We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“saporana”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very nice break! A delightful hotel with all the amenities necessary. Would recommend to anyone wishing to have a lovely weekend in Scarborough, staff in the dining area where very helpful and always happy to please; overall a 10 out of 10. Thank you very much for our stay , my friend, Mac and I enjoyed it very much . xxx

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for such a kind review, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your weekend away, I will be sure to pass your comments on to the Restaurant staff they all work very hard they will be pleased read such nice comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Makes up for being a bit tired in places by very helpful staff. Rooms basic but cleaned every day. Food mediocre but served with a smile. Entertainment aimed at and scored a direct hit with the coach tour clientele, but enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNefertiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review. It is nice to see that the staff receive good comments as they are very helpful and work very hard. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the entertainment during your stay we try to provide varied entertainment something for every one to enjoy. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a few yorkshiremixed feelings about our stay at this hotel. Our first impression was that a great deal of effort had gone into refurbishing New Southlands. The reception and public rooms were tastefully decorated and the general atmosphere was welcoming. Our room, 221, though clean and comfortable was a little drab and the lighting was poor. The bathroom was ok but the loose towel rail and loo roll holder will need sorting out before both hit the deck. The breakfast was excellent but let down the following morning when I chose scrambled eggs on toast. They were tasteless . The senior waiter was lacking in finesse and at times quite rude to the diners. The other younger members of the team were polite cheerful and attentive. The dinner menu was very attractive but the food presented was meagre with regard to size of portions. Our two night stay at New Southlands was by no means disastrous and I daresay we would stay there again in the hope that management take on board the points we have raised.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 981Gildersome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at the New Southlands. I am disappointed to see that there were some aspects of your stay you were not totally satisfied with. I would have appreciated the opportunity to discuss some of these aspects at the time. I will be sure too pass on your comments to the staff in the Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

October 2013 four nights. A beautiful room, very clean and spacious, bathroom spotless and ample hot water. The menu was varied every night, the food was good and plentiful, some waiters better than others. Reception staff helpful. We had no complaints and would visit again.

Room Tip: First floor, room perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your mid week break with us. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the hotel staff. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Firstly don't pay to park in the car park as there is plenty of road parking out of season and this is only £1.60 for 4 days (from hotel) or pretty much free if you are out most of the day and use the time disc (free from tourist information shop). Had to queue to check in but not too long and receptionist very nice and helpful. Room was on first floor and of a good size, a bit dusty but overall not a massive problem.

We regularly stay at Bay hotels and know what to expect with the food but a couple of my meals were inedible so I survived on the vegetables, the vegetarian meals need a rethink as they are not nice at all. Service in the restaurant was the same, hit and miss but on the plus side the dining room is laid out well and we didn't have to share a table.

Every time we go to a hotel we always have pre dinner drinks in the bar and sometimes struggle to get a seat - not here, we had the bar to ourselves completely, which seemed odd so no atmosphere at all. Saw entertainment on the Saturday night ( Dave Davis) who is a reasonable guitarist but preferred to tell unfunny jokes instead of playing/singing!

We would not stay here again as it is a bit out of the way and was disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JKN101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, It is disappointing to read that you were not satisfied with certain aspects of your stay with us. I will raise the issues that you have mentioned with the relevant members of staff .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the New Southlands in October 2012 and were very impressed with the hotel, it was very clean, tastefully decorated, very helpful friendly staff, the food was ok and overall we enjoyed it very much. We therefore booked again on the same self drive basis and paid a total of £468.20 for the period 02/09/13-06/09/13. The first thing we noticed when we entered our room was a background odour, a chemical type of smell, the room as the hotel was very clean and we thought at first it was just cleaning agents. However, it really affected our throats and as the hotel was full with two coach loads we couldn't change rooms. We tried to sleep with the windows open but it was very noisy so we tried to make the best of it. However after 2 sleepless nights we spoke to the receptionist who was very sympathetic and promised to get the room checked. When nothing happened we spoke to another receptionist who came up to our room, she agreed there was a background odour that affected her throat. She promised she would pass this onto the manager but nothing happened. On the final day we couldn't face another bad night, the odour was making us feel unwell and we decided to drive home that night. We contacted Shearings on our return who refunded us for the night we didn't stay and we have had to accept that the odour is deemed a complete mystery. However, we felt that no-one was really interested in the problem we experienced, the hotel was full of the coach parties and that was their priority. I raised a couple of other problems, including the shortage of staff.On a very hot day we returned hoping to sit in the garden with a drink from the bar but it coincided with the return of the coach outings, as the bar is unstaffed until 5pm the receptionist is responsible for bar duty but it was impossible to deal with the returning coach party, unlock the bar and serve drinks! Additionally the dining room staff work really hard but when the hotel is full they are running around frantically trying to serve all the tables, a few extra pairs of hands would give everyone a better experience. The food is just about ok, but you do need a magnifying glass with some of the portions served but I suspect again this is due to the hotel being full. I would not recommend this hotel on the self drive basis, I think you probably get a better deal if you travel on the coach, the hotel seems to be centred around the coach parties. If you are an independent traveller you will do much better at some of the other hotels in Scarbough. Shearings don't seem interested in any complaints you have so it's unlikely we would give them any business again.

Room Tip: we had such a poor experience with our room I couldn't recommend one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank syl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. I am concerned that you feel that the issue you raised regarding the ‘smell’ in your room was not investigated fully. I will raise the other points you make with the relevant team members.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for a three night weekend break. This is the latest of many return visits over the past five years and is easily our preferred hotel of this chain. The location just above the Italian Gardens is superb to see all the resort has to offer. The entertainment at this small hotel is also excellent, a female singer on Friday and a comedian on the Saturday were both enjoyed by all. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, we have a good variety of entertainment throughout the week and at weekends I am glad to read that you enjoyed the acts that performed. It is great to see regular guest’s returning each time we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
5,005 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
605 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,543 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#12 of 26 in Scarborough
665 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#15 of 26 in Scarborough
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay New Southlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £68 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing