We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence as standard”
Review of The Toulson Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toulson Court
Ranked #1 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Had stayed here previously for an excellent break to take in the Scarborough cricket festival but had read a negative review. This didn't put us off booking again but did make us question whether or not standards had deteriorated. I can confidently say that they hadn't! We were greeted as usual with tea and biscuits by our friendly hosts. The rooms were immaculately clean and equipped with all the accompaniments you could want from tea for local travellers to galaxy hot chocolate and ginger nuts for the more indulgent adventurous traveller. Breakfast is the show stopper of this establishment though - fruit and cereals readily available with tea and toast, jams and spreads. Then the moment when the full English arrives at the table tempts even those with the highest cholesterol. However, the calories are kept to a minimum as the food is excellently cooked and is far beyond the comment made by one confused traveller that suggested it was 'swimming in fat'. The only sign of fat and swimming during in this visit was on the beach! The quality of ingredients used was excellent. All locally sourced. The sausages have even won a gold award for the local butcher. I'm sure if you asked they could even tell you the name of the pig they came from! So overall another excellent stay. We will most certainly be returning again to be spoilt by our superb hosts jackie and dean.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Manb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We booked a five night stay at the Toulson Court on the back of Trip Advisor reviews and were delighted with the choice.

Jackie and Dean are a delightful couple who are happy to help and advise. Their property is spotlessly clean and only eight minutes walk from the seafront, five from Peasholm Park. There's parking out front which saves hassles but parking permits are available.

The rooms were beautifully decorated and clean and with TV/DVD, hairdryer, toiletries, drinks and biscuits. There was even a fan, appreciated on a hot evening, and plenty of storage space.

Breakfasts were great. Full English, toast, preserves, fresh fruit, cereals - really couldn't be faulted in portion or quality. The conservatory was pleasant to spend time and we really couldn't criticise any aspect of the place.

Fully deserves its reputation - top class - we will be back!!

Room Tip: They are all good...ones at front are on the road, however, if a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derbysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just came back from a long week end at the Toulson Court Scarborough. Warm welcome by Jackie offering a cup of tea. Room was spotless with plenty tea/coffee. Plenty of lovely towels. Bed was comfy, Breakfast --- too good. Overall, I will be staying again and can recommend this lovey B&B to all. Thanks for making our stay so nice
Janette & Harry, Cumbernauld

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

It is comforting to know when going on holiday that the welcome will be warm, the rooms comfortable and clean and the breakfasts excellent. This is why my wife and I drove to Scarborough to The Toulson Court for our 4th stay at this superb Guest House. We were indeed greeted warmly in the car park by Dean and Jackie, our case was taken to our room and we were offered a cup of tea or coffee which we enjoyed. Our room looked great, the bed was comfortable, a bottle of water was ideal for the medication I have to take and all in all the standard was as excellent as we expected it to be. After an evening drink from the hospitality tray we had a good night's sleep before breakfast. A wide choice of cereals, fruits and yogurts followed by a cooked breakfast either the full English or any of the items to our preferences. Beautifully cooked and quickly served we were set for the day. We had a wonderful week both weather-wise and also the wonderful hospitality at The Toulson Court. Well done Jackie and Dean, see you again next year when we know it will be as good. It always is!!

John & Janet Hardy, Halifax, West Yorkshire

Room Tip: We had a front room overlooking Columbus Ravine but all the rooms are tastefully furnished and comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was an excellent stay with my husband and grandchildren.. Breakfast was an absolute delight. The sausage & bacon come from a farm just up the road and they are delicious. Every individual taste is catered for by the lovely landlady Jackie and her partner Dean. Cereals, fresh fruits, fresh orange juice. Croissants bought in specially for my grandson. Everything you could possibly wish for in your cooked breakfast. Lovely conservatory to relax in and a nice wee sitting area out the back in a little bit of shade. Easy parking which made such a difference. Great location, easy distance for north beach and a lovely park at the bottom of the road. Will definitely stay again if in the area

Room Tip: Downstairs king size room was very comfortable. Very nice en-suite too.. Only down side is that othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a lovely time we all had a this wonderful hotel, the owners could'nt do enough for us all, there wonderful people,good food, excellent rooms and decor throughout, warm welcome and cuppa for everyone, so relaxing to find a place like this, would always highly recommend this hotel to everyone, cant wait to stay again sometime x thank you Jackie and Dean x

Room Tip: jackie and dean will choose the best room to accommodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Another wonderful stay, a big thanks to Jackie for being very welcoming and providing great service.
I always love staying at this B&B as the hotel it's self if in great shape with fabulous bedrooms that are very comfortable to be in and very clean.
The service was very welcoming and everything was thought out when offered, even when we arrived we were offered a lovely cup of tea.
Thanks for a great stay, sure to be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarehamRachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.9 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 184 in Scarborough
962 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raincliffe Hotel
Raincliffe Hotel
#18 of 184 in Scarborough
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toulson Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toulson Court

Address: 100 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £53 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Toulson Court 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whatever your ideal holiday, you'll find it here. At Toulson Court, we strive to provide the perfect base from which to enjoy it all! The entire guest house has been tastefully decorated and lovingly refurbished to the highest standards, with your comfort in mind. We pride ourselves on being able to provide you with all the comforts of home, with a warm and friendly atmosphere - a real home from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toulson Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing