We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”
Review of The Hillcrest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hillcrest
Ranked #78 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Knaresborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A good experience”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed at the Hillcrest Hotel again while on business in Scarborough. It must be at least twelve times I have stayed here now either as a sole traveller or with a work colleague. The rooms are always clean and well presented. Tony and Lynn were friendly and welcoming as usual. Breakfast was great. A good experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
26
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Enjoyed our stay here, perfect location close to the park and sea front, plenty of spaces to park, nice clean comfortable room and bathroom, delicious freshly cooked breakfast, great place ran by a lovely friendly helpful couple, they even stored our bikes as we didn't want to leave them in the car over night. Good value and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jodies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

we had unexpected circumstances while in Scarborough, which ended in a stay at The Hill-crest, wow what a delite, Every thing was so upmarket could not believe the value for the price we paid. Our hosts Mr and Mrs Elliott, were an exception, always a cheery smile no matter what kind of a day they were having, nothing at all was any problem for them.

The meals were 5 star looking at the egg yolks I thought the chickens must be in the back yard,,
and the Hotel its self was excellent could not fault it every thing top class I would rate this Hotel 4 star for sure All the Best for 2012 Cathy n Joe

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Just return from another great week at the Hillcrest. Tony and Lynn are always welcoming, nothing is to much trouble. Our room was ready when we arrived (which was before the time expected). The hotel is very clean throughout, food is outstanding and freshly cooked, You wont go far wrong staying at this hotel. Thanks Tony and Lynn you were great hosts as usual, you always make our holidays special.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Lovely b & b. Booked at the last minute when it looked like the weather was going to be decent. Very friendly and helpful. 2 minutes from peasholme. We were on the top floor and booked a twin room but were pleasantly surprised that there was a double and single bed. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. We did find the shower room a bit small though. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni-Barnsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

this is a little haven of tranquility i was greeted by owners tony and lynne who were in the garden when i arrived i had booked room 3 however was given the choice of 3 or 5 room 5 had a view so i took that also my luggage was whisked off me to my room
the room was light airy and spotleesly clean all the usual amenities tea coffee tv dvd and en suite plenty of space for clothes etc
breakfast was one of the best ive ever had the egggyolks were so bright orange you needed sunglasses definitly free range
as i was leaving i mentioned to tony that i had to go to the castle to collect some things i had purchased he promptly handed me a parking disc thats service for you and as for location well its a 10 minute walk into town centre or 20 if you go via north bay right by peasholm park for the naval battles etc
a definite return for me when im next in North Yorkshire Tony and Lynne were exceptional hosts

Room Tip: dont think theres anything you can say just excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveywavey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Welcome was warm, friendly and helpful, nice size room with a double and a single bed in. It was clean and airy overlooking the top of the park. Plenty of drawer and wardrobe space, which is always good. Excellent breakfast - cooked to perfection one of the best.

Location meant you were a walk away from everything - lovely and quiet at night which meant a good nights sleep.

It's a long time since we stayed in Scarborough - so glad we happen to choose this hotel, it meant we had a perfect weekend. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
Manor Heath Hotel
Manor Heath Hotel
#13 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.7 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#32 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Almar
The Almar
#6 of 183 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Headlands Hotel
The Headlands Hotel
#9 of 183 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hillcrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hillcrest

Property: The Hillcrest
Address: 2 Peasholm Avenue, Scarborough YO12 7NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hillcrest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your The Hillcrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing