We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPER SOUTHLANDS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SUPER SOUTHLANDS”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Our visit was 14 - 18 May 2012, 5 day midweek break. Lovely hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent location. Beautiful dining room - the decor was stunning and very smart. It has obviously been refurbished throughout. Room small but perfectly adequate with lovely big window and very clean. Food very good with plenty of choices. We have been to many Shearings Hotels over the years and this one compared very favourably. All amenities were easy to get to although it was better walking into town/front than coming back, the hill never got any better.

Downside - weather could have been better, but lovely and cosy in the hotel at all times. All in all, very satisfactory.

Mitzi, Kent

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mitziGillingham_kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments. I have a fantastic team at the hotel and they all work hard to ensure our guests enjoy all aspects of their holiday. We are lucky in our location on the South Cliff, the only downside being that it is up hill to get back to us from the town. I agree the weather could definitely been better though whilst you were here –it seems to be one of the wetter starts to the summer for a while.
Hopefully that won’t put you off and you will come back and visit us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    174
    65
    16
    8
See reviews for
45
264
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

It was our first Shearing's Coast and Country hotel mid week break. Good first impression. after recent refurbishment the entrance and reception areas impressive, nice dining room , bar and lounges. Our double room non too spacious but clean and comfy.

Food at the Shearing's standard ie. good value but nothing exceptional. Pleased with the breakfast choice and service, however the evening meals were a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jenkins4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback for us. We are always looking for ways to improve the service and value any comments that are left for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale Cheshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Hotel good & clean, staff efficient & helpful. Food varied & plenty of choices daily. Hotel near sea front & buses to Whitby & Filey near by. Few minutes walk to shopping centre, cafes, resturants & bars. Good break.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlendaSaleCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments for us. I’m glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERBY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Our visit was September 2011. Excellent location on top of the South Cliff only a few minutes walk into the town centre.
The room was small and far too hot even with the radiator off and window open.
Breakfast service until 1000 hours. We went into the dining room at 0940 on the Saturday morning and received sarcasm that someone was missing from the restaurant manager. Yoghurts and fruit were cleared away before we had the chance to make a selection. On the sunday morning we made an effort and arrived at 0900 hours. The waitress explained the slow service was due to having run out of eggs!
The food at dinner is what I would descibe as school dinners.
The singer and pianist left something to be desired and only played or sang requests they were familiar with.
The bar service was slow.
The staff however were very friendly and helpful but this would not entice me for a further visit to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms over the front reception are noisy due to traffic at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GRIZZLY1DERBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Just returned from New Southlands Hotel, Scarborough. Lovely hotel in a lovely seaside resort. Near to seafront, shops, buses, shopping centre. Food excellent tasty and hot, always a choice of three or four starters, main courses and deserts, and served by cheery waiters.The hotel is clean and tidy and our room was excellent. Disabled access and rooms fitted for people with disabilities. Lift. There was entertainment on two nights out of the four that we stayed, a pianist on one night and a singer/entertainer on the other night. The reception staff are helpful.Scarborough itself was near enough to visit York, North Yorks Moors and Whitby and the resort of Scarborough has a lovely sandy beach. All in all not a bad word to say about this great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hi J M
Thanks for the lovely feedback you have left for us. I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to my staff. We are so lucky with our position and location for access to the town and the surrounding areas which are so well worth visiting without having to travel to far.
I am glad you were pleased with all the facilities within the hotel and that you enjoyed the entertainment on the two nights it was on.
Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments
We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We read the reviews after booking, and took plenty of warm clothing as the majority of reviews said how cold it was. Granted, we went in the March mini heatwave but if anything it seemed overheated to us. Don't see why it would be cold as the heating was on and available if required, each radiator having a control valve, so heating should not be a problem.

Stayed for 4 nights at this Shearings/Coast & Country hotel. Booked a regular room and were lucky - we had an enormous room with a double and 2 single beds!! Worth asking for as the other "regular" rooms have either one double or twin beds but even so they were roomy enough. Room very clean and serviced daily. Amenities included lrgish bathrooms with toiletries (renewed on request), tea & coffee making renewed daily, and TV. Beds and pillows on the hard side but acceptable.

The reception staff were very helpful and efficient, most of the staff were local so could answer questions without a problem. The hotel has a largish car park but, if full, reception will provide a free on-street parking sticker. There were ample on-street spaces available. The grounds were not enormous but well-kept with tables and benches provided on the lawn outside the bar.

The hotel is all half-board and the food was very good - full English breakfast, cereals, croissants, toast, fruit, yogurt and porridge were all available and at dinner there was a 3 course meal, with between four and six choices for each course. Waiting room staff were all very good and efficient. There is plenty of lounge space on the ground floor, in 3 separate areas, with a bar and a few nights entertainment throughout the week and free newspapers in the lounge areas.

It is in the South Shore area and reasonably well located - not directly on the sea front but there was a lift down the cliffside within 5 minutes walk of the hotel which went directly down to the Spa and from there you could walk all along the bay to the harbour area and the North Shore. The town centre was an easy 10-minute walk from the hotel and also had a parade of shops just a couple of minutes away. There were several buses neaby - we did not move our car until hometime - there was no need to unless you wanted to explore further away.

Room Tip: Ask for a double and 2 twin bed regular room if available and like a lot of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annechad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hi Cathychad
I have really enjoyed reading your kind comments you have left about your stay with us. It is really good to get feedback like this as we do rely on customer comments to help us improve and maintain high levels of service to our guests. I can see from when you stayed that had the added bonus of the glorious sunshine and will have seen Scarborough and surrounding areas at it’s best. I will be sure to pass your kind thoughts on to my team and we hope that you will come back and visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

First visited three years ago. The hotel could best have been described as very tired. Revisited 19th to 23rd March this year, 2012 with a party of twenty for a coastal walking holiday. We got a fantastic group booking deal. There had been a considerable amount of upgrading. The en suite bathrooms/toilets had been completely refurbished and the bedrooms themselves were more than adequate with all the facilities expected of a good hotel. The dining room was well set out, the food and choice of was good and the dining staff were very welcoming, efficient and obliging as indeed were all the staff. Obviously, there are more superior hotels but you would be paying three or four times the price. To a person, every member of our party thoroughly enjoyed their stay in Scarborough and thought that the hotel provided fantastic value for money. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayenkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Hi Jayenkay
I am so glad that your groups visit was a success. As you saw for yourself we have had some refurbishment done since your last visit and we get a lot of compliments from returning guests such as yourselves. Our breaks are good value for money and I know that from chatting to several of your party everyone had really enjoyed themselves. Whether or not the mini heat wave we had whilst you were here helped or not I don’t know, but I imagine it made the walks you went out on even better. We have a fantastic coastline and surrounding countryside here which is always popular with walking groups like your own.
I have mentioned before that I am lucky with the team that I have, and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to all of them.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,641 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay New Southlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Property: Bay New Southlands Hotel
Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing