We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, enjoyable night”
Review of The Almar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Almar
Ranked #6 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We booked on the spur of the moment and could only get the "small double" but we needn't have worried it was plenty big enough for a couple and like the rest of the place, was spotlessly clean.
We had a great evening in the bar with the hosts - Jamie & Joel (we unfortunately didn't get to meet Michelle) and it was a nice relaxing end to our day in Scarborough.
Breakfast, cooked by Joel, was absolutely delicious.
We will definitely be going again and have no hesitation in recommending "The Almar" to anyone visiting the resort.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davecl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

We chose the small double room because we were on a budget. We stayed at the Almar for seven nights, and we found the room to be practical, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, and the breakfast room was bright and cheerful. Jamie, Joel, and Michelle were all very gracious, and made us feel quite welcome. Scarborough was my grandfather's home, and I was very much looking forward to spending time in the place that I had heard so much about as a child. The staff took the time to help us locate pertinent family sites, arranged transportation as needed, and gave us suggestions about interesting places beyond Scarborough. We were able to walk everywhere including the beaches, the city centre, and the train station. This was my first trip to the UK, and my husband and are already talking about returning for future holidays in Scarborough.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Jamie was a first rate host, playing Elvis music at breakfast after finding out we love the music. Joel's full English was delicious! A night spent in the bar putying the World to rights with the hosts was a brilliant end to a lovely day around Scarborough. Our room was lovely and clean with everything we'd need for our stay. It really was a shame to say goodbye but I know we will be making a return visit and look forward to a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nananski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

ME AND MICK HAD A FAB TIME! The Almar is great,breakfast was delicious Joel,jamie & mIchelle were very friendly,hoping to go back next year with our family

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jacqueline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

What a fantastic stay we had at the almar recently, great location easily accessible to town and the restaurants.
The hotel was very welcoming , breakfast was delicious and the recommendations made by Joel, Jamie & Michelle on places to visit and eat were spot on.
We will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

These three ambitious young people are working so hard to improve the property and facilities as quickly as they can, but it is their personalities and welcome that really made our stay so enjoyable. We would stay again and recommend others to visit!

Room Tip: Ask for their latest refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Went to Scarborough for a 1 day stopover from Manchester with my wife on Monday 2nd April 2012 and was more than happy with the Almar Hotel. The hotel staff are very helpful and the rooms are extremely clean and tidy (unlike many hotels we've stayed in). The owners go out of their way to make sure your stay is a pleasant one whether it be advise on where to go within the town or even whether you'd like brown or white toast with your breakfast in the morning, they go the extra mile. It's rare i comment on hotels but this hotel deserves all the plaudits it gets.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manchester402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 183 in Scarborough
845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#16 of 183 in Scarborough
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 183 in Scarborough
992 reviews
0 mi away
The Beaches
The Beaches
#4 of 183 in Scarborough
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 183 in Scarborough
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Almar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Almar

Address: 116 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £49 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Almar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone’s idea of the perfect break is different….Whatever you are looking for though, you'll find it all here at The Almar. Our aim is to provide the perfect base where you can experience all that Scarborough has to offer, as well as all of the other numerous attractions of the North Yorkshire coast. We are located in the popular Columbus Ravine area which is very convenient for the North Bay attractions as Peasholm Park, the North Bay beaches and the Scarborough Open Air Theatre are all only a 5 minute stroll away. The entire guest house is tastefully decorated with well appointed en suite rooms. Whether you are with us for a short stay or a longer break, we are sure that you will enjoy an extremely comfortable time with us. With a warm and friendly family atmosphere, we welcome single travellers, couples, families and groups of friends alike and always ensure that everyone considers The Almar to be a real home from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Almar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Almar Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing