We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Weston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a lovely suprise as soon as you walk into the weston you get a friendly welcome. we had a seaview room and what a lovely view. The food was totally amazing 3 course of food you would be pushed to get at a 4 star hotel. All the staff work so hard will definately be returning . The cliff lift is opposite to get onto the seafront we opted for walking the long way it was very enjoyable lovely town to walk around . Cant wait to return

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear smithyBirmingham many thanks for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at the Weston and we hope to see you on your next visit to Scarborough.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 540 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have just had our second break this year to the Weston hotel & once again we were treated amazingly, as my Husband is disabled & we have been places where he is frowned upon the Wonderful family owners & their lovely staff were fab to us especially Gavin my other half.Even the lovely chefs John & Nigel helped me get through the hotel as my steering of a wheelchair is a lot to be desired lol sorry if there are any paint chips :) So needless to say we are already booked for next March & we can't wait thank you again for making our holiday memorable :) :)

Room Tip: The seaview rooms are amazing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen57Skegness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear karen57Skegness we were all thrilled to see you both again and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. See you again in 2014!
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had a group booking of 17 for a long weeekend. All the rooms were seaviews and what fantastic views over the bay. The majority of our group were senior citizens so having the cliff lift almost opposite the hotel came in very handy.
The hotel is going through a programme of upgrading. All our rooms were of a decent size and the bathrooms were modern. There is a lift to all floors.
We only paid 42.00 per person per night for B&B and evening meal. To be honest we weren't expecting too much of the dinner for the price. What a lovely surprise all the meals were excellent or 'spot-on' was the most use comment. Plenty of choice for each of the three courses. Food well presented and the staff can only be described as marvellous. Despite being very busy they always offered a very high standard of service with a smile and always willing to share a joke.
Breakfast as above. Plenty of choice.
The hotel is on the Esplanade above the Spa and is a few minutes walk into town.
There is a large bar area with a well stocked bar and a separate lounge area both taking advantage of the magnificent views.
The hotel is offering a number of offers including Christmas and early spring. If you are planning a break to Scarborough then check out the Weston. No problems recommending a good hotel with cracking staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gingermickw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear gingermickw many thanks for posting a review and for giving us top marks. We are glad the party enjoyed their time in Scarborough and perhaps we will see you in the future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed at this hotel and we weren't disappointed. The hotel was very full and so we didn't get a sea view but that was great because when we returned to our room after a day's walkng, we had the afternoon sun. The room has been refurbished to a very high standard and the one problem we had with the toilet seat was dealt with immediately. The staff are all lovely and the service in a very busy dining room was excellent. The chef made me special gluten free meals and all the food was delicious. We had three great nights there and the special offer was excellent value.

Room Tip: Our attic room on the third floor had the afternon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueandian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear sueandian8 many thanks for giving us the full 5 marks following your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and hopefully we will see you back in the near future.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife & I visit Scarborough & the surrounding area annually & found hotel accommodation including an evening meal no problem to some 5 years back when like a mexican wave they decided in the majority to just offer B&B accommodation. There are eating places in Scarborough but not to the extent they make out & after being out for the day it isn't pleasurable walking round trying to find somewhere. So for a couple of years we left Scarborough alone but then decided to go through the Hotel's available to see if anyone was still offering an evening meal & we found this Hotel at a then very reasonable rate. This Hotel has obviously become very popular as a result & when I phoned in May to find out the Autumn/Winter rate there was just one double sea view room available at the price this year of £129 per person so we duly booked. Though still good value this was an increase of £50 on last years price taking into account a bottle of wine not being included now on the first night & the receptionist stated in the call that they had become very popular. As this is just an extra holiday to us a visit next year will be determined by the price then. The Hotel is going through a steady progression of upgrade & we found the work still continuing from last year. Our room (19) had had the en-suite upgraded though the bedroom was a work in progress & with only having 2 electric sockets already serving the TV & kettle provided it was a case of swapping plugs through the week's stay & with the new light fixture/shaver socket in the bathroom awaiting replacement my electric shaver as well as the hair dryer, mobile phone charger etc had to be served by these as well. The view from our room was definitely a sea view & the full panorama of Scarborough's bay could be clearly seen & the town is easily within walking distance. The room just had a shower & this was definitely small bijou & with the controls being something out of the star ship Enterprise I was concerned of the water being to hot as there was no room to stand back. The bed was comfortable though the pillows were too hard for my liking but all in all a comfortable room for our weeks (4 night) stay. The food is always well presented & very well served & a good choice of menu is served throughout the week though the sweets menu remains the same there is a good choice to have a different sweet each night. Tea or coffee & mints is also served after the evening meal. A good choice of breakfast items are also offered. One thing that was found when the weather turned very windy towards the end of the week is how draughty sash windows can be & seating in the restaurant & the bar area was found to be very cold as a result, this was also the case in the bedroom. The staff throughout all areas are always friendly & helpful. Parking outside the Hotel is freely available for your stay by a permit being displayed given by the Hotel's. All in all a very good friendly stay is due when staying at this Hotel & we hopefully look forward to returning to it next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Kevin H many thanks for your considered review following your stay at the Weston. We are pleased to note you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel from the 7th-11th October 2013. The refurbished room was excellent, the food was good, and the staff very helpful.
The management team were very professional and experienced ,my wife and i were very impressed with the service provided.
We will certainly be going back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michealbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear michealbradley many thanks for your review and for giving us top marks. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had originally booked a stay in April, but due to illness were unable to go at the last minute - they were very understanding and said that we could carry our deposit over for 6 months. We have just had a lovely 3 nights there with our 94 (nearly 95!) year old Mother and have been well looked after. Our only complaints are that there is no disabled/level access to the front door, and the beds and pillows are rather hard!
However, there was a good choice of food in the evening, and the breakfast were lovely. All the staff are very pleasant, friendly and helpful.
The owners are gradually improving the decor - several rooms had been refurbished, and they have more plans for next year.
We really apprecited having the sea view too. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Be aware that not all rooms can be accessed by the lift, some are on half landings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwenT356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hugh H, Owner at Weston Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear GwenT356 many thanks for your review. We are really delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I am pleased to advise we have a supply of soft foam pillows should you require.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,962 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
947 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hotel

Address: 33-34 Esplanade, Scarborough YO11 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#1 Best Value Hotel in Scarborough
#5 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £68 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weston is located on the prestigious Esplanade, overlooking Scarborough's South Bay. This handsome Victorian building provides 32 en-suite bedrooms, of which 18 enjoy panoramic views of the bay from Scarborough Castle to Cayton. Situated close to the cliff lift we are ideally placed for those who are looking to use the Scarborough Spa complex. We are also a short walk away from the Oliver's Mount Road race circuit. Further afield the Yorkshire coast is ideal for walkers and cyclist alike, with the Cleveland Way and the old coastal railway. Golfers can also enjoy a number of challenging courses, from the links of Filey or South Cliff to the parkland of Ganton. Our small family based team are committed to providing excellent customer service and aim to provide a relaxing base for you to enjoy all that Scarborough and the rest of North Yorkshire have to offer. We take pride in providing high quality, freshly prepared meals using local produce. Furthermore, our new lounge areas give you space to relax and unwind in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Weston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing