We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine week end”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Valentine week end”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We got moved to this hotel, which we would, recommend, the staff are so , helpfull, and very friendly, the food was top class, rooms clean, this hotel, the staff make this hotel, Ruth, Simon, David, Veronica, even dave the entertainer, was friendly, ive booked again for next year , ive recommended, your hotel to my friends, as ive enjoyed my stay so much . thanks every one.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnM8963ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your kind comments J It was great to hear from yourselves as well as a lot of the other guests who were part of your group, that it had been a success – so much so that you are booked again for next year! It was great to meet you all – I know that I enjoyed having you stay here as well as my staff and I will be sure to pass your comments on to them. We’ll be glad to see you all back here again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    178
    64
    16
    8
See reviews for
47
268
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

we stayed at this hotel due to a change in booking by the people we went with. it all worked out for the best. the hotel was spot on in all areas and a lot better than the original hotel we had booked for and previously stayed at before.the staff of this hotel can not do enough for you. in all areas they are very friendly and committed to there work and seem to go out of their way to please people. the bedroom was clean and cared for daily. the only downside for me was there was no bath just a shower.the fact that we were only there for a weekend did not matter with this one and only down side. nothing was to much trouble and anything you need is there all you have to do is ask if . i must comment on the staff the restaurant staff especially simon is a star and david was very pleasant. the entertainment is also nice and bar staff friendly and the manager Ruth a very pleasant hard working lady well done all you do your hard work pays off. booked for next year see you all again

Room Tip: if going formore than a weekend ask for one of the bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnsoncleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
What lovely feed back you have left for us, thank you J I was so pleased to see that the weekend went well for you all and it was lovely to meet you all. You were a great crowd to have in and all my staff commented on this! I have a great team here and they will be so happy to see the lovely comments you have left for them. We are looking forward to seeing you again next year if not before, and if you would prefer a room with a bath & shower then feel free to give us a call and we should be able to arrange that for you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

If you have trouble, like me, with gluten intolerance, then this is the hotel for you!
They provided a special menu for me each day, which included lovely warm gluten free buns and bread.
The hotel itself is very nice and the entertainment they provided each night was excellent.
I would just like to say a big thank you to this hotel and all its staff for their brilliant service.
Well done !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dudberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to provide a suitable menu for you. My chef is always more than happy to accommodate a varied range of special diets and he will be chuffed to see you enjoyed your meals. I will be sure to pass on your comments and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I've been visiting Scarborough man and boy for over fifty years and this is the best hotel in the town I have stayed in! We booked a Monday to Friday break through National Holidays at an amazingly low price so our expectations weren't too great but had a delightful surprise. A spacious comfortable room with plenty of tea and coffee, flat screen TV and a convection heater as this was January. Then there was the food - fantastic. Waiter service with choices for all 3 courses which changed every night and the best hotel coffee i've tasted. Breakfast was along the same lines with even kippers on the menu! Rooms cleaned every day, friendly and informative staff and good entertainment each evening. The next trip we take has a lot to live up to!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnA56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
I am very pleased to read that your stay with us exceeded your expectations, thank you for taking the time to post such fantastic comments. I will pass your comments regarding the food on to our Head chef and his team who will be delighted to read your comments. I hope we se you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

having recentely stayed at this hotel I would like to share my findings . Excelent value for money .The food was always served with a smile ,varied menu and good ingredients.. The reception staff were always ready to give advice and assistance (I required medical treatment) especially Pam who helped a lot. Rooms are clean and well presented . The entertainment was varied and generally extremely good although monday and tuesday evenings were without doubt the best of the week. As we were there on a five day Shearings we thouroughly enjoyed the two excursions to York and Whitby which were included in the price.I really dont know how Shearings do all of this for the price. We will be there for my husbands 60th birthday celebrations in October, cant wait !!!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor these rooms I believe have been recently renovated. We had a standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank joan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
It is great to read such kind comments regarding all aspects of your stay with us. I will pass your comments on to all the staff including Pam as they all work very hard to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed both the excursions and the entertainment. We look forward to seeing you again in October to celebrate your husband's 60th Birthday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have just had a wonderful weekend break at the New Southlands Hotel. This was the best Shearings hotel we have stayed at. Our room 106 was large, well furnished and spotless and we are still wondering if we had been upgraded. The whole hotel was lovely. Staff were all very helpful. The dining room was very smart and the meals were excellent. The icing on the cake was the entertainment which was brilliant. Couldn't fault the weekend at all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments. Room 106 is a standard room the big bay window makes a wonderful feature in the room. It is great to see the nice comments you made regarding the staff we have at the hotel I will pass these comments on to all the departments. I am glad that you enjoyed the entertainment that we had on that weekend. I hope we will be seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Just returned from a 2 night dinner bed and breakfast stay at this hotel in Scarborough.
We arrived just after midday and although check in was 3 pm , we were hoping to use the car park that we had paid extra for £5.00 per day.So it was a surprise when were also able to check in early.
So here we go ;

Staff were brilliant , very efficient and friendly. Nothing was to much trouble for them.

Food ..was excellent. It was nice to have the food served at your table , rather than a buffet service. I would say that the food was the best we have had in any hotel.The restaurant was a nice place to be with really friendly staff and a great atmosphere.

Drinks.... were a bit expensive but the 2nd night ( Sat ) we had vouchers for 8 free drinks so it balanced itself out.

Entertainment....well we don't bother too much about it but we heard what was going from our seats in the lounge and the guest's appeared to be enjoying it. If you are interested there is bingo and sometimes a quiz.and also a vocalist.

Hotel...is spotless and clean and a lovely place to be.
Not far to walk into town or down onto the esplanade where you can walk all the way round from the south bay to the north bay and then back into town.Takes about 1 hour thirty minutes! But nice to do after breakfast !

Rooms...well the room we had was very comfortable, with a double bed but very small , only had shower no bath. Had we been staying longer we would have probably asked for a room with a bath as it is nice to have a soak after walking about all day.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel and you won't be disappointed. We shall return !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bonnieb197247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruth_janicki, General Manager at Bay New Southlands Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your short break with us and what lovely comments you have left for us thank you:) I will be sure to pass these onto my team. The breaks we are doing at the moment are very good value for money especially with the drinks vouchers you mentioned. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and if you are able to stay longer, please feel free to contact us so that we can arrange for you to have a bath as well as a shower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,794 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
833 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay New Southlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay New Southlands Hotel

Property: Bay New Southlands Hotel
Address: 15 West Street, Scarborough YO11 2QW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay New Southlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Southlands Hotel is a handsome, intimate property perfectly situated on Scarborough’s South Cliff. From the hotel, the Esplanade, Italian Rose Gardens and South Bay are easily accessible. Scarborough itself retains much of the character of an elegant Victorian seaside town, with handsome architecture and walkways, as well as boasting more modern entertainments and attractions. Further inland, North Yorkshire is an oft overlooked gem of a County offering beautiful scenery and countless attractions both historic and modern. The hotel possesses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bay New Southlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Southlands Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing