We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent welocome at the selomar”
Review of Selomar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Selomar Hotel
Ranked #27 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent welocome at the selomar”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stayed here end of march..family room...was excellent..spacious,clean.Breakfast was great.
Owners and staff couldnt have done more ..will definatly be returning

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    43
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
162
183
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed here as a family of 9,in our party we had a 4mth old baby, an a 5 + 16 yr old, booking 4 rooms for a 3 night stay over the weekend 17-19 May.
As soon as we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was to much trouble for Ken, Irene and their team.
All of our rooms were spotlessly clean and tastfuly decorated, an all the shower rooms were lovely, just as their photo show, and we all found the beds to be very comfortable.
Breakfasts were excellent, plenty to choose from and all served by polite and freindly waitresses who couldnt do enough for you, one of which even insisted on borrowing my brothers girlfriend her coat for the day as she didnt think she would be warm enough in her jacket.........how nice was that !!!!!!!!!!
We would all definetley stay here again and would recommend the Selomar
Thank you for a fantastic stay x

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front of hotel as much better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolbecksandtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2012

first time stayed at the selomar what a lovely friendly place to stay the staff was realy helpfull we took our daughter 4yr old and she loved it amazing views spotless rooms very very nice breakfast very comfortable beds lovely shower rooms the staff was there to greet us even tho we arived late there was a bar down stairs if needed. you get a parking permit asoon as you arrive there so saves you money on parking you dont have to use your car as you are central to pubs casinos town centre take aways restraunts north bay arcades good value for money thanks for a fab time

Room Tip: we was on number 12 top froor amazeing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleborough
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Selomar on a regular basis when our children were little. We haven't been back for 20 years and recently we were there again and astounded to find that Ken (now aged 69) is still a fantastic hoist with the same wit and humour. He could be 20 years younger!

The Selomar continues to be a fantastic B&B and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaLittleborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

For my Grandma's 80th birthday myself and my family stayed at the Selomar hotel for a weekend. Between 7 adults and 1 baby we stayed in 3 separate rooms - each as clean, comfortable and surprisingly modern as the next!

The sea view room was excellent, and was generously given to my Grandma at the same rate as a regular room. To add to this, she even found an 80th birthday card on her pillow upon arrival!

The breakfasts were first class and nothing was too much trouble for Ken & Irene who were more than accommodating for the duration of our stay.

Great location, great rooms, great rates, great hosts - I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Female_Skiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

what a great hotel and staff can't wait to return stayed for 3 nights 15-17 may stayed in room 4 great sea view, we evan gave ken a box of chocs for our waitress who is one of the best we have had in a long time. keep up the good work

Room Tip: room 4 sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

just got back from the selomar been for the weekend the hotel was first class we had a sea view room which was lovely and clean. the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was to a very high standard the food and staff where very good i would reccomend this hotel and will be going back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortune p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#15 of 184 in Scarborough
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 184 in Scarborough
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#12 of 184 in Scarborough
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#19 of 184 in Scarborough
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rose Dene
Rose Dene
#31 of 184 in Scarborough
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Toulson Court
The Toulson Court
#1 of 184 in Scarborough
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selomar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selomar Hotel

Property: Selomar Hotel
Address: 23 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Selomar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Selomar has been awarded 4 Star accommodation by the English Tourism Council and has received the prestigious Guild of Master Caterer's Award being one of only two hotels in Scarborough to receive this honour. Our hotel is situated in Scarborough's picturesque North Bay and commands some excellent sea views and is just a stones throw away from the historic Scarborough Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Selomar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing