We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A kaleidoscope of taste and colour”
Review of Thai Manor Restaurant - CLOSED

Thai Manor Restaurant
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A kaleidoscope of taste and colour”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is a hidden gem. Such good value and delicious authentic food served with polite hospitality. The menu is extensive so allow time to read. One recommendation - the coconut rice, amazing!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    36
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely evening - would recommend”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Ate here whilst in a family weekend to Scarborough. Knowing from experience that good restaurants are hard to come by in the town for evening dining when we saw the reviews on facebook for Manor Thai we decided to give it a go.
As the reviews say, the restaurant is not much to look at from the outside but don't let that put you off. The food was excellent - we had two diners in our party who were not familiar with Thai food - both had the duck and ate every bit and said it was delicious.
Service was friendly and efficient. Would recommend if you are in the town

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Unassuming with genuinity,yet not quite notable”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We went to this restaurant as it was close to where we were staying and had good reviews. Quite small inside, and nothing to look at from the street, it looks a bit like a takeaway restaurant. It was very quiet during the time we were there, however, this was more than made up for by the quality of the food, the friendly staff and quick service. Massaman curry was tasty, not too spicy and a good sized portion, which was accompanied by steamed rice, the chicken satay for a starter was just as you'd expect, peanut sauce was sufficient and the chicken well cooked and tasty.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isleworth, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tiny Thai, Big Menu”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This Thai restaurant was recommended by our coach driver (local guy) as being one of the best in his travels. He had it spot on, the range of dishes & the service were excellent ( i worked in Thailand in my youth so I know my home cooked favourite dishes :-.)

As another customer said do not be put off by the location or the outside appearance of the building (very quiet, tired looking part of Scarborough ) the inside is thoughtfully decorated and and has a quiet understated atmosphere with the spic & span neat cleanliness that Thai people do so well.

My only regret is that it is so far from home or I would be amore regular customer

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yamaha-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food & presentation - ace!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We called in on spec after glancing at the Trip Advisor entries and were equally impressed as previous visitors with the quality of the food and it's presentation. The modest exterior belies the friendly welcome (even though it was quite close to closing time), and we thoroughly enjoyed our starters and main courses - all vegetarian - accompanied by lovely noodles and superbly subtle rice. Although quite late so no special offers it was still good value and we never felt rushed by the staff. A really good dining experience. One downside, it was a very warm evening and the air was a little sticky, a couple of ceiling fans could have made a significant improvement!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Manor Restaurant also viewed

 
Potter Brompton, Scarborough
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing