We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT..”
Review of The Whiteley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Whiteley
Ranked #109 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT..”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

stayed for 1 night after just turning up in Scarborough, found the proprietor VERY helpful and pleasant. Spotlessly clean hotel. The breakfast was beautiful and a good choice. Wouldnt hesitate in returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy19_72_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Returned to the Whiteley Hotel for one night and we were not disappointed. We had a good sized room with sea view. The hotel continues to be very clean and the breakfast set us up for the day. The location is very good and off road parking is available.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meandmybloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed at The Whiteley for one night in August, Had the luxury of a family room, for two us so plenty of room. Found the proprietor very friendly and helpful.This hotel as off road parking which in the hight of summer so helpful. In an ideal location only a 10min walk into the town centre or the seafront. The room was with a sea view. the hotel was very clean and tidy. the only thing to let this hotel down in my opinion was having breakfast served 8.30 till 9.00am. But saying that, it was very good breakfast. This Hotel is at the cheaper end of the market, and very good value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joali54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Turned up in Scarborough, with nowhere booked, looking for three rooms for three couples.Luckily we found the Whiteley Hotel. Very friendly atmosphere, lovely decor, very clean throughout and had a wonderful breakfast.
Will look forward to staying there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avitchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Visited number of times in past few years, several times in a year. Utter excellent food and service. Cleanest hotel I've stayed in. If you look at another hotel in Scarborough you're mad!! Very impressed still

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank captaincookYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We descended on this poor lady on a late friday evening looking for a couple of rooms for the night, she didnt hesitate to offer us the best rooms she had and made us very welcome.She was very helpfull and the rooms were beautifully clean and had everything we needed and more.The decor was lovely and the picture on the brochure was a good representation of the interior of the hotel.
We didnt have lots of rules and regulations thrown at us just helpfull advice.
The following morning we sat down to a lovely breakfast for which we were offered every concievable type of food plus fantastic service and only a short wait for our food, which was excellent.
My friends and myself have stayed at a few places in scarborough over the last few months and this was definitely the best by far.
We loved the hotel so much that we have already booked for may and am sure we will be booking again and again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkerbell0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2009

I stayed in this hotel for two nights and it was cleaner than any 5 star hotel I have ever been in! The service was friendly and although it rained the whole time I was there and our 'sea view' room was marred by fog, I had a brilliant time. The hotel cooks great breakfasts and there is parking outside which is always a bonus. I would definitely reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linsey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#15 of 183 in Scarborough
373 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ainsley Court Guest House
Ainsley Court Guest House
#80 of 183 in Scarborough
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#27 of 183 in Scarborough
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#10 of 183 in Scarborough
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 183 in Scarborough
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whiteley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whiteley

Property: The Whiteley
Address: 99-101 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:4 star — The Whiteley 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run 4 Star AA rated Guest Accommodation offering comfortable bedrooms with en-suite shower rooms and generous home cooked breakfast, using locally sourced produce. We are a Victorian building offering sea view bedrooms, a few minutes walk from Scarborough town centre, Scarborough Castle, the Open Air Theatre, the Alpamare swimming pool, the Sea Life centre, Scarborough Cricket Ground and Peasholm Park. All bedrooms offer tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryers. We have our own car park and offer free Wi-Fi in public areas. We are within easy reach of many English Heritage and National Trust sites, Dalby Forest, the North Yorkshire Moors Railway and Flamingo Land Theme Park and Zoo. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing