the seafront but for us we like to walk and ended up walking over 20 miles during out stay (there is a tram across the road to take you up and down the cliff). The free parking is definately a bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zalete03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear AJFox90 many thanks for your review and for giving us the full 5 marks! Your comments are really gratifying and we thank you very much.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Rooms are large, the bedroom decor, fixtures and fittings are very dated and poor maintained, dust was evident,
Where housekeepers should have spotted. The bathroom shower was small and shower head broken for a long time, our concerns were mentioned at reception who said I think I have a replacement so watch this space, the staff were not pleasant at breakfast, but the food was nice but the dining service needs to be brought up to date. Hotel good position, plenty of car space, but we won't use this hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CBM5638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2013

Dear CBM5638 many thanks for your review. We were really sorry to read on TripAdvisor that you did not enjoy your stay with us and doubly so to note that you choose not to return. I must apologise for the poor standards expresses and assure you these are not normally associated with this hotel. I am particularly concerned regarding your comment about our staff as in general they are highly praised for their professionalism. I do wish you had taken the time to talk to us before departure.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#14 of 26 in Scarborough
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hotel

Address: 33-34 Esplanade, Scarborough YO11 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#5 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £69 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weston is located on the prestigious Esplanade, overlooking Scarborough's South Bay. This handsome Victorian building provides 32 en-suite bedrooms, of which 18 enjoy panoramic views of the bay from Scarborough Castle to Cayton. Situated close to the cliff lift we are ideally placed for those who are looking to use the Scarborough Spa complex. We are also a short walk away from the Oliver's Mount Road race circuit. Further afield the Yorkshire coast is ideal for walkers and cyclist alike, with the Cleveland Way and the old coastal railway. Golfers can also enjoy a number of challenging courses, from the links of Filey or South Cliff to the parkland of Ganton. Our small family based team are committed to providing excellent customer service and aim to provide a relaxing base for you to enjoy all that Scarborough and the rest of North Yorkshire have to offer. We take pride in providing high quality, freshly prepared meals using local produce. Furthermore, our new lounge areas give you space to relax and unwind in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Weston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing