We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless, enjoyable stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Selomar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selomar Hotel
Ranked #27 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Faultless, enjoyable stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed as a family with two children at the end of July, everything was absolutely faultless.
Very nice décor throughout, especially as you enter the hotel. The room was great, lots of space for the four of us and the most stunning view.
The hotel is in the perfect location for everything in both North and South Bay, and just a short walk from the beach and town centre. Our little ones liked the park right outside with picnic benches for lunch.
Breakfast was beautiful, my Husband and I really enjoyed the full English and the kids tucked into a selection of cereal, fruit, yogurts and cheese each morning. The honesty bar is also a really nice touch too, we all chose a treat as we headed back up to our room each night, beer for the other half and sweets for the children.
The hosts were lovely too, thank you Irene and Ken. We're very much looking forward to coming again, and would never go anywhere else in Scarborough :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MysC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    43
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
156
173
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Recently stayed at Selomar for a 5 day family holiday. Perfect location for the north beach, the path right in front of the hotel leads right down to the beach via a nice little play park. The hotel itself is nicely furnished with modern decor. We stayed in room 11, a good family room with bunk beds for the kids, a shower en-suite and a view of the South Bay. The only negative was that the room was on the third floor, and ferrying two young kids up and down all the stairs was a bit of a handful.
Breakfast is fantastic, one of the best I've had at any guest house or chain hotel. Despite my best intentions I couldn't resist the full English every day. There's also a good choice of cereals, fruit and yoghurts.
The staff are all nice and friendly, with plenty of suggestions for family activities. If we come back to Scarborough we'll definitely stay at Selomar.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuchisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked this hotel for our anniversary as soon as we walked in we was made to feel very welcome, hospitality, cleanliness, breakfast, can not fault anything at all we have booked to return again next year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damo2337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Myself, wife and child of 2 had a pleasant stay at this well situated b@b. From the start we had a warm welcome from ken and irene. We stayed in room 9 at the top of the hotel. Although we where at the back of the hotel we had a great view of the south bay. The room was large, clean and the shower room looked modern. The house keepers were very friendly and my two year old found the house keeper who was going to parma nova great amusment, I didn't catch your name. The 2 waitresses in the morning were freindy and made sure we were well fed with a great English breakfast. The hotel is well situated near the castle and 20min walk to the south bay were the amusement are but quiet enough to get a good nights sleep. The bar is well supplied and uses a trust system of writing down what you take.
I would really recommend this pleasant hotel

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luke s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

my partner , baby boy and I had a lovely stay at the Selomar. Entrance hall stunning as was the hotel throughout. We enjoyed spectacular views from not only our room but the communal lounge also. The room was clean and presentable with nice features. Staff friendly and helpful. We had a very enjoyable time.

Room Tip: we had the sea view room on top floor so was fabulous. however if not fortunate to have this room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great b&b. We are a family of 4 and stayed in room 12 which is on the top floor and the view over north bay is amazing. Breakfasts were excellent, staff very nice, rooms were nice and clean. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewR854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

we had another great stay me and my 3 children stayed for a week from 12th july irene and ken make you very welcome the staff are very nice and helpful.we stayed in room 4 its a loveley room we have already booked it for next summer its got a great view of the north bay beach and the castle. the breakfast is top drew . cant wait for our next visit .if you dont stay at the selomar you are missing out

Room Tip: we have stayed in 4,7,12 all great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#7 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#20 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 184 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#9 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
The Beaches Bed and Breakfast
#11 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeway Hotel
Leeway Hotel
#3 of 184 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selomar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selomar Hotel

Property: Selomar Hotel
Address: 23 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Selomar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Selomar has been awarded 4 Star accommodation by the English Tourism Council and has received the prestigious Guild of Master Caterer's Award being one of only two hotels in Scarborough to receive this honour. Our hotel is situated in Scarborough's picturesque North Bay and commands some excellent sea views and is just a stones throw away from the historic Scarborough Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Selomar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing