We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless - Very High Standards”
Review of Lynton Hotel

Lynton Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lynton Hotel
Ranked #142 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I have stayed in numerous B and B's and small hotels in Scarborough over the past few years and none compares to the Lynton. Standards could not be higher. Rooms are extremely well appointed and the breakfast is all you could wish for with fresh fruit always available. The Lynton is my only consideration when visiting Scarborough.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

We were made very welcome on arrival and our bikes could be safely stored behind the hotel. The room was very pleasant and clean. The Lynton is very conveniently located for North Bay and Peasholm Park and, as we discovered, for the award winning North Bay Fisheries fish and chip shop, which we can also recommend. The Lynton also only a mile or so from the town centre, railway station and Stephen Joseph Theatre. Breakfast was excellent too with fresh fruit as well as cereal and a good quality cooked breakfast. We'd certainly stay again if in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had a lovely weekend at The Lyton Hotel, it was both friendly and inviting. The room was cosy and extremly comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful with a lovely choice, i particularly enjoyed the yoghurt and fresh fruit. We will definatley stay again, hopefully for a little longer next time.
Helen and Ivor
Stanley,
Co. Durham

Room Tip: We had the room at the very front of the hotel and found it comfortable and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Everything you could want from a guest house: comfortable, clean and caring. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Stayed here with my husband for 3 nights and we were very comfortable and the room was a good size. Breakfast was a pleasure to go down to each morning as the choice and freshness of the food was excellent. the hotel was quiet and peaceful and within easy reach of shops etc. The hotel was spotlessly clean and everything we needed was provided for us without us having to ask for anything, would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mazcure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My daughter and I stayed here for two nights and found it to be very clean and very comfortable. We choose The Lynton because of the very good reviews and were not disappointed. Th e breakfast was first class and plentiful with an excellent choice. I would recommend this place and I will always stay there when in Scarborough,

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at the Lynton for one night at the start of July. It is in an ideal location for the Scarborough Cricket ground which was the main reason for our visit. It is also only a short walk to Peasholm Park and the beach.

We received a friendly welcome and our room was ready for us at 12pm allowing us to get to the cricket in plenty of time. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed and great bed linen. The en-suite was small but again very clean. It was a warm day and the windows had been opened for us and the room kept cool.

The B&B has a lounge area for guests and offers DVDs and books to borrow. Breakfast was good with a nice selection of fruit, cereal and cooked food. Although no menu as such so it wasn't clear what cooked breakfast choices were available and it lacked the local touch. Packet jams and processed bread rather than homemade which is a shame. Nice juice and coffee though.

Parking is at the front of the B&B but can get congested, our car was blocked in by two others in the morning. It wasn't an issue as the guests hadn't gone out for the day but you have to hope that someone wouldn't be so inconsiderate as to do that!!! The B&B did offer permits to park on the road too.

Just along from the B&B is a good fish and chip shop and a couple of restaurants.

All in all, very pleasant. Would have been nice to see more local produce being used for breakfast and toiletries. In the best B&B's we have stayed in it's been those touches that would score a 5/5 and the Lynton just lacked slightly.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chuckthechimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,928 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
168 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Orchard Lodge
Orchard Lodge
#1 of 1 in Flixton
47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Hotel

Address: 104 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lynton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing