We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hillcrest

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Hillcrest
Ranked #73 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
sheffield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to stay - excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Welcome was warm, friendly and helpful, nice size room with a double and a single bed in. It was clean and airy overlooking the top of the park. Plenty of drawer and wardrobe space, which is always good. Excellent breakfast - cooked to perfection one of the best.

Location meant you were a walk away from everything - lovely and quiet at night which meant a good nights sleep.

It's a long time since we stayed in Scarborough - so glad we happen to choose this hotel, it meant we had a perfect weekend. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ohdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
24
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Excellent accomodation, very clean & freindly staff. Would reccomend to family & freinds, and would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

I stayed at the Hillcrest for just 2 nights but wish that it had been more. From the moment I arrived the hosts Lynn and Tony were cheery and welcoming. My room with en-suite facilities, was large, bright, airy and newly decorated having the benefit of a double and single bed each being adorned with sumptuous bedding. The room and en-suite facilities were immaculately clean and with the added advantage of fluffy towels and a variety of complimentary soaps, shampoo and body wash liquids. A hairdryer is provided so no need to bring your own! TV/DVD and drinks tray made the stay extra homely.
Breakfast was delicious, cooked to order so fresh and tasty.
Don't waste your time looking for a better place to stay because you won't find one! A home from home family run guest house, in close proximity to parks, activity centres and main tourist attractions. I will be back!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Im a regular traveller to Scarborough and after staying in a few horrible hotels i stumbled across Hillcrest Hotel and now will not stay anywhere else! The owners, Lynn and Tony, are fabulous hosts always friendly and accommodating.

The room i stayed in had a lovely en-suite and was very spacious, everything was spotlessly clean and well kept. Never had any issue with noise. Breakfast and dinner are always freshly prepared and delicious.

Genuinely cannot find fault with this place. 5minutes walk from the beach, 2minutes to peasholm park. I really do recommend staying here its lovely!

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet and homely and have lovely newly refurbished en-suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 332_harry_332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife & I spent two nights at Hillcrest Hotel. It was a last minute booking,Tony & Lynn could not have been more accommodating. From the first greeting on our arrival we were made to feel welcome & nothing was a problem.

Our double room with on-suite was spotless & tastefully decorated, complementary tea & coffee facilities were provided.


The hearty breakfast was made to order & good choice was available. I would definitely recommend the full English; my wife took the lighter option & was very happy with the selection available.

Out time in the Hillcrest was a breath of fresh air after our previous experiences in sole less large chain Inns. The personal touch for us from now on good luck for the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnMiltonKeyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This is the second time my husband and myself have stayed at the Hillcrest. The rooms are excellent, very cosy and clean. Breakfast is brill, cooked to order. Nothing is to much trouble for the hosts Tony and Lynn who are very friendly and welcoming. Returning in July for another week.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a bath which is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I can truthfully say excellent all round hotel. The owners were just first class and would like to wish them the best for the season ahead and the future.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queuein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#14 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#31 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#6 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hillcrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hillcrest

Property: The Hillcrest
Address: 2 Peasholm Avenue, Scarborough YO12 7NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hillcrest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hillcrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing