We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very clean and the cottage was very cosy”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Liz P
1 review
“Very clean and the cottage was very cosy”
Reviewed 24 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Very close to Scarborough and very nice area good local shop close by and also good walks if you have a dog.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine G
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Really lovely cottage spoilt by the road noise”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage, I would say home from home, there was everything you needed there, even to DVD's and games. Lovely and clean with a good sized bathroom. The cottage was very handy for Scarborough, Whitby and Filey, as we took our two small dogs with us to give them a treat to the beaches. The only downside for us was the noise from the road, which was about 3 metres away from the front door, and a very busy road. Pets are welcome to the cottage but in my opinion wouldn't take a dog again, as we were worried they would get out as there was no garden to speak of just a parking area. We would also suggest you reverse into the parking space as it can be difficult to get out onto the main road.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy feel of the cottage
Liked least: the very busy road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michaela...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cozy little cottage, perfect base”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here for 4 nights in late October, it's a lovely little place with everything you could possibly need. The highlights for us was the open fire, and the very comfortable mattress. The cottage is almost directly opposite The Peacock pub, very friendly pub, offering meals, they also allowed our dogs in. A bit further up the road is The coachman inn, again very friendly and wonderful food, the steak and ale pie was delicious. The cottage is a great base, we visited Thornton Dale, Dalby Forest, Whitby, Filey, Scarborough, Thirsk and Bridlington. It was a great break, and we'd love to return in the future. The only slight negative for us was not having a garden for our dogs, but there is a lane just opposite that takes you off amongst the fields, this was great for our dogs.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open fire and the memory foam mattress
Liked least: no secure garden for our dogs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B
1 review
“CUTE AND COSILY COMFORTABLE”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We would happily return to this cosy cottage. It was clean and comfortable and the bathroom upgrade is a delight. Parking right outside the front door is useful, but I would recommend backing into the space for greater safety on exit as the property is on a main road. The traffic noise was not a problem. The cottage location is great for a jaunt to Scarborough and I can thoroughly recommend a trip to Pickering for the North Yorkshire Moors Railway. Why are steam trains so romantic?! The only minor gripes would be why no battery in the mantle clock, and a small welcome pack of, say, fresh milk, bread and biscuits would not go amiss. As an aside for any fellow woodturners, do visit Snainton Woodworking Supplies which are barely five minutes away in the car. They have a wonderful selection of wood blanks!

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, main road notwithstanding, and four poster bed.
Liked least: Banal, but lack of battery in a clock?!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family trip away ”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

From 15/07/16. 17/07/16

Wot a lovely cottage it's so nice and clean lovely bathroom and kitchen pub over road fish and chip shop 4 houses up paper shop 5 houses down wot more could you ask for my wife and daughter love it so thinking of coming again next year and not for from the beach and the people round here are nice and kind

Date of stay: July 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jarcar123...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location for visiting yorkshire”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Cottage lovely and cosy stayed for five days ideal base for visiting local areas. Concerned about previous remarks about noisey traffic but as out all day not a problem fish and chips down the road lovely worth a visit favourite place was Whitby definitely worth a visit very enjoyable . Cottage in lovely area owner very nice and friendly .

Date of stay: June 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mldefusco
Rothwell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little cottage, perfect for four.”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely place, pretty village, pub across the road is a great bonus, and has started to serve food from Thurs - Sun, we didn't get to eat as left on the Friday but it looked lovely! Chippy up road, (that's my best Yorkshire accent) was delicious - proper sea side chips too.
Fabulous location as a short drive from everywhere. Don't be fooled by sun in the village and think it will be sunny by the coast....because it wont be. Good North Sea air.....Take a coat, hat, gloves and scarf, because you'll need them even in summer.
The property is on a very busy road, but we knew this prior to booking and the windows are double glazed, and when closed you can hardly hear a car or the thundering lorries, despite how busy it was we did not have any issues pulling into or off of the drive. The only slightly negative I would say is that the outside area is on the drive, in full view of the road, so don't expect to have a bbq or a quiet glass of wine in the evening sun. The property was very well equipped, including games and DVD's. bedding and beds were comfy and clean and the towels provided were the nicest, fluffiest and thick, I've ever used in a holiday let environment. Owner was very helpful and instructions for arrival and directions were perfect. All in all - Great value and lovely cottage.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: no outside space
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.