We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Bed and Breakfast - lovely break away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Toulson Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Toulson Court
Ranked #1 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Bed and Breakfast - lovely break away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was the third time that we have stayed at Toulson Court, and once again we had a great stay. We stayed in the family room which has recently been updated and is decorated beautifully. The room is spacious and is divided into 2 sections, one with a comfortable double bed and 2 lovely chairs, and one with twin beds. There is a door separating the room into two and this can be left open or closed which is really practical for getting the children to bed at a decent time, whilst still being able to sit and relax yourselves. There is a separate TV with DVD in each section of the room.
I am a little over the top when it comes to cleaning, and could probably appear on a TV program about it I'm that bad, and I can honestly say that this is the cleanest accommodation that I have ever stayed in. Last summer we stayed in a Hilton hotel and their cleaners need lessons from Jackie and Dean! I have no idea how they manage to keep the shower tray and tiles so brilliantly white. I wish mine were that shiny at home.
Jackie and Dean are very friendly hosts and are extremely professional at what they do. Nothing is too much trouble for them and all you have to do is ask. On arrival, you are always offered something to drink, and the rooms are equipped with facilities to make warm drinks, with fresh milk available on request. At breakfast time, the variety of choices means that there is something to suit everyone's tastes. My husband had a full cooked breakfast whilst I am more fussy and had yoghurt and fruit followed by specific cooked items, and my 8 year old son asked for a "bacon butty" and we all thoroughly enjoyed it.
We will definitely be staying again and would recommend Toulson Court to everybody.
Thanks once again to Jackie and Dean for their hospitality.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    24
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
186
340
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

If you are holidaying in Scarborough then I can heartily recommend you stay at Toulson Court. Jackie and Dean are wonderful hosts and the accommodation is warm, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The food, service and the reception you receive are second to none.

On arriving you are warmly welcomed and offered tea and biscuits in the lovely conservatory. A nice gesture after a long journey. You are assisted with your luggage to a beautifully decorated room (I've stayed in most of them over time - every one is lovely!) which you will find cosy, comfy and inviting. A good night's sleep is almost guaranteed.
The breakfast in a morning is a joy. A fabulous buffet choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt and toast accompaniments like nutella and honey. Then there is the cooked breakfast which is just fab. I am caffeine and lactose intolerant and Jackie always provides me with lacto-free milk and decaf tea.
The location is ideal and is close to the pretty Peasholm Park and the north beach and near to town in the other direction.

It is a real pleasure to stay here and personally I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustSoAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was our second stay at Toulson Court. Jackie and Dean are very welcoming and we were offered tea and coffee and hot cross buns in the conservatory once we had dropped our bags in our room. This time we stayed in room number 6 on the top floor, a lovely light and airy room and very quiet and peaceful. Jackie and Dean make everyone feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are excellent as there is so much choice. Something for everyone. We stayed over the Easter Break and we were treated to Easter eggs on our table when we came down for breakfast on Easter Sunday. Thank you very much Jackie and Dean.The hospitality tray in the bedroom was well stocked and again plenty of choice.
The off road parking is a real bonus as we have stayed in town on a previous trip and had to park on the multi storey.

I would recommend Toulson Court to anyone staying in Scarborough. We will be making a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaminut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed during the Easter School Holidays overnight, Lovely friendly welcome from Jackie and Dean. Cup of tea & biscuits very welcoming after a long drive. Stayed in a room we had not been in before, very comfy & well decorated ( by the way Jackie - I'm still trying to find a light just like the one you have in the room we stayed in ) ideal for anyone who as a mobility problem. Our daughter & her friend had a room on the next floor, very comfy and well decorated. Lovely breakfast. Parking available. Nice selection of information for things to do & see available in entrance porch. Would recommend a stay at Toulson Court.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

On arrival from a long drive to Toulson Court we were given a welcomed cup of tea and buscuits,, our hosts Jackie and Dean were welcoming and friendlyand our luggage was taken to our room. This was our third holiday at the Toulson and we were made to feel welcome it has been a lovely relaxing break and would recomend a stay to anyone at the Toulson.Our room was as always clean and well presented. With en-suite facilities.
The room was warm due to the weather not being good for a couple of days.There was a variety of breakfast choices and nothing was to much trouble from our hosts for example packed lunches can be obtained if requested.

Room Tip: We have stayed in a variety of different rooms and all have been comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zabbar, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed at Toulson Court for 4 nights in the last week of April 2014 and our stay was very enjoyable! Dean and Jackie were very friendly and helpful......both before arriving and especially during our stay! The tea and cookies on arrival were really appreciated especially after a 2 hour drive from Leeds, our room's decoration was exquisite and having a separate door (within the room) for our 11 year old daughter was an excellent option. Room was cosy, perfect tea/coffee making facilities and superb location near to the main centre of Scarborough. The only thing to improve is the shower pressure as I personally pointed out to Jackie, but this is a problem with the rooms found on the second floor. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Scarborough and the North York Moors!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We've just returned from a 2 day break at Toulson Court with our dog Candy. If you're struggling to find that perfect guest house for yourselves AND your dog, then this is it. Perfectly situated within easy walking distance of the beach, castle, local and Peasholm Parks and also of the dog friendly restaurant 'The Coffee beans' (yes you can enjoy a lovely meal with your dog at your feet....ours is very well behaved!) and the dog friendly real ale pub the 'North Ridings' which, according to my husband, had a fantastic range of real ales brewed in the micro-brewery on-site. We had a great night with locals doing the Thursday Quiz. Another dog friendly pub is the Scarborough Arms, also serving food. At Toulson Court Jackie and Dean are excellent hosts providing tea/coffee and biscuits on arrival, more in your room, even bottled water and Horlicks! You need a good appetite to finish their amazing breakfast! You certainly don't need any lunch! We had a lovely time and highly recommend it to all other dog lovers out there. NB We are very particular people so doggy rules in the room applied as we would have hoped for ourselves, so guests without dogs don't worry, the rooms are spotless. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 (ground floor front on the house) which was very handy for the dog. Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,637 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.0 mi away
North Bay Guest House
North Bay Guest House
#5 of 182 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toulson Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toulson Court

Property: The Toulson Court
Address: 100 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Toulson Court 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your ideal holiday, you'll find it here. At Toulson Court, we strive to provide the perfect base from which to enjoy it all! The entire guest house has been tastefully decorated and lovingly refurbished to the highest standards, with your comfort in mind. We pride ourselves on being able to provide you with all the comforts of home, with a warm and friendly atmosphere - a real home from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Toulson Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing