We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in fantastic position”
Review of The Hillcrest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hillcrest
Ranked #75 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Just returned from a 3-night break at the Hillcrest. As other reviewers noted, Tony and Lynne were very welcoming and pleasant people. They let us use their parking on site which helped as our group consisted of a 5-year old and an autistic 27-year old. The rooms were fine apart from one day the beds were not made when we returned and the refreshment tray had not been replenished. For information, the shower room in the family room on the 2nd floor was cramped. Also, the beds were really comfortable with lovely bedding. However the breakfasts were really good and I complimented Lynne at the time. The location is brilliant, so close to Peasehome Park and the north bay beach. Overall a very good hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Betty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed here a few weeks ago for one night with my husband, our first impressions were that the Bed & Breakfast is very clean & tidy the owners very friendly & helpful with a warm welcome. We were shown to our room which was very nice & tidy with everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable & was in a nice quiet area with a very small walk to Peasholm park which was a lovely big boating lake. The staff really couldn't do enough for you, we were asked in advance what we'd like for breakfast & they even sent their son out to the shop as we asked for mushrooms (think it maybe a more northern thing) which was really kind. Nice choice of cereals and juices too & nice coffee served at the table. We have no complaints whatsoever as our 1 night stay was lovely. The main part of Scarborough was a fair walk but fine with us as it is a nice scenic walk on the sea front& there's a bus close by & very good taxi services if required for the less active.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank November S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The service Lynn and Tony provided was excellent. As soon as we arrived they were very helpful on settling us in and ensuring we were comfortable. Also they pointed out some handy information about Scarborough. The room was neat, tidy and comfortable and the shower was excellent with hot water instantly available. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay,also the location is peaceful, with Peasholm park about two minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James1rw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

last minute booking for 1 night for my husband at hillcrest hotel on 13th april 2013, after ashburton b&b overbooked his room. On arrival the the propiertors made him feel very welcome.
His room was very comfortable and well decortated. The hotel is well situated near peasholm park , very quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was lovely, in all a great experience. My husband was so impressed that he is looking to take me there, cant wait.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisemcfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn E, Owner at The Hillcrest, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are very pleased your husband enjoyed his stay and hope to see you both in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just had the one night in Scarborough on our way further north. Lovely clean modern room and a fantastic friendly welcome from Tony and Lynn. Delicious breakfast to boot!
I would happily stay again or recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyd68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed at the Hillcrest Hotel again while on business in Scarborough. It must be at least twelve times I have stayed here now either as a sole traveller or with a work colleague. The rooms are always clean and well presented. Tony and Lynn were friendly and welcoming as usual. Breakfast was great. A good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Enjoyed our stay here, perfect location close to the park and sea front, plenty of spaces to park, nice clean comfortable room and bathroom, delicious freshly cooked breakfast, great place ran by a lovely friendly helpful couple, they even stored our bikes as we didn't want to leave them in the car over night. Good value and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jodies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,267 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Meltham Guesthouse
The Meltham Guesthouse
#55 of 184 in Scarborough
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ainsley Court Guest House
Ainsley Court Guest House
#82 of 184 in Scarborough
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gordon Hotel
Gordon Hotel
#43 of 184 in Scarborough
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Marina
Villa Marina
#40 of 184 in Scarborough
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Beaches
The Beaches
#7 of 184 in Scarborough
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hillcrest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hillcrest

Address: 2 Peasholm Avenue, Scarborough YO12 7NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £65 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hillcrest 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your The Hillcrest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing