We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“welcoming”
Review of Lynton Hotel

Lynton Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynton Hotel
Ranked #134 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“welcoming”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed here with my husband for 3 nights and we were very comfortable and the room was a good size. Breakfast was a pleasure to go down to each morning as the choice and freshness of the food was excellent. the hotel was quiet and peaceful and within easy reach of shops etc. The hotel was spotlessly clean and everything we needed was provided for us without us having to ask for anything, would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazcure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights and found it to be very clean and very comfortable. We choose The Lynton because of the very good reviews and were not disappointed. Th e breakfast was first class and plentiful with an excellent choice. I would recommend this place and I will always stay there when in Scarborough,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at the Lynton for one night at the start of July. It is in an ideal location for the Scarborough Cricket ground which was the main reason for our visit. It is also only a short walk to Peasholm Park and the beach.

We received a friendly welcome and our room was ready for us at 12pm allowing us to get to the cricket in plenty of time. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed and great bed linen. The en-suite was small but again very clean. It was a warm day and the windows had been opened for us and the room kept cool.

The B&B has a lounge area for guests and offers DVDs and books to borrow. Breakfast was good with a nice selection of fruit, cereal and cooked food. Although no menu as such so it wasn't clear what cooked breakfast choices were available and it lacked the local touch. Packet jams and processed bread rather than homemade which is a shame. Nice juice and coffee though.

Parking is at the front of the B&B but can get congested, our car was blocked in by two others in the morning. It wasn't an issue as the guests hadn't gone out for the day but you have to hope that someone wouldn't be so inconsiderate as to do that!!! The B&B did offer permits to park on the road too.

Just along from the B&B is a good fish and chip shop and a couple of restaurants.

All in all, very pleasant. Would have been nice to see more local produce being used for breakfast and toiletries. In the best B&B's we have stayed in it's been those touches that would score a 5/5 and the Lynton just lacked slightly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckthechimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Everything you need from a hotel and more. This friendly guest house never fails to come up to the highest standards. Having stayed in MANY Scarborough hotels this is a complete gem. Far beyond the expensive 4 star hotels this couple go out of their way to acheive perfection in all aspects. You won't find a better breakfast in Scarborough, the freshly prepared fruit salad is always available alng with perfectly cooked English fare...One complaint...they may not have a room available as many people know this 'Jewel in Scarborough's crown' we'll be back, again and again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaquivander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This hotel is kept by very friendly house proud owners.Everything in the whole house shows this. Nothing is tired or dated. Rooms have en-suite, complementary toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer, flat screen TV, DVD player, plenty of hanging space and drawers. Also if it is not in your room it is available by just asking, e.g. ironing board. The house has all the amenities you need for a stay in Scarborough, including free books and free DVDs for the times you want to chill in your room, or in the comfortable, inviting lounge. Free wi fi. Also there is a selection of leaflets with things to do in the area should you need ideas. If you need a parking space there are a few on site, or if they are all taken, you are provided with a pass to park on the street for free.
The location of this hotel is ideal, it is a small walk in one direction to the town centre and in the other to the Peasholm area. Also a small walk to beach, theatre, train station, main shops.
So like I say, don't be wasting your time searching for hotels in Scarborough, just book this one, you will be pleased you did.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirecouple001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I was really impressed with the Lynton, the cleanliness, comfort of the bed and superb breakfast was second to none.

Paul and Cheryl went out of their way to help make the stay as nice as possible.
Parking was good too as there is parking on their very own forecourt off a busy road.

It is only a few minutes walk to the North Bay beach and also a short walk into the Town Centre so the location is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip4912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Dining:-Breakfast Lovely when you wake up in the morning you can smell bacon cooking.And the evening meal is definetly worth staying for i do not personally like all the meals but they are still lovely.
Rooms:-Telivision with DVD player also a kettle,biscuts and all the things you need for coffee and tea are refreshed every day.Lovely towels changed every day and so are the duvet and bed sheets The en-suite is lovely with a very good shower and bath.
Staff:-Lovely Mrs.watson is very nice and helpfull whilst Mr.Wtason & Mrs.Watson both make lovely meals.

Please Go to this hotel and find out how good it is for yourself
Also close to the lovely park peasome park.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetriplordoftheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
3.6 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,752 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Hotel

Property: Lynton Hotel
Address: 104 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing