We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely House, Great Location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
isbister1
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely House, Great Location”
Reviewed 24 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We (4 adults and 2 children) stayed here for a week at the end of June into July, and had a lovely holiday. The house was very comfortable - enough bedrooms, bathrooms and space for us all to fit in well. There was a nice big table in the kitchen which we used for a jigsaw, as well as for eating the fish and chips from the local chip shop (only a few minutes away), and the kitchen was well-equipped with everything we needed for the occasional burst of cooking - mainly breakfast pancakes for the kids, or a microwaved meal. The dishwasher was very practical and a good size, and while we only used the washing machine once, it was useful to have.

The living room was very comfortable and the TV had a dvd/blu-ray player, and a selection of films - very useful for entertainment in the evenings, although we'd brought some of our own too. The wi-fi (which had a good, strong signal) was particularly appreciated by the children, who are keen minecrafters and like playing online together, and it was also practical for finding out what was on in Scarborough and getting reduced price tickets for the Sea Life Centre.

One bedroom has a wall-mounted TV which suited the member of our party who likes watching her soap operas, and since the rest of us aren't keen, she was able to watch in peace while a film was on in the living room; everyone was kept happy.

We all found the beds and pillows very comfortable, and the high-quality cotton bed linen was great, as were the towels supplied. We also all loved the shower in the wet room. In short, we were very happy with it, and were extremely comfortable.

We very much enjoyed the outside garden area. While the weather wasn't quite good enough for us to sit outside with a G&T every evening, we were able to do so a few times, and it was lovely. The plants are very nice and the gates ensure a real sense of privacy. There was plenty of room for two cars as well, which was a bonus - no trying to remember to put out the parking permits in time.

The house is in a lovely location, only 5 minutes walk (if that) from the main road with Sainsbury's, the chip shop, a pizza takeaway, a pub, several cafés, and pretty much everything you need. It's only about ten minutes on foot from the cliff lift down to the Victorian Spa on the South Bay. We bought our weekly passes on the first day and got our money's worth going up and down. It's a daily delight not to have to climb up the stairs to the top! Similarly, it's only about 15 minutes to the main shopping street on foot across the bridge. And of course the children wanted to go to the amusements after dinner; with a cliff lift pass, not a problem.

We had a great holiday, and are already in the process of sorting out a week next year. Thanks very much.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
delidaydr...
Lake District
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab House”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had the best week in this house, plenty of room for all 6 of us. the Wi-fi was a huge bonus with 4 teens. Comfortable furnishings and the cottage is lovely and clean felt like new.
We would have struggled without the new wet room so this is a fantastic addition. Only a 15 minute stroll to the beach. Handy local shops just round the corner. The secure parking was a God send. We only used the cars twice all week which saved a small fortune in parking. Highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was very clean and comfortably furnished.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovit
lincs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home comforts and cosy”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

My family and i were so excited to be going on holiday as it was our first holiday for around about 7 years. The coach house did not disappoint at all. Our children, even though they are teenagers excitedly ran through the house deciding what bedroom to have. When we arrived there had been milk and cream cakes left which was very welcomed indeed. The upstairs bathroom has a low sloping roof that my daughter and husband had to be aware of so chose to use the downstairs wet room which was a big bonus. We used the cooker pretty much every day, the fridge was abit wobbly if you had 3 large cartons of milk in it. There was more than enough crockery and cutlery, but could do with a few pint glasses for my husbands bitter, but he managed (bless him)!!! Excellent selection of dvd s books games. Possibly a little further from the town centre than we thought but 2mins down the road was a mini sainsburys pizza hut , coffee shop, chemist. The cable car/lift to the beach is a 5 minute walk and costs 50p-£1 and cuts out alot of leg work as scarborough is very hilly. Peasholm Park is a good place to visit as is Flamingo Land. On summary our first family holiday for 7years was FABULOUS and would not hesitate to re-book , finances permitting. Thank you.
.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everthing
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel201...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean, homely cottage with great facilities in a great location resulting in a fabulous family holiday!”
Reviewed 13 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We had a great time staying at the coach house in Scarborough. Even though it was February the sun was shining most of the week. The cottage is within walking distance of the beach and shops.

As soon as we walked into the cottage we were greeted with a lovely bowl of fruit, wine and welcome card. Added to this there was milk in the fridge and tea and coffee. The owners were great at contacting us prior and letting us know instructions to get in etc. and very helpful.

The cottage has everyone you need. It is lovely and modern and very homely. There were 4 of us staying,my husband and I and our 2 children and we had lots of space. Great kitchen with ample facilities including dishwasher and washing machine, which was useful having small children. The bedrooms were a great size, beautifully decorated, really comfortable beds and lots of storage. I did not want to go home to my own bed! There were plug in lights/torches on the landing which was so useful at night with young children, I even ordered myself one when I got home.

The bathroom the only aspect to the cottage which may cause a problem for some people. There was not a proper 'stand up' shower due to sloping ceiling. It was not a problem for us at all, I just made the most of having a bath every day! The owners are in the process of possibly adding a downstairs shower room which would be a great extra.

You can easily park 3 cars outside in private courtyard. Great knowing your car is safe as gate locks from inside. Area was quiet on a night, we weren't disturbed at all.

Overall a fabulous cottage, we enjoyed our week so much that while we were there I was already trying to book again. Will plan to return later in the year.

Thank you for a lovely welcome and great accommodation, great family holiday had by us all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing