We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit - just as good!”
Review of Selomar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selomar Hotel
Ranked #29 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We returned to the Selomar this past weekend to find it in fine shape. The breakfasts are fantastic! The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious enough. For the price I would certainly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Selomar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

Irene & Ken are fantastic hosts who made my husbands birthday even more special. Views from our room were stunning. Room was spotless and clean, as was the bathroom. From start to finish a wonderful stay and we will certainly be going back again. Breakfast was excellent - wonderful sausages! Thanks to Irene and Ken.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a room with a Sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed at the Selomar Hotel last week with our 4 children for 4 nights in room 4, a very spacious and comfortable family room. Ken and Irene made us feel extremely welcome and were so helpful when we needed to change our plans at short notice.The hotel was clean and very well run with the most comfortable bed. We recieved a very warm welcome on our arrival and throughout our stay. Breakfast was excellent with a large choice of cereals, fruits, yogurts and cooked breakfasts all served with a variety of hot and cold drinks including a lovely fresh coffee. The whole family throughly enjoyed their stay at the selomar hotel and we have already booked another break with them in summer of this year. All the children loved Ken and Irene especially our youngest. Thank you to you both for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 4 consists of a double bed, bunk beds and a single sofa bed.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennybobs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Great hosts Irene and Ken made our two night stay just lovely with their friendly welcoming ways. Lovely room, every where spotlessly clean and gorgeous pictures on the wall lol. Breakfast was excellent with great service from a very accomodating waitress. Would definitely stay again and recommend to all. Spacious bar area for relaxing evening drink with friendly host Ken.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blade1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I cannot fault this hotel, the rooms were spotless & the views were amazing. I also cannot understand someone complaining about the bed being too small, it was smaller than I am used to but my own bed is a super king size so I cannot complain about it. Irene was very welcoming on our arrival & Ken kept us amused in the bar which was nice & cosy with a view of the sea. I didn't have breakfast as I was not up early enough but judging by everything else I can imagine it being good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneIrwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

stayed a few weeks ago and hadnt bothered to write a review as the stay was average but have read recent reviews and have to agree with the reviewer who said the bed was a bit small. most hotels now have nice big double beds and ours was at best a small double. breakfast was mixed, full english was a good fry up but my scrambled egg wasnt very good. there was orange juice available but the choice of fruit was only prunes or bananas. staff were very friendly and the room was clean and well equipped. on balance it was average you could find better and you could find worse.

Room Tip: you have to use stairs to get to any room so if they are a problem get a first floor room
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

On our arrival we received a very warm welcome and given info. on local amenities. Car parking was easy and we were provided with a permit which was really helpful. Room was spotless with beautiful views - can't understand why a previous visitor commented on the size of the bed which was very comfortable. We stayed in the same room as themselves and I am a "larger lady" and had no problem at all. It's a double bed in a double room so what on earth do folk expect? En suite was lovely and clean with new shower ,washbasin and loo.Toiletries were also available. We can't fault the room at all. The full English breakfast was really good and there was also a wide variety of cereals, yoghurt, jams and fruit on offer too. Although we didn't use the bar - we were only staying the one night -it looked so comfortable and cosy and a nice place to "chill". All in all a really lovely hotel and one that we would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarfishWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#14 of 184 in Scarborough
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#36 of 184 in Scarborough
230 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#13 of 184 in Scarborough
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#19 of 184 in Scarborough
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greno Guesthouse
Greno Guesthouse
#35 of 184 in Scarborough
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selomar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selomar Hotel

Address: 23 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £62 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Selomar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Selomar has been awarded 4 Star accommodation by the English Tourism Council and has received the prestigious Guild of Master Caterer's Award being one of only two hotels in Scarborough to receive this honour. Our hotel is situated in Scarborough's picturesque North Bay and commands some excellent sea views and is just a stones throw away from the historic Scarborough Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Selomar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing