We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Lonsdale Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lonsdale Villa
Ranked #57 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed at the Lonsdale villa for two nights last week, accommodation was excellent, very clean room and everything you need in it, great location for shops restaurants and the beach, grant did an excellent full English breakfast, the hospitality was second to none, very friendly and would love to return on my next trip over from Australia! Thanks Jackie and grant

Stayed: May 2014
Thank 788amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie H, Owner at Lonsdale Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you Mandy for taking the time to review. We hope to see you again if you plan a future visit from Australia-Jackie and Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

May 19th just got back from a few days in Scarborough. Stayed here at Lonsdale as we have done in the past and it is 1st class it is like home from home. The rooms are spotless beds are comfortable and the breakfast is perfect if they have it you get it. We have stayed in Scarborough a few times at different B&Bs I have to say this tops the list no more searching for us. It is a 15min walk to the sea front but only a 5min walk to a few local shops a pub or two or a supermarket. Try it you will not be sorry

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickHubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie H, Owner at Lonsdale Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thank you Mick for your review, it was good to see you both again and glad that you enjoyed your stay in Scarborough, the weather also helped. Hope your move is going okay. Thanks again.
Jackie and Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Thank you for a lovely stay. Can't rate this B&B highly enough. Very clean rooms, great breakfast.
Will definately be back. Other residents had either been before or were booking again.
Can't wait to go again. Thank you Jackie and Grant

Room Tip: I had the small double for single occupance, was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie H, Owner at Lonsdale Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you Angela for your review, We're glad that you and Susan enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Jackie and Grant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

the lonsdale is a very friendly place ,clean as a new pin all the time .Jackie and grant are a very friendly and helpful couple.Good parking,,handy for the town or beach and the spa.Bedrooms are very well decorated and the bed comfortable.lovely breakfast cooked to perfection,it is lovely to have fresh fruit salad for breakfast as well..We have been coming for sixteen years and would not go anywhere else.We often meet up with old friends when we go .Jackie and Grant always have a suggestion for a good place to eat.

Room Tip: any room is good ,we have stayed in most rooms so you would be happy in any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clivejenflit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

If you are staying in Scarborough, then the Lonsdale Villa is an excellent choice. The rooms, and indeed the whole property is "spotless" (a term used by many who have previously reviewed this guest house, justifiably!)
Lonsdale Villa is located in a quiet area with little traffic noise but it is still within easy walking distance of the main town and well placed if you fancy walking the "Cleveland way" , an 8 mile walk along the coast from Scarborough to Filey. You can take the bus back and get off at the end of Lonsdale Road.

There is ample free on street parking close to Lonsdale Villa.
Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and we can only endorse the comments made by other reviewers (Positive ones!)

We stayed in one of the smaller double rooms, as did our friends and have to say it was more than adequate for our weekend stay, comforatbly and attractively furnished with everything you need, including tea and coffee making facilities and a very tidy, if small bathroom.

We would certainly recommend staying here. I don't habitually review everywhere I go or stay but (like so many others) often check out trip advisor before we book. Credit where it is due, the Lonsdale is good value, clean and comfortable.

There is plenty to do in and around Scarborough. We visited Whitby, Robin Hoods Bay and Bridlington which all within easy drive. We even managed a few hours in York on the way home. What a great weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurenceSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just had a lovely weekend,in Scarbough.Staying at Lonsdale Villa,our room was spotless and every thing we needed in it.Abig thankyou to Jackie and Grant,they were friendly and helpful.The breakfeast was very nice and there was lots to choose from.And set us up for the day.I would recommend this hotel to anyone,as you couldn't fault it in anyway.Hope to see you both again sometime.

Room Tip: We had room 11 on the ground floor,right next to the dinning room very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yamhar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We managed to book for a last minute overnight stay here. The accommodation was spotless, very nice decor & the bed was extremely comfortable. Jackie and Grant are very pleasant and welcoming. The breakfast was excellent too. There's plenty of choice & cooked to order. The location is good & parking no problem. Would definitely recommend & will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJD36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.2 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#54 of 183 in Scarborough
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waves
The Waves
#3 of 183 in Scarborough
125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#24 of 183 in Scarborough
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No. 17 West Street
No. 17 West Street
#27 of 183 in Scarborough
317 reviews
4.9 mi away
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
#1 of 1 in Cloughton
169 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Villa

Address: Lonsdale Road, Scarborough YO11 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:4 star — Lonsdale Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lonsdale Villa is situated in the picturesque South Cliff area of Scarborough. We are ideally situated for The Spa Conference and Entertainment Complex, golf, Olivers Mount, Stephen Joseph Theatre, Italian Gardens and University. Scarborough town centre, the Harbour, University and other attractions are within easy walking distance. We are two minutes walk to The Esplanade. The local bus passes the Guest House and we are only 5 minutes walk to Filey Road bus stops which serve places further afield. Unrestricted street parking in a disc free zone. We have 10 en-suite rooms including 3 singles and a ground floor double. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing