We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of few Hotels in Scarborough offering an evening meal.”
Review of Weston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One of few Hotels in Scarborough offering an evening meal.”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife & I visit Scarborough & the surrounding area annually & found hotel accommodation including an evening meal no problem to some 5 years back when like a mexican wave they decided in the majority to just offer B&B accommodation. There are eating places in Scarborough but not to the extent they make out & after being out for the day it isn't pleasurable walking round trying to find somewhere. So for a couple of years we left Scarborough alone but then decided to go through the Hotel's available to see if anyone was still offering an evening meal & we found this Hotel at a then very reasonable rate. This Hotel has obviously become very popular as a result & when I phoned in May to find out the Autumn/Winter rate there was just one double sea view room available at the price this year of £129 per person so we duly booked. Though still good value this was an increase of £50 on last years price taking into account a bottle of wine not being included now on the first night & the receptionist stated in the call that they had become very popular. As this is just an extra holiday to us a visit next year will be determined by the price then. The Hotel is going through a steady progression of upgrade & we found the work still continuing from last year. Our room (19) had had the en-suite upgraded though the bedroom was a work in progress & with only having 2 electric sockets already serving the TV & kettle provided it was a case of swapping plugs through the week's stay & with the new light fixture/shaver socket in the bathroom awaiting replacement my electric shaver as well as the hair dryer, mobile phone charger etc had to be served by these as well. The view from our room was definitely a sea view & the full panorama of Scarborough's bay could be clearly seen & the town is easily within walking distance. The room just had a shower & this was definitely small bijou & with the controls being something out of the star ship Enterprise I was concerned of the water being to hot as there was no room to stand back. The bed was comfortable though the pillows were too hard for my liking but all in all a comfortable room for our weeks (4 night) stay. The food is always well presented & very well served & a good choice of menu is served throughout the week though the sweets menu remains the same there is a good choice to have a different sweet each night. Tea or coffee & mints is also served after the evening meal. A good choice of breakfast items are also offered. One thing that was found when the weather turned very windy towards the end of the week is how draughty sash windows can be & seating in the restaurant & the bar area was found to be very cold as a result, this was also the case in the bedroom. The staff throughout all areas are always friendly & helpful. Parking outside the Hotel is freely available for your stay by a permit being displayed given by the Hotel's. All in all a very good friendly stay is due when staying at this Hotel & we hopefully look forward to returning to it next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Kevin H many thanks for your considered review following your stay at the Weston. We are pleased to note you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    98
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
99
252
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 7th-11th October 2013. The refurbished room was excellent, the food was good, and the staff very helpful.
The management team were very professional and experienced ,my wife and i were very impressed with the service provided.
We will certainly be going back soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michealbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear michealbradley many thanks for your review and for giving us top marks. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had originally booked a stay in April, but due to illness were unable to go at the last minute - they were very understanding and said that we could carry our deposit over for 6 months. We have just had a lovely 3 nights there with our 94 (nearly 95!) year old Mother and have been well looked after. Our only complaints are that there is no disabled/level access to the front door, and the beds and pillows are rather hard!
However, there was a good choice of food in the evening, and the breakfast were lovely. All the staff are very pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The owners are gradually improving the decor - several rooms had been refurbished, and they have more plans for next year.
We really apprecited having the sea view too. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Be aware that not all rooms can be accessed by the lift, some are on half landings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwenT356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear GwenT356 many thanks for your review. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased to advise we have a supply of soft foam pillows should you require.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickersley, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

My son Luke and my mum stayed for 4 nights in August and what a wonderful stay they had, again great rooms, fab food, super friendly staff, a special mention to Hugh who made a special effort with Luke who has Autism, you made Luke very welcome, a big Thankyou and they are already planning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Karen B many thanks for your wonderful assessment. It was good to see both Luke and your mother and we are really pleased that they had a terrific time in Scarborough.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stopped at the Weston in July 2013, the location of the hotel is superb especially if you are visiting the Scarborough Spa as we were, you take a lift down to the spa so saving your legs. We stopped in a refurbished room which was very well appointed, although our refurbished room was at the rear of the hotel and had a view of a back allyway ( you cant do much about the view ). The stairways and corridors are indeed of tidying up.

The service was superb from reception to the bar staff.

The breakfast was good, although the full English could have been slightly bigger but still very good.

All in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear John M many thanks for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to note you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased to advise that decoration of the stairways and corridors is underway.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Just returned from another stay, a full week this time, had a 4 night break earlier in the year.
Very friendly welcome, room, service and food the usual excellent standard, we were a little concerned when a party of 30 ex naval personnel arrived for 3 nights, the management and staff coped extremely well with no drop in service for other guests.We are returning for a 4 night break with friends in 3 weeks time and have already booked for 2014.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22sfud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear 22sfud many thanks for your fabulous assessment and for giving the full 5 marks. We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Very impressed. The Weston Hotel is located right on the Esplanade which is on the quieter, southern side of the town overlooking the cliffs. It is very close to the funicular lift which can get you up and down to the beach (80p per-person one-way). We chose this hotel for its proximity to the Stephen Joseph Theatre whilst still having a sea view, and it was an excellent decision. Parking is much easier than you might have anticipated, with plenty of roadside spaces when we arrived mid-morning on a weekday. The hotel reception gave us a pass allowing free parking for 3 hours (no return within the hour) between 9am - 5pm, and free after that. We left our car unattended for a full 24 hours right outside the hotel and had no problems.

The hotel is of the traditional 'faded glamour' variety, but beautiful if you like this kind of thing. We only stayed the one night B&B in room 23 on the third floor. The lift was rickety but worked fine. The room was small, old and creaky, but perfectly okay nevertheless, with a TV, a small double bed and separate medium-sized single bed. There was room for a desk and a chair and there was an en-suite. It was all clean and had been freshly-painted and yes it did have a beautiful sea-view. The hotel claims WiFi, but it didn't reach up to us, however we hooked onto a solid BT-Fon connection and were happy enough with that.

Breakfast in the morning was a delight, set in the large bay-windowed room overlooking the seafront. It was hearteningly busy even for mid-September with about fifteen couples in when we were. There were lots of pleasant waitress staff and the 'Full Yorkshire' breakfast was faultless, with surprisingly tasty coffee.

In my opinion, the 2 stars this hotel has are completely misrepresentative of the accommodation; it is far, far better than that. We spoke to the staff and they said that stars are based on such outdated criteria as having land-line phones in bedrooms, which they didn't have. Well who doesn't have a mobile phone these days? The hotel is undergoing gradual refurbishment. We saw that many rooms had new doors and handles, and apparently these are the ones that have already been done. More are planned over the winter. They are also intending more significant improvements such as extending the dining room, moving the reception, fitting ground-floor toilets etcetera. They have promised to retain the hotel's character and not transform it into something anonymous. It will be interesting to come back next season and see how much it has improved.

In summary, this is an excellent hotel and the good TripAdvisor reviews are far more more indicative of its quality than the ridiculously mean 2 stars. It is well worth staying here.

Room Tip: Room 23 is on the front, on the top floor. Nice and quiet with sea-view from the sash window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JesOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear JesOakley many thanks for taking the time to post such a considered review of your stay at the Weston. Your feedback is essential enabling us to continually monitor our standards and service and we sincerely hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,748 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hotel

Property: Weston Hotel
Address: 33-34 Esplanade, Scarborough YO11 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weston is located on the prestigious Esplanade, overlooking Scarborough's South Bay. This handsome Victorian building provides 32 en-suite bedrooms, of which 18 enjoy panoramic views of the bay from Scarborough Castle to Cayton. Situated close to the cliff lift we are ideally placed for those who are looking to use the Scarborough Spa complex. We are also a short walk away from the Oliver's Mount Road race circuit. Further afield the Yorkshire coast is ideal for walkers and cyclist alike, with the Cleveland Way and the old coastal railway. Golfers can also enjoy a number of challenging courses, from the links of Filey or South Cliff to the parkland of Ganton. Our small family based team are committed to providing excellent customer service and aim to provide a relaxing base for you to enjoy all that Scarborough and the rest of North Yorkshire have to offer. We take pride in providing high quality, freshly prepared meals using local produce. Furthermore, our new lounge areas give you space to relax and unwind in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Weston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing