We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Cottage and enclosed garden area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cottage and enclosed garden area
kitchen bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Front of Cottage and enclosed garden area
kitchen
bedroom
living/dining room
living room/dining room
shower room
View towards Silpho
stunning views
enclosed front garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
linda0117...
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Location”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just returned home after a 4 night stay. Excellent accommodation superior views. Was a lovely welcome by Ruth with tea and coffee and fresh milk for a cuppa as we arrived.

Visited some lovely places and plenty of walks whilst we were there. Until the next time? If you want to go back to how the pace of life should be this is a place to visit

Thank you Ruth for your hospitality
Linda & Neil

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Liked least: break not long enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Thank you Linda it was a pleasure. Would love to see you both again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart D
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“well worth it”
Reviewed 25 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

very friendly and welcoming, very helpful when i had car problems. nice little touches, tea bags, soap, even a fresh bottle of milk.
lovely compact cottage with staggering views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the scenery
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent rural location”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely warm welcome from Ruth. Very compact and comfortable cottage and extremely dog friendly with an excellent enclosed space for dogs to explore.
We enjoyed lots of great walks and visiting surrounding area.
One downside was not efficient heating on colder days. We had a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Heating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
remieu
Issy-l'Eveque, France
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage in a superb setting”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We were greeted by Ruth the owner of Curly Tailed Cottage who introduced us to our accommodation, and it lived uo to our expectations. Beautifully decorated, well appointed for walking the Moors and exploring the North Yorkshire coast, Scarborough, Robin Hood Bay, Whitby etc. Our New Year break in this lovely part of the world and in this lovely cottage really helped us recharge our batteries and introduced us in a great way to 2016. We would love to return again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2016
Thank you, I am really glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you again too.
Kind regards
Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayandVic...
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
“Moorland break - excellent location.”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Ideal for two, and we enjoyed our stay very much. Lovely views out over the dale, and a quiet location adjoining a farmhouse and fields. Accommodation was 'snug' but very good, well equipped, warm and well maintained in very good condition. There was no mobile 'phone or internet reception available which was a little disappointing but easy to live with once we got used to the idea!
Convenient for the moors, Whitby and Scarborough and we enjoyed revisiting haunts from the past. You do need to be 'slim' to be able to use the washbasin in the showerroom - but we managed and this wasn't a problem for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, comfort and views.
Liked least: A little 'snug'. we'd have liked a little more space.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crabbers7...
1 review
“Lovely quaint cottage with great facilities”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful cottage with lovely views. Perhaps a little far away from everything for us. But in a fabulous spot for peace and quiet.
Ruth was very helpful and informative.
The cottage had everything you could possibly need.
Great walks nearby, our dog loved it as much as we did.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken W
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, peaceful with stunning scenery.”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Excellently equipped and furnished to a very high standard. Lovely and quiet surroundings with lovely views of the North Yorks scenery. Many thanks to Ruth for letting us 'borrow' this beautifully converted apartment. If anyone wants a relaxing holiday, this has it all and more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort, ease of access and location.
Liked least: bit mof a squeeze to reach trhe bathroon sink. wifi we can live without for a week!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing