We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous new owners”
Review of Weston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Weston Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2010

What a difference the new owners are making to this place. Can't praise them enough for the customer care. Stayed last year but this is like a different hotel. Well done. Can't wait to return with the family.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickofBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

522 - 528 of 530 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

I say this because - it's Scarborough and where is there in England so great for a seaside holiday with everything there or nearby ? Also, because it is an old Edwardian or Victorian build with all kinds of restrictions no doubt, pertaining to planning permission; also, folk wanting ensuite so these are now squeezed into existing rooms. I have stayed three times in all because we used to go as a big family group, next door at the Miramar ( now privately owned apartments - lucky htings). We used to take four apartments so there's an element of nostalgia in going to the Weston - not to mention the fantastic views from the front of the hotel.
We again had a lovely sea view room with a huge sash bay window. The room is irritating because of it's layout and the bathroom was worse. The lack of size is compounded by the lack of places to put things down. A few shelves and hooks ( and more plugs ) would help enormously. Putting cases on top of the wardrobe provoked a flurry of dust but otherwise clean with towels and bedding changed regularly. The hotel has recently changed hands and the new owners seem to have plans to improve but this will be when the season is over. They seemed slightly overwhelmed by it all. The place was heaving with returning fans of the place, mostly elderly people having a whale of a time. The dining room at breakfast was the noisiest and liveliest I have been in since school dinners. There was a rather severe young woman who seemed to be the dining room manager - she wore a suit and was a trifle scary. We were there on a b and b basis so I cannot speak for dinner. Breakfast was at 8.30 full stop and when on our first morning, we turned up at 9.10, it was what was left over and cool. Hence a queue waiting to enter the closed dining room every morning, which was a bit Hi De Hi ! Porridge was excellent. Toast is industrial white unless you ask for brown. Tea good old Yorkshire strength. At £35.00 per person and looking at reviews for swisher-looking Ambassador just a few yards up the Esplanade, it is probably good value. The public rooms need a good seeing to as the bar and lounge are dreary beyond belief. I say good luck to the owners - I can't see they have an easy task but they have a prime position in a great town.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenMabW_Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This hotel is under new ownership so sometime will have to be allowed for them to put their 'stamp' on it. The room we stayed in was looking a little tired but clean and adequate. The meals were traditional 'no nonsense' fare (much to our personal taste). The staff are friendly and efficient. The layout of the entertainment area is less than ideal with the bar and lounge somewhat adjacent , making it difficult for the entertainer to re-act with the audience. The hotel is facing the sea so the views are excellelant however, I think the extra £12pppn is a little to high for the privilige.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank YorkshireCatnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

I an 67 my new wife 68, we were on our honeymoon and were treated like royalty, Staff excelent , food excelent, room perfect, cant wait to stay again

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerryMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

We booked this hotel after looking at website and reviews however we were disappointed when we arrived. The hotel was shabby and run down inside, the single member of our party was put in a gloomy, cupboard-like basement room. The same peopel own the Redlea Hotel over the road, we moved there. Its far better.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
Thank MissBugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2008

My husband and I visitied the Weston last week with my elderly disabled Father In Law. The Hotel is in a nice quiet position with lovely sea views. Parking was easy especially with Dad walking with 2 crutches, a parking permit was provided for our stay and we managed to park just outside the front door every day. Both our rooms were pleasant, bright and well equiped with nice bathrooms. The food was excellent and service quick. The owners and staff were exceptionally friendly, and I was most impressed how the lady working behind the bar gave her free moments to sit and have a chat with one elderly lady who was visiting alone. I thought that was a nice touch and should make anyone holidaying alone feel they would be welcomed here.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Marge079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

I have now been to this hotel 8 times in the past 2 years - with another trip booked in Feb.

The friendliest hotel i have ever visited.

Nothing fancy - but feels like home ( many say its now my second home)

All the staff are hepful, nothing too much trouble.

A great family hotel, or for someone travelling alone ( as i was on my very first visit)

My 13 year old daughter also loves it to.!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DDiamond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
3.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
938 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hotel

Address: 33-34 Esplanade, Scarborough YO11 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Scarborough
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#5 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#7 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: £68 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Weston is located on the prestigious Esplanade, overlooking Scarborough's South Bay. This handsome Victorian building provides 32 en-suite bedrooms, of which 18 enjoy panoramic views of the bay from Scarborough Castle to Cayton. Situated close to the cliff lift we are ideally placed for those who are looking to use the Scarborough Spa complex. We are also a short walk away from the Oliver's Mount Road race circuit. Further afield the Yorkshire coast is ideal for walkers and cyclist alike, with the Cleveland Way and the old coastal railway. Golfers can also enjoy a number of challenging courses, from the links of Filey or South Cliff to the parkland of Ganton. Our small family based team are committed to providing excellent customer service and aim to provide a relaxing base for you to enjoy all that Scarborough and the rest of North Yorkshire have to offer. We take pride in providing high quality, freshly prepared meals using local produce. Furthermore, our new lounge areas give you space to relax and unwind in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Weston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing