We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Almar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Almar
Ranked #6 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Third Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just back from our 3rd visit to this lovely little hotel, this time the reason for our visit was for the Status Quo Concert. The hotel as always was spotless, breakfast superb and Jamie and Michelle really do go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable. Michelle provided us with rain poncho's for the concert 'just in case' thankfully we did not need them but really appreciated Michelle's thoughtfulness. I have no hesitation in recommended The Almar to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    36
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
95
294
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Just got back from staying 2 nights here, great location and very very clean. Jamie was very welcoming and served an amazing full English. If you are thinking of a short break in Scarborough please book here. Close to Peasholme park 2 min walk...Great little bar at the Almar.....We will be back soon x

Room Tip: Room 5 was cosy and up top for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I have just had a short break at The Almar, it is a nice clean quest house owned and run by lovely people. There are nice little extras like tissues a hair dryer, iron and an ironing board. If you want to go further afield it is well placed for Whitby, The Dalby Forrest and the beautiful North Yorkshire moors. Thankyou Jamie and Michelle for making us feel welcome, your breakfasts are awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

As a regular visitor to Scarborough over the last 20 years to walk the coastal paths that make up the Cleveland Way I dropped on the Almar about 5 years ago & now would never stay anywhere else. The place is simply superb - its spick and span from top to bottom and the breakfast is simply the best ever. Jamie and MIchelle are the perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble for them. There is 3 parking spaces to the front of the hotel and road side parking is available to the front on the main road & while I come at various times of the year I have never not been able to park in what I consider to be a safe enviroment. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkymike47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

have stayed at the almar for 2 years now on a weekly basis 3 to 4 nights. Dread when Jamie and michelle fully booked in summer months with their regulars who return year after year. Ive stayed in some very grand popular hotels in scarborough and none of them a match on the almar.
Jamie and michelle are a very friendly couple and nothing is ever too much trouble for them.
the rooms are spotless and fresh towels laid out daily.Full english breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Have stayed in all rooms now. All spotless and modernly decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just returned from a 5 day break at the Almar, fantastic! Best breakfast ever, could not fault it at all. Big thank you to Jamie, Michelle and Naomi who couldn't do enough for us during our stay. Jamie, you would make an amazing tour guide for Scarborough, you told us everything we needed to know about the place, where to go, what to do and the best places to eat and the best pubs of course. The Almar is situated on the North Bay and is literally just around the corner from the fabulous Peasholme Park. The rooms at the Almar are spotless and I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. Keep up the good work guys and we hope to see you again in the not to distant future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just stayed at the ALMAR again second time this year Jamie and Michelle make me very welcome,lovley rooms,excellent breakfast.Would not stay any where else in scarborough.Also handy for every where.Jamie always knows good eating places and is willing to get info for you.

Room Tip: All really good I have stayed in about 5 of the rooms over time
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#4 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Almar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Almar

Property: The Almar
Address: 116 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Almar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everyone’s idea of the perfect break is different….Whatever you are looking for though, you'll find it all here at The Almar. Our aim is to provide the perfect base where you can experience all that Scarborough has to offer, as well as all of the other numerous attractions of the North Yorkshire coast. We are located in the popular Columbus Ravine area which is very convenient for the North Bay attractions as Peasholm Park, the North Bay beaches and the Scarborough Open Air Theatre are all only a 5 minute stroll away. The entire guest house is tastefully decorated with well appointed en suite rooms. Whether you are with us for a short stay or a longer break, we are sure that you will enjoy an extremely comfortable time with us. With a warm and friendly family atmosphere, we welcome single travellers, couples, families and groups of friends alike and always ensure that everyone considers The Almar to be a real home from home! As the new owner of The Almar my aim is to continually improve the quality and facilities of the 3* guest house. With this in mind The Almar Beauty will be introduced during the summer for the convenience of all our future guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Almar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Almar Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing