We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ticked all our boxes”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mill Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Twin room in Mill Cottage
Views from Murkhead Cottages
Main entrance to Murkhead Holiday Cottages
Front of Mill Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Ticked all our boxes”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Mill Cottage is lovely, set on a farm in Harwood Dale. The cottage ticked all of our boxes and had everything we needed to spend a peaceful, relaxing time. Lots of pretty walks in the vicinity and just a 10 minute drive to Ravenscar - a must for photographers and walkers alike. Highly recommend this cottage and will definitely be going again some time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Kind regards Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek C
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“You Will Love It”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The setting on the Farm is beautiful. The Cottage is of high quality and very relaxing and comfortable. You are located in ready distance to Scarborough, Whitby and Bridlington. Pye and Huxley, the Family Dogs walked with us and are lovely. Joanna the Owner is intent on making sure you have a lovely stay. Winter might need a bit more care when Icy as the roads can be steep. Its great value and you will bot be disappointed. Its a safe haven for Children. Are their any downsides? Being on a farm you will get flies visit. We never got a Mobile Phone signal. WiFi was a bit erratic, though it seemed fixed later in the week.Its a popular place for people to return so book early. Its been a happy week starting the day with brilliant scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything combined to make a great stay
Liked least: Lack of Mobile Phone Signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for you review we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claireabe...
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect secluded cottage, repeat customers couple and family!”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This year was our first at the Mill cottage, two young children in tow, one 4 and the other 3 years, although we as a couple have stayed with Joanna and her wonderful family via the Honeysuckle cottage several times, we simply love it there.

We appreciate the peace and quiet location as well as the secluded and informal style of the self catering option you get with one of Murkhead cottages. Yet its 10, minutes drive from central Scarborough, you literally have everything you need on your doorstep as well as the perfect base to explore the local area.

Positives In a nutshell;
- Stunning peaceful location on a working farm
- Suitable for families and couples
- Total luxury and top noch facilities
- 10 minutes from central Scarborough
- Full stocked supermarket 5 minutes down the road towards town

Joanna ensures that you have all the luxuries from home in your cottage, from a lovely bottle of wine and her delicious cake on arrival to fresh linen, towels and all the quality furnishings you can want, that and the stunning area is what keeps us coming back year after year!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review.
Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaxyj
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect cottage”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The cottage was perfect very spacious very clean has everything you need and more. Extremely quiet location and very private. It was aproximately 15 mins into Scarborough. We will definately be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally M
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We would highly recommend it if you are looking for a peaceful holiday to get away from everything. The scenery is beautiful. We come to scarborough every year and this is by far the nicest location we have stayed in. The only downside is we did not have any reception on our phones which we got used to and didn't really miss them,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: We did not have a reception on our phones, very limited
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2015
Thank you for your kind review and I am glad you enjoyed your time with us. Kind regards Joanna
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing