We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time atShearings Bay Hotel New Southlands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

It was wonderful from start to finish. Room was warm when we arrived about teatime on a cold wet day.Food was excellent as was the entertainment. It was good clean fun and I have never laughed so much for ages. It certainly was a break to remember - we shall go there again because the staff were marvellous, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Ask to pay extra for premier room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pauline777Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you very much for your great comments. We have a great team of staff at the hotel who are always willing to go that extra mile to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. It is good to read that you enjoyed the entertainment during your stay, I will pass your comments on to all the members of staff including the entertainers who will be pleased to see that you enjoyed acts. Hope to see you again in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Bay New Southlands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

We booked this turkey and tinsel self drive weekend break as it coincided with the wife's birthday. It turned out to be a lovely weekend as the Xmas dinner was actually served on her birthday so we had a complimentary glass of wine, crackers, paper hats etc along with a lovely meal. Then of course there was the mulled wine on arrival and the afternoon tea and cake. There was no need to reserve car parking as there was ample street parking close to the hotel for only £1.60 for the whole of our stay. Although not on the sea front the hotel is only a short walk from the beautiful Italian Gardens andThe Esplanade where there is a cliff lift down to the sea front and the Spa.
Our room was clean and comfortable, the food was good and the restaurant staff friendly and efficient, as were the bar staff and receptionists.
We will certainly stay at The New Southlands Hotel again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FandMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

I am glad to see that you made the most of your Turkey & Tinsel / Birthday weekend that you enjoyed with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay and our staff, I will be sure to pass these on. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Very nice break! A delightful hotel with all the amenities necessary. Would recommend to anyone wishing to have a lovely weekend in Scarborough, staff in the dining area where very helpful and always happy to please; overall a 10 out of 10. Thank you very much for our stay , my friend, Mac and I enjoyed it very much . xxx

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for such a kind review, I am glad to read that you enjoyed your weekend away, I will be sure to pass your comments on to the Restaurant staff they all work very hard they will be pleased read such nice comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Makes up for being a bit tired in places by very helpful staff. Rooms basic but cleaned every day. Food mediocre but served with a smile. Entertainment aimed at and scored a direct hit with the coach tour clientele, but enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonNefertiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for your review. It is nice to see that the staff receive good comments as they are very helpful and work very hard. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the entertainment during your stay we try to provide varied entertainment something for every one to enjoy. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We had a few yorkshiremixed feelings about our stay at this hotel. Our first impression was that a great deal of effort had gone into refurbishing New Southlands. The reception and public rooms were tastefully decorated and the general atmosphere was welcoming. Our room, 221, though clean and comfortable was a little drab and the lighting was poor. The bathroom was ok but the loose towel rail and loo roll holder will need sorting out before both hit the deck. The breakfast was excellent but let down the following morning when I chose scrambled eggs on toast. They were tasteless . The senior waiter was lacking in finesse and at times quite rude to the diners. The other younger members of the team were polite cheerful and attentive. The dinner menu was very attractive but the food presented was meagre with regard to size of portions. Our two night stay at New Southlands was by no means disastrous and I daresay we would stay there again in the hope that management take on board the points we have raised.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 981Gildersome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at the New Southlands. I am disappointed to see that there were some aspects of your stay you were not totally satisfied with. I would have appreciated the opportunity to discuss some of these aspects at the time. I will be sure too pass on your comments to the staff in the Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

October 2013 four nights. A beautiful room, very clean and spacious, bathroom spotless and ample hot water. The menu was varied every night, the food was good and plentiful, some waiters better than others. Reception staff helpful. We had no complaints and would visit again.

Room Tip: First floor, room perfect.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your mid week break with us. I will be sure to pass your comments on to the hotel staff. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Firstly don't pay to park in the car park as there is plenty of road parking out of season and this is only £1.60 for 4 days (from hotel) or pretty much free if you are out most of the day and use the time disc (free from tourist information shop). Had to queue to check in but not too long and receptionist very nice and helpful. Room was on first floor and of a good size, a bit dusty but overall not a massive problem.

We regularly stay at Bay hotels and know what to expect with the food but a couple of my meals were inedible so I survived on the vegetables, the vegetarian meals need a rethink as they are not nice at all. Service in the restaurant was the same, hit and miss but on the plus side the dining room is laid out well and we didn't have to share a table.

Every time we go to a hotel we always have pre dinner drinks in the bar and sometimes struggle to get a seat - not here, we had the bar to ourselves completely, which seemed odd so no atmosphere at all. Saw entertainment on the Saturday night ( Dave Davis) who is a reasonable guitarist but preferred to tell unfunny jokes instead of playing/singing!

We would not stay here again as it is a bit out of the way and was disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JKN101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, It is disappointing to read that you were not satisfied with certain aspects of your stay with us. I will raise the issues that you have mentioned with the relevant members of staff .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#10 of 26 in Scarborough
389 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,260 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay New Southlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: £82 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing