We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little gem of a hotel”
Review of Manor Heath Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manor Heath Hotel
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful little gem of a hotel”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We enoyed a lovely weekend at the Manor Heath Hotel. The hotel is small and comfortable with an excellent standard of cleanliness and very good value for money. Ros and Steve were very welcoming. Breakfast was served at our table by very polite and efficient waiting staff , so no fiddly breakfast buffet to contend with. The choice and standard of food was very good. We dined out during the evening so didn't get chance to sample the dinner menu during our two night stay.

We definitely had no complaints and will stay at Manor Heath Hotel again if we get chance to visit Scarborough in the future

Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for reasonably priced, clean accommodation with a warm welcome and relaxed atmosphere.

We Liked : Loads of instantly hot water (provided curtesy of the solar panels on the roof).

We Disliked : Having to leave

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delaine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
It was lovely to meet you both and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our solar panels have been working overtime since you left thanks to the lovely sunny weather we have enjoyed recently - long may it continue! Hope we will see you both again in the future.
Ros and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    24
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
82
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Lovely hotel,don't let the 2 stars put you off.
The location is brilliant. It is spotless and the food is very good.
The staf are very friendly and helpful.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again
if I went back to Scarborough.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Good of you to let others share your opinion of our small hotel - the two stars only reflect the fact that we don't have 24 hour reception, room service etc. as many of the larger hotels do so we cannot be graded any higher. We do try to add as many home comforts as we can. Thank you, again.
Ros and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Have just returned after spending three nights at this superb little hotel, the bedroom was lovely as was the seperate bathroom, the breakfast was first class and the staff and owners absolutely lovely. I would reccommend the manor heath to everybody

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skidnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments - hope you managed to stay awake at work after your early start - such a shame that you couldn't enjoy one last breakfast - next time, perhaps!! Regards Ros and Steve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leek
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Sayed here for 2 nights in May while walking The Cleveland Way trail, Ros and Steve could not have been more welcoming. Lovely quiet location overlooking a park, but within easy walking distance of town centre if needed. The rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean, the beds very comfortable and ample tea and coffee provided. Our hosts were always on hand if needed and were a mine of useful information. Cannot fault the breakfasts and service was first class, heartily recommend Ros and Steve for a great hotel

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petenich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Hope the final stage of the walk went well! Thank you for posting your review on TA - you and your "support crew" were delightful guests and we look forward to seeing you again when you next decide to step out on the Yorkshire Coast.
Ros and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

We had a wonderful time staying at the Manor Heath Hotel.

On arrival we received a lovely personal welcome from Ros, the hotel owner/manager, who gave us plenty of information on what the area had to offer without it being too over the top, and also included our young son making him feel welcome also, especially as he was offered a lollipop. Later that day on returning to the hotel from a quick tour of the area, we were greeted by Steve, the other hotel owner/manager, who again made us feel welcome and advised if we needed anything to give them a shout.

The Family Room we were staying in was of a lovely decor and very spacious for what we needed. The cleanliness of the room was outstanding and remained so for the duration of our stay.

On going down to breakfast in the morning we were greeted warmly by the staff who went out of their way to make us comfortable and see to what we needed, and again their manner with our son was wonderful, making him feel completely at ease with them. He was even given some bread at the end of breakfast to feed the ducks over in Peasholme Park which was directly opposite the hotel.

The quality of the food and the overall decor of the hotel was again fantastic.

Staying at the hotel we were within easy access for wherever we wanted to go and found our way around easily with which the map we were given on arrival helped.

On returning home we received a message from Ros advising that our son had left his pyjamas in the room and offered to return them to us, which we were very grateful for.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel with wonderful staff and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Scarborough area. We have already recommended it to family, friends and colleagues, and we look forward to returning there next time we visit Scarborough for a short break away.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radsimkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
What can we say - except thank you very much for your wonderful comments!! It was lovely to meet you all and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2011

This Hotel is in a good location, it is very good for a 2 star. Great breakfast , evening meals are available and are good value. I would recommend it.The staff were friendly and efficient . There is a small bar and a nice comfy lounge.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimboManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review following your stay. We hope you will come back when you are next in the area. (Hope the op went well!!)
Ros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

My wife and I have been staying at the Manor Heath every Easter weekend for many years now. I would recommend it to anyone as a friendly, clean, well located, family run hotel at a very reasonable price. Steve and Ros always make us most welcome upon our arrival and throughout our stay. The en-suite bathroom was spotlessly clean and the water is always piping hot. Every year we have been there it seems some improvement or other has been made. This time it seemed to us that a new matress had been provided on the bed. Certainly the tv had been replaced by a new flat screen, freeview model. The full English breakfast is superbly cooked and we had just as great a stay as we always do. Archie & Elizabeth

Room Tip: Book early and ask for your favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteknightab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harties, Owner at Manor Heath Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2011
It was a lovely surprise to see your review on TA and we really appreciate your positive comments. You are right, we have renewed many of the mattresses and all the televisions since your last stay. We have also replaced the old solar panels with a new evacuated tube system which certainly gives a boost to the hot water supply when it is sunny! We have a rolling programme of refurbishment and it is great to hear that our regular guests appreciate it. Looking forward to seeing you next year, if not before.
Ros and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
857 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,836 reviews
1.1 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#20 of 28 in Scarborough
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.9 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
581 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor Heath Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Heath Hotel

Property: Manor Heath Hotel
Address: 67 Northstead Manor Drive, Scarborough YO12 6AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Manor Heath Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor Heath is a detached, licensed property situated in a prime location minutes from North Bay's golden sands. Front-facing rooms have delightful views across Peasholm Park towards the sea. All accommodation boasts en-suite facilities, tea/coffee making equipment, flatscreen televisions and hairdryers. Family-run, we focus on offering a personal service where good food and cleanliness feature high on our list of priorities.Whether you just want to enjoy a short break away from the bustle of city life or a longer holiday exploring the delights of the Yorkshire Coast, The Manor Heath Hotel is the ideal haven to relax and unwind. Call us for a chat to discuss your needs and we will try to make your stay a memorable one! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing