We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Superb.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Batty Barn

Outside view of the cottage from the farm yard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outside view of the cottage from the farm yard.
Outside View Spacious kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Outside view of the cottage from the farm yard.
Outside View
Spacious kitchen
Lounge
Twin bedroom
Plenty of room for a travel cot in either bedroom
Views from the yard.
View over the dale.
Shared play area for children
trampoline and playarea. Free range chickens!
Yet more stunning views.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave D
2 reviews
“Simply Superb.”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

What a great place. My partner, my two daughters and myself had a great time staying here in Batty Barn. A lovely cottage in a beautiful location and friendly, helpful owners to boot. I almost wanted to keep quiet about it and make it our little secret but it just wouldn't be fair. Thanks for a wonderful break.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Christmas break”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights over Xmas and loved it. A Christmas tree had been put in which was a nice touch. The area is very peaceful and scenic. Excellent amenities available. Close to Scarborough, Whitby and robin hoods bay for nice days out at the seaside. Would definitely recommend and the only thing I would do differently is stay for longer next time! Thanks for a fab Xmas getaway :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_angela_r...
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant cottage, excellent surroundings”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a lovely cottage, everything that you could possibly need for a week away, very well equipped. We only wish that we had booked a second week. The best bed that we had slept in on holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dizzyheat...
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Home from home ”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This cottage is a lovely place to stay! It has everything you need, no matter how long you are there for. The owners Phill and Angie are lovely helpful people, and are on hand to help with anything you need but are not obtrusive. I stayed here for 5 weeks whilst house hunting and I loved my stay. If you want a place in the country to stay, on a working farm, this is definitely the place for you. Highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lazydaysS...
Staffordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Batty Barn”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cosy cottage, nice it was dog friendly, close to Scarborough but road was closed while we were there D tour was an extra 20 mins but this was not the owners fault ,nice touch for the owner to bring us fruit & eggs,beds were comfy,loved the dressing table in twin bedroom, we were lucky the weather was kind to us for Nov once the early fog lifted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Able to take our dog & plenty of space.
Liked least: Longer trip to Scarborough due to road closure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt C
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home from home !!”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We would recommend Batty Barn to anyone !

Had a great stay here in May 2015, it really is a home from home. All the facility's you may need are there, the place is immaculate and spotless. There is two bed rooms, a double bed in one & two singles in the other.

The kitchen is large enough for two people cooking and there is a table in the conservatory for dining.

The living room is very comfy too.

It is situated about 10 mins easy drive from Scarborough with plenty of small supermarkets in the area too.

A great stay all in all & we would stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort
Liked least: nothing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenneth H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing, lovely countryside, brilliant accomodation”
Reviewed 5 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

WE stayed at Batty Barn for nearly 4 weeks. We wanted a stress free environment after selling our house. What a gem we found. The converted barn was full of character and charm and so tastefully decorated we were at home from the minute we entered. We also has the addition of free wi-fi so this was a bonus for us. The kitchen was fully fitted and had every convenience anyone could wish for. Batty Barn is on a working farm and we were able to feel part of the farm. It brought home the amount of hours Phil, Angie and staff put in looking after the upkeep of the farm and the animals wellbeing. WE can honestly say we did not want to leave and could have stayed another 4 weeks. Angie takes great pride in the cottages and it was our pleasure to meet both Phil and angie, nothing was too much trouble for them and our comfort was very important to them. A lovely welcome pack of fresh fruit and fresh eggs started our stay off to a truly wonderful experience at Batty Barn

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it surpassed our expectations, good location for visiting areas of interest. Whitby Scarborough
Liked least: N/A to our stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing