We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would return without hesitation”
Review of Selomar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Selomar Hotel
Ranked #26 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Very welcoming,quiet position; we had a very nice stay ,including a pleasant time in the hotel bar where Ken entertained us throughout the evening . A pleasant ,nicely cooked breakfast was also served.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaktram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2009

We visit Scarborough for a short break every year around September/October time and if possible this is the hotel of choice for us. Ken and Irene make the perfect hosts and the hotel itself is spotless and beautifully decorated. The rooms while average in size have every amenity you could want and if your hosts can do anything to make your stay more enjoyable you need only ask. Prices are very reasonable and unlike most small hotels extra tea/coffee and toast are provided on request, with this breakfast you won't be needing more than a snack around lunch time!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zpaulg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Right from the moment when we rang and booked a room at the selomar, we knew it was going to be a good choice. With more than 30 years experience, Ken and Irene really know how to welcome and treat their guests. Our room was on the top floor and was large enough to accommodate a family of four comfortably. Tea and coffee making facilities were good. The breakfast in the morning was top quality and really set us up for our day of sightseeing. The view from our room was superb, the dining room was quaint and the bar was cosy.We stayed for 2 nights and and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. Exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brockmanCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

The hosts were pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and well decorated. The location was convenient for all of Scarbrough's attractions.
I particularly enjoyed the freshly cooked breakfast

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

I went to scarbough to go fishing with my son, came across selomar hotel, so we booked in and had a great stay as our room was clean and tidy, it was a large room with a large shower room, and it also has a flatscreen t.v with a dvd this is a good thing if there is nothing to do on a rainy day. Ken and Irene the owners where cheerful and helpful the breakfast was excellent and very filling which started the day of good.

Glad we found this hotel..!
And will be returning in the near future..!

(The Fisher Men)

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inghams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

myself and my boyfriend stayed in the selomar hotel scarborough from 17 october-19th october 2009 to celebrate both our birthdays and we would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone. the owners (ken and irene) are true professionals and made our stay very relaxing and welcoming. ken and irene catered for our every need without a doubt, nothing was too much trouble for them. the room was huge and very clean and tidy. we had a seaview room with breathtaking views of the sea. the cooked breakfast each morning was beautiful. the hotel is situated in the heart of scarborough with shops, pubs/clubs, beach and sea, sealife centre, bowling and cinema all close by. a short taxi ride away will take u to the south bay where you will find the harbour, arcades and plenty of gifts shops and restaurants (the taxi only cost £3.80p but it a nice walk if the weather is nice, about 20mins ish). the scarborough is a must see, with even more breathtaking views of the sea and scarborough. we both throughly enjoyed our stay and will definately be going back to the selamar next year, we cant wait xx

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keeleyeasom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

It was like been in your own home, Ken and Irene made us all welcome, from our arrival to departure. Nothing was to much trouble for them.
The breakfast was excellance and plenty of it. (ask for the home made Marmalade) spot on.

Great couple.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hallp355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.0 mi away
Rockside Hotel
Rockside Hotel
#13 of 184 in Scarborough
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#14 of 184 in Scarborough
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#38 of 184 in Scarborough
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Baia Hotel
La Baia Hotel
#8 of 184 in Scarborough
564 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greno Guesthouse
Greno Guesthouse
#37 of 184 in Scarborough
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Michael's Guest House
St Michael's Guest House
#2 of 184 in Scarborough
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Selomar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Selomar Hotel

Address: 23 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: £69 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Selomar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Selomar has been awarded 4 Star accommodation by the English Tourism Council and has received the prestigious Guild of Master Caterer's Award being one of only two hotels in Scarborough to receive this honour. Our hotel is situated in Scarborough's picturesque North Bay and commands some excellent sea views and is just a stones throw away from the historic Scarborough Castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Selomar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing