We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Brookside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Brookside
Spacious and comfortable lounge TV, DVD and Sky family bundle.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Front of Brookside
Spacious and comfortable lounge
TV, DVD and Sky family bundle.
Swimming pool with seating and fabulous views
Large dining room to seat 8.
Dining room with views of the pool.
Games room with pool table, table football and dart board.
Kingsize bedroom with built-in wardrobes and dressing table.
Kingsize bedroom with built-in wardrobes and dressing table.
Twin bedroom with wardrobe and dressing table.
Kingsize bedroom with wardrobe and dressing table.
Twin bedroom with wardrobe.
Children's playroom.
Children's playroom with TV, DVD, VCR, PS2 and Wii.
Children's swings.
Children's swings
Bathroom with separate shower.
Kitchen with separate utility room containing tumble dryer.
Built-in cooker and hob.
Seating area in kitchen.
View from kitchen and rear of house.
View of swimming pool room from garden
Seating area in garden
View from top of garden
Side of house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura F
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family holiday ”
Reviewed 8 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Just got back from a great stay at brookside. The bungalow was extremely clean and well presented upon arrival with a much appreciated welcome note from the owners with a little hamper. So much to do we spent many hours in the heated swimming pool and downstairs games room. Also we enjoyed sitting around the pool in the evening as it felt like being abroad with the views and the room itself was lovely and warm. The garden is also fantastic we never went into the larger garden as it wasn't 100% secure for our dog but the smaller garden was. Perfect location not too far from dog friendly restaurants and Morrison's was also a ten minute drive. The house is lovely and we would deffinatly recommend. The only suggestion would be more cooking equipment (frying pans and oven trays) as we did like to eat in on a few occasions and it was rather difficult cooking for 8. All around fantastic holiday and we had a great time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thank you for your 5 star review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will come back again. We constantly strive to maintain the highest standards possible and respond immediately to guests concerns. We have already addressed your suggestions about the kitchen items.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley G
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a family holiday”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 4th stay at Brookside and we absolutely love it. The cottage is always spotless and has everything you could possibly need and is only a short distance to the coast or up to the moors. The pool is fantastic and we spent many hours in there or playing pool in the games room which has recently undergone a total transformation, the owners have really improved the cottage since our last visit and we loved all the changes. The cottage is in a lovely setting with views across open fields and is surrounded by a lovely garden with a stream running through it. If you love wildlife as much as we do we can strongly recommend having breakfast in the pool room watching the birds, ducks and the two squirrels in the garden. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will most certainly be back again in the future, well done to Frank and Sandra for making sure there guests have a 1st class, 5 star stay and thanks for the welcome pack, we really hope to visit again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We are delighted that you are pleased with the refurbishments we have made and look forward to you visiting again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect place for a relaxing weekend in the countryside.”
Reviewed 15 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Brookside is a fabulous holiday home in a small village. The accommodation is spotless and is equipped with a swimming pool, games room and a huge, comfortable lounge. Everything is beautifully maintained and the grounds are immaculate with stunning views to the rear. The village has a pub and a fish and chip shop (we sampled both) and I just can't say enough good things about our weekend stay. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your review Paul. We are delighted you had such a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne b
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean and very well looked after with constant updates throughout the house”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This lovely holiday home, named Brookside is in the small village of Sherburn,about a 25 minute drive from Scarborough. This is the 4th holiday we have had at Brookside, and we absolutely love it.

There are 8 of us who go, ranging in age from 18 months to 70+. There is something for every one, needless to say the swimming pool is by far the biggest draw for the children, who spent hours and hours in it.

The thing i love about Brookside is that every time we go some thing else has been improved in the house, this time there were 2 new bathrooms, and a toilet in the swimming pool which is so much better especially with kids going all the time.

The house is always beautiful and clean,it always looks freshly painted and there is always new bedding and curtains to keep things fresh and updated.
Like i say we love it here, it really is like home from home. There is always a welcome basket which is great after a long drive to have a cuppa, there was even a bottle of Bubbly for our daughters 18th birthday!

Sandra & Frank are great, nothing is too much trouble, our son has Autism so it is important to keep him safe. They make sure the window in to the pool room is locked so he can't get in and the key hidden.

We have been coming here for the last few years now and we will continue to do so as it is a great way for all the family, old to young to enjoy

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for your fabulous review Joanne. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
porkpieGl...
Gloucester
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Amazing house”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We spent a week at Brookside as a group of two families. The house exceeded our expectations in every way, the swimming pool is fantastic. It is lovely and warm which meant our children could spend hours splashing around without getting cold. The house itself is spacious and well equipped, we made great use of both the upstairs play room and the games room with the pool table. The beds were lovely and comfortable and huge numbers of towels were provided which was great as we were swimming daily. The location of the house is also good, we enjoyed day trips to York, Whitby and Scarborough and closer to home we visited Malton and Eden Camp which we would highly recommend. We would love to return if we are visiting Yorkshire in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2017
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope you will visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marksymin...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Holiday”
Reviewed 5 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The location is beautiful, the indoor swimming pool stunning, and the property and grounds truly gorgeous. What a treat it was to stay in this beautiful and tranquel part of North Yorkshire. The generous hospitality and attention to detail of proprietors Frank and Sandra is an example of first class customer service.
We would certainly recommend Brookside to anyone seeking a relaxing holiday in a beautiful location. We had a wonderful holiday and will certainly be back.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Feb 2017
Thank you for the fabulous review. It was wonderful to see you both again and look forward to you visiting again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
itsnotabo...
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Second stay and just as good as the first!”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Brookside is huge. There are 7 of us, aged between 5 and 50 something and we were all well catered for. There really is something and space for everyone. A massive lounge - now with Sky TV, WiFi (essential for pre teens/teens to update their friends on their whereabouts at any given time), large dining room, 2 bathrooms, enormous garden divided into 2 parts with swing and toys. 4 good size bedrooms, a big kitchen diner with utility room, An updated games room with a proper pool table, football table and darts, a younger children's games room with loads of DVDs, toys, colouring, lego etc. There is also a Wii and a playstation but we didn't use them as there was so much else to do (and we didn't know how to!!) However, the best bit is the completely private, heated indoor pool. It is a fantastic facility. One of our children has sensory issues and finds the noise in swimming pools difficult to cope with and to be able to help her overcome her fears of the water without others around is brilliant. It is also very clean!
The actual bungalow is also spotless and very well equipped. We could not think of anything that the property needed. Even down to bowls and blanket being supplied for our dog.
There are plenty of places to visit for all the family - Flamingo Land, York, Scarborough and many more. As this was our second visit and we did all the main touristy bits last time we had planned a relaxing break. We visited Sewerby Hall and Gardens. Absolutely fantastic find. Small little zoo (visit at 3pm to see the penguins being fed). It's just big enough to spend an hour in the zoo, move on to the adventure playground and then explore the grounds and house if you wish. We all really enjoyed the day and it did not cost much at all. Morrison's is a 10 minute drive away, as is McDonalds and the Hungry Horse pub - extremely cheap and cheerful!! We all enjoyed some family time around the huge dining room table and I would love to spend Christmas there - I bet it's lovely!!
Anyway, as I said, we have been before, we didn't want to leave and we have started saving up for our 3rd visit next year. It is still the best holiday bungalow we have stayed in as a large family and we highly recommend it - our only complaint is that it takes us around 6-7 hours to drive there, so if the owner's could move it closer to the south coast, that would be much appreciated. Incidentally, the owners are also very approachable and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Swimming Pool
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2015
Hi Julie,

Thanks so much for your wonderful comments. We very much look forward to you visiting again next year.

Frank and Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing